We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious wine, average tour”
Review of Lyrarakis Winery

Lyrarakis Winery
Ranked #3 of 91 things to do in Heraklion
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Lyrarakis Estate is a family winery which has been producing high quality wines since 1966 with a strong focus on rare local varieties and producing single variety wines. Surrounded by the idyllic setting of the vineyards and the Lassithi mountains we offer you the opportunity to enjoy nature and discover local varieties abd wines distinguished by the uniqueness of their origin and heritage.
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We made a spontaneous decision to visit Lyrarakis Winery for a tour and tasting during our recent holiday on Crete. We did not book ahead; since the website advertises tours throughout the day, it did not seem compulsory. We arrived about 45 minutes before the next scheduled tour (and were prepared to wait). It was a bit unclear where reception was and a tour was underway. The winery is very lightly staffed, but during a break in the tour, the guide greeted us and offered a glass of wine while we waited, which was much appreciated!

We have been on many winery tours and wine tastings and found this one to be sadly basic. It is super impersonal and not very engaging for those already knowledgable about wine. The tour was short and included only nearby grounds and a show room of wine barrels. The highlight was tasting several grape varieties directly from the vine while we were in the fields.

The wine tasting included generous pours of a number of wines (7 or so). However, we were incredibly frustrated by the experience. We chose not to have food with our wine tasting (food tastings required booking ahead, which is not clear on the website), but four others on our tour did. This made our shared tasting (we were all six at the same table) incredibly awkward. Staff timed wine delivery for all of us with their food, leaving large gaps between glasses with nothing to do but sit and watch them eat. When wine arrived, very little information was given (the guide poured, reminded us of the grape varietals and then left). The overpowering smell of their food made it difficult for us truly experience the smell and taste of the wine. The entire thing dragged on and was terribly annoying. Additionally, the tasting was conducted in a dark and dreary room. I would have much preferred enjoying the gorgeous views outside.

Public transportation from Heraklion was easy to take. There's a bus stop about a 10 minute walk from the winery and roads are well marked. We planned to return by bus, but the timing was difficult (the tour was longer than anticipated) so we took a 25 euro taxi back (to Knosso, our next stop for the day).

Overall, it was a nice afternoon of wine drinking, but a mediocre tour/tasting experience.

Thank rrseymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva_gvnk, Public Relations Manager at Lyrarakis Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Rrseymour,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your comments are really important to us and much appreciated since you help us improve and become better.

We are really sorry to see that your wine experience in our winery did not meet your expectations. We are really passionate about sharing our love for Cretan wine with our guests and we hope to see you again if you are back in Heraklion.

Best wishes from Lyrarakis team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine tasting"
in 35 reviews
"different wines"
in 12 reviews
"grape varieties"
in 8 reviews
"cellar experience"
in 3 reviews
"food pairings"
in 3 reviews
"tasted wines"
in 3 reviews
"wine press"
in 3 reviews
"gravel road"
in 2 reviews
"purchased several"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"the vine"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 3 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 2 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 4 reviews
"olive trees"
in 2 reviews
"juice"
in 3 reviews
"diani"
in 11 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2017

Tour consists of a walk through the vineyards, a talk of the cellar then a sit down tasting experience.

We went for the €16 experience and we tried approximately 7/8 wines and four great tasters of local cuisine. There was certainly enough food for the experience and could not fault the hosts.

Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva_gvnk, Public Relations Manager at Lyrarakis Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Hamilton thank you for reviewing us.

Best regards from Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

We had previously visited this winery for their standard tasting and were so impressed we decided to return and splash out on their Premium Cellar Experience.

Whilst 60EUR per person may sound expensive we can promise you it was worth every cent and more.

You have your own personal wine tasting in the barrel cellar of the winery with a dedicated member of staff. It lasts for basically as long as you want it too and you get to taste a dozen bottles of the very best that Lyrarakis has to offer, accompanied by plates and plates of meze dishes. A highlight of this unbelievable experience was getting to sample wines taken directly for the barrels that surround you, learning and tasting the differences that different woods and ages of barrels make to the same wines. Oh and you get to visit a 14th Century wine press and have a full tour of the vineyard as well.

The wines are truly exceptional - the Symbolo would not feel out of place in a grand London hotel.

Worth the money for such a wonderful day.

Thank Alfa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva_gvnk, Public Relations Manager at Lyrarakis Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you very much for your really kind review.
We are more than happy to see that you enjoyed your time in the winery and it was a pleasure meeting you both.

Hope to see you again in the future! Best wishes from Lyrarakis team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Such a great experience with the best host ever. Excellent wines in a stunning and peaceful area.
Without any doubt I would highly recommend the place. We went there with 10 friends and had a wonderful time there. The kindness of the team is exceptional.

Superbe expérience dans ce domaine. Une visite qui mêle histoire et bon vins. La dégustation s accompagne d amuse bouches. Je laisse chacun se faire son avis sur le vins mais dans la globalité ils sont très interessant et change des vins que l’on connais en France.

Thank Flow M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva_gvnk, Public Relations Manager at Lyrarakis Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you very much for your really kind review. We appreciate your words!

Best wishes from Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

What an experience! My partner and I booked the private wine tasting tour. The website was upto date and easy to you for making our reservation, no up front payment required. The actual wine tour itself was relaxed and informative. A beautiful selection of wines tasted, two directly from the barrel. The different wines were paired with local Greek dishes, all which were well presented and full of flavour. A must, good value for money, passionate staff and of course fantastic Crete wines and food!

Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva_gvnk, Public Relations Manager at Lyrarakis Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you Emily for reviewing us!
We are really glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes from Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lyrarakis Winery also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Vatolakkos, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Lyrarakis Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing