We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at the Winery”
Review of Lyrarakis Winery

Lyrarakis Winery
Ranked #2 of 105 things to do in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Lyrarakis Estate is a family winery which has been producing high quality wines since 1966 with a strong focus on rare local varieties and producing single variety wines. Surrounded by the idyllic setting of the vineyards and the Lassithi mountains we offer you the opportunity to enjoy nature and discover local varieties abd wines distinguished by the uniqueness of their origin and heritage.
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Tour consists of a walk through the vineyards, a talk of the cellar then a sit down tasting experience.

We went for the €16 experience and we tried approximately 7/8 wines and four great tasters of local cuisine. There was certainly enough food for the experience and could not fault the hosts.

Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva_gvnk, Public Relations Manager at Lyrarakis Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Hamilton thank you for reviewing us.

Best regards from Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine tasting"
in 40 reviews
"different wines"
in 13 reviews
"grape varieties"
in 8 reviews
"cheese plate"
in 4 reviews
"cellar experience"
in 3 reviews
"gravel road"
in 3 reviews
"excellent wine"
in 4 reviews
"calling ahead"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful tasting"
in 2 reviews
"the vine"
in 2 reviews
"purchased several"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"wine press"
in 3 reviews
"informative tour"
in 4 reviews
"tasted wines"
in 3 reviews
"food pairings"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 3 reviews
Filter

37 - 41 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017

We had previously visited this winery for their standard tasting and were so impressed we decided to return and splash out on their Premium Cellar Experience.

Whilst 60EUR per person may sound expensive we can promise you it was worth every cent and more.

You have your own personal wine tasting in the barrel cellar of the winery with a dedicated member of staff. It lasts for basically as long as you want it too and you get to taste a dozen bottles of the very best that Lyrarakis has to offer, accompanied by plates and plates of meze dishes. A highlight of this unbelievable experience was getting to sample wines taken directly for the barrels that surround you, learning and tasting the differences that different woods and ages of barrels make to the same wines. Oh and you get to visit a 14th Century wine press and have a full tour of the vineyard as well.

The wines are truly exceptional - the Symbolo would not feel out of place in a grand London hotel.

Worth the money for such a wonderful day.

Thank Alfa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva_gvnk, Public Relations Manager at Lyrarakis Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you very much for your really kind review.
We are more than happy to see that you enjoyed your time in the winery and it was a pleasure meeting you both.

Hope to see you again in the future! Best wishes from Lyrarakis team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Such a great experience with the best host ever. Excellent wines in a stunning and peaceful area.
Without any doubt I would highly recommend the place. We went there with 10 friends and had a wonderful time there. The kindness of the team is exceptional.

Superbe expérience dans ce domaine. Une visite qui mêle histoire et bon vins. La dégustation s accompagne d amuse bouches. Je laisse chacun se faire son avis sur le vins mais dans la globalité ils sont très interessant et change des vins que l’on connais en France.

Thank Flow M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva_gvnk, Public Relations Manager at Lyrarakis Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you very much for your really kind review. We appreciate your words!

Best wishes from Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

What an experience! My partner and I booked the private wine tasting tour. The website was upto date and easy to you for making our reservation, no up front payment required. The actual wine tour itself was relaxed and informative. A beautiful selection of wines tasted, two directly from the barrel. The different wines were paired with local Greek dishes, all which were well presented and full of flavour. A must, good value for money, passionate staff and of course fantastic Crete wines and food!

Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva_gvnk, Public Relations Manager at Lyrarakis Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you Emily for reviewing us!
We are really glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes from Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Visited the winery with Dutch friends, on a day trip out from Mirtos. We were well looked after on a tour of the vineyards, and were able to pick grapes to taste on the way around, as the harvest had been completed. We the. moved onto the wine tasting, which consisted of three whites, four red wines, a rose, a sparkling wine, and a dessert wine. The wine quality was fantastic, and I particularly liked the red wines, and one in particular which was priced at 35 €, but was awesome.The lady who provided the tasting and all the staff were very friendly and knowledgable. Bought two bottles of the red wine and looking forward to drinking them, and finding these wines in the UK. We did purchase the Dafni white wine in M & S in the UK a few weeks ago which caused me to research the winery. A must to visit when in this area, 10 out of 10.

1  Thank 168terry10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva_gvnk, Public Relations Manager at Lyrarakis Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you Terry. We really appreciate your comments.

May the wines be a nice companion in beautiful moments! Best form the winery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lyrarakis Winery also viewed

Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Kounavi, Heraklion Prefecture
Knosos, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Lyrarakis Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing