We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 260)
Filter reviews
2 260 results
Traveller rating
1 380
627
191
34
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 380
627
191
34
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mirabello restaurant lobby bar a la carte restaurants elounda village main restaurant greek night mythica package half board sea view all inclusive package buffet restaurant beach area bungalow room gala dinner beach bag infinity pool glass of champagne
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 2 260 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2017

A good destination for those who are after a quiet and relaxed getaway. We stayed on 2xx floor and the rooms are decent size with a good view, although we were disappointed that we got two single beds pushed together instead of the requested king. The shared balcony was also not advertised very well.

If you're expecting good WiFi - you get 1mb, a struggle most of the time
The morning buffet breakfast can get very repetitve with very little change
Lack of sunbeds and the 1 hour policies where towels would be removed were not taken into effect.

The biggest annoyance for us was the lack of designated smoking areas when seated outside for our meals. On many occasions we were seated next to heavy smokers. The hotel should really take this into consideration for non-smokers.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila for your holiday and for taking the time to provide us with such a positive review.

I am pleased to hear that there were clearly so many aspects of our hotel which you enjoyed and that overall you had a pleasant stay. Your comments regarding the lack of designated smoking areas and also the sunbed reservation policy not being enforced have been noted. I certainly appreciated your feedback in this respect and please be assured that these are areas which I will look into further with my management team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kindest regards
Michalis Volyrakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

We had a great trip. We managed to find a voucher for an upgrade at the time we booked so had a great room at the top of the resort looking over the bay. The bed was huge, great shower and lovely balcony.

The facilities on sight were clean and staff were attentive but not intrusive.

We were half board and often swapped dinner for lunch at the one of the a la carter restaurants so we could walk or get a taxi in to the village for Dinner. Would certainly recommend lunch in the Mirabello restaurant and the Greek Night.

One slight negative is the strange dress code which means women can wear shorts at dinner but not men.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank O6315PAjohnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila and for providing us with your excellent feedback.

I am delighted to know that our hotel exceeded your expectations and my team are extremely proud, as am I; that you enjoyed your time with us so much. Our aim at the Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila is to ensure that you experience a wonderful stay and so it is a great pleasure to be provided with such positive comments in respect to our facilities and the service we provide.

Your comments regarding long trousers being required in the restaurant have been noted. This is quite commonplace in many hotels, however I am sorry if you were unaware of this, I do hope it did not cause you too much inconvenience.

It was our great pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you again, which we hope is very soon.

Kindest regards
Michalis Volyrakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We arrived at 11pm at night hungry and tired and enquired about food and were told to order room service.Once in our rooms we did order only to be told they stop serving at 11pm!!! They offered us greek salad or a sandwich,not a good start for a five star hotel !!!
However the next day we were told we could have a lunch voucher for the meal we had lost.
Good range of rooms ,some with fab sea views.Food was buffet style in the main restaurant which was excellent with plenty of choice.There were two other restaurants The Mirabello ( we did not try)and Culinarium which offered greek night ,sunset evening,and we did a non themed night which was beautiful food in a lovely setting.
The beach is small but has a lovely safe swimming cove,if you have a snorkel I would recommend taking as the water is clear .Also two other pools one very small the other average size with fab views over the sea.HOWEVER do be aware it is very steep down to the beach so if you have any sort of walking problems this hotel is not for you.
We hired a car for 5 days and explored plenty to see and do.If going to Spinalonga best to get the ferry from Plaka its cheaper and easy.The Happy train up the mountains is a must from Elounda. We also went to Knossos get there early or later afternoon as its busy to get in around lunch .Crete has much to offer from the lassithi plateau ( do stop at the monasteries they sell honey ,olive oil etc all produced by themselves) to the friendly local people ,lovely villages and scenery.
We would love to go back and explore more.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank edanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review following your stay at the Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila.

I am so pleased to know that there were clearly so many aspects of our hotel which you enjoyed and that overall you had a pleasant stay.

I was also pleased to learn that you were impressed with the location of our hotel. Our position does mean we offer guests an idyllic setting and relaxed atmosphere, which we feel are some of our key selling points, and as you will see from other reviews, most guests are very impressed with this.

It was our great pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Kindest regards
Michalis Volyrakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Lovely hotel, well maintained with good facilities. This is an ideal place for a relaxing break with low key entertainment. Would recommend the all inclusive option, easy to identify on menu what's included and the range of drinks and food is excellent. Greek night was fun, Firepit restaurant was beautiful and the Timeless Dinner is worth going to as the food was amazing. What really makes this place is the staff, they are friendly attentive and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The buffet food was some of the best I have seen, good variety and presentation.
We visited the spa, which was lovely and easy to book treatments.
It is around 8 euros for a short taxi ride to Elounda and £14.00 to Plaka. You can catch the boat to Spinalonga from both of these places - no need to go on an organised tour.
I would recommend a taxi ride from the airport - around 75.00 euros as a good way to start your holiday off in style.

Room Tip: Sea view room, near the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila for your holiday to Crete and for taking the time to provide us with such an excellent review.

I am pleased to hear that there were clearly so many aspects of our hotel which you enjoyed and that overall you had a pleasant stay.

Thank you also for your kind words in relation to the standard of service provided by our staff. My team work extremely hard to ensure they provide a high level of service to all our guests and the fact that their efforts have been appreciated is rewarding. Please be assured that I will make them aware of your complimentary comments and I am sure they would want me to pass on their thanks to you.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kindest regards
Michalis Volyrakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Arriving at Elounda Village early morning we were greeted by a very welcoming elegant hotel manager. He proposed that as our room was not yet available whilst waiting we have a buffet breakfast.
Stepping into the reception area we immediately knew we were in for a treat! The design was splendid. The hotel complex is built on a hillside overlooking Mirabello bay. Nice lines, furnishings, choice of colours and materials, open views towards the sea through many windows, the list is long! Above all though the impeccable quality of service. Staff were very professional, spontaneously kind and smiling, ready to oblige, elegantly dressed and gracefully mannered. There were 270 staff for 480 guests!
We admired the breakfast buffet presentation. The choice was very large, beautifully presented, very fresh, unfortunately too tempting to resist …
After our very enjoyable degustation we were shown to our infinity bedroom suite by the manager. The feeling of tranquillity and quality was immediately felt as we stepped in. Room number 013! Comfort was assured by the good design and amenities.
The hotel offered various restaurants and bars, all very well run. The grounds were very well looked after.
Valet parking was offered. Small electric buggies assisted movement of guests and luggage.
The small sandy well organised beach was well protected. For more adventurous swimming the diving platform was convenient. We enjoyed some great swims as the water there is very clear and an intense blue.
Our stay was memorable and our impressions of this hotel very high.

Some things for improvement:
Easier access to the beach. For elderly and handicapped it is not recommended. Steep uphill climb after a swim.
Despite the no placing towels on sunbeds rule, it was common practise, which quite frankly we felt was poorly managed than anything else. We didn't like that the best sunbeds could be reserved for a fee.
Room needs a magnifying mirror in the bathroom area and a convenient plug to be able to use a hairdryer. A large mirror is needed in the bedroom area close to the desk. Lighting is a bit poor.
With the winds we experienced, clothes pegs would be useful to avoid swim suits flying away.
Not enough hooks to hang towels.
Access to the hotel by the only road parallel to the coast which serves several 4 and 5-star hotels is disgraceful. The road is too narrow for the constant traffic and not in good condition. It is extraordinary that planning permission was granted which didn’t take into account the access.
The empty hulk of an enormous unfinished hotel next door is a big blot on the landscape.

Room Tip: Room 013 or rooms with private pool overlooking the sea. Kids not accepted.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila and for taking the time to provide us with your excellent review.

I was delighted to learn that you loved our hotel so much and that we exceeded your expectations. Our aim at the Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila is to ensure that our guests receive a first class service and it is wonderful to receive such a positive, personal recommendation, one which we highly value and appreciate.

Please be assured that your praise has been shared with the whole of my team and I am sure they would ask me to pass on their thanks to you. It means a great deal to my team and I to know that our efforts have been appreciated.

It was a great pleasure to host you and thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kindest regards
Michalis Volyrakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews