We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Filoxenia - It's Exclusively Cretan”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa “Laina” Pool View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa “Laina” Pool View
Villa “Laina” Pool View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Villa “Laina” Pool View
Villa “Laina” Pool View
Villa “Laina” Pool View
Villa “Laina” Roof Terrace
Villa “Laina” Roof Terrace
Villa “Laina” North court yard with dinning table
Villa “Laina” North court yard with dinning table
Villa “Laina” night Pool View
Villa “Laina” night Pool View
Villa “Laina” North court yard with dinning table at night
Villa “Laina” night Pool View
Villa “Laina” Kitchen & Dining Room
Villa “Laina” Living Room
Villa “Laina” Ground 'Pool' Bedroom with king size double bed
Villa “Laina” Ground 'Winter' Bedroom with twin single beds and fireplace
Villa “Laina” Mezzanine Bedroom, extra wide single beds with sea view
Villa “Laina” Romantic Mezzanine Bedroom, king size double bed with sea view
On your way from Chania to Kisamos turn right for Platanias
Turn left towards Maleme
Turn left for Kontomari
Turn left for Metochi. At 50m you found Metochi Villas
Crete
Crete
Elafonisi Seaside
Elafonisi Seaside
Elafonisi Seaside
Elafonisi Seaside
Elafonisi Seaside
Maleme Seaside
Maleme Seaside
Balos Seaside
Chania Old Harbour
Falaserna Seaside
Falaserna Seaside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
philbo45
Heraklion, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Filoxenia - It's Exclusively Cretan”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My family and I, and old friends from several countries recently had the pleasure of staying at Metochi Villas. We decided to visit Crete a bit out of season so as to experience all there is to see and feel without the added pressures of a million tourists. Boy were we right in selecting this village villa treat.

The villas, four bedroom and a one bedroom rustic stone houses, they were a perfect mix of traditional Crete architecture and pure hospitality. Owners Dionysis and Georgia Karalaki exemplified the term "Filoxenia" which means "loves visitors" - the term being exclusive to the Island now makes sense. From a gift of fresh eggs each morning from the neighbors, to continual smiles from everyone we met on the island, this trip was a definite winner over all others. The entire group agreed.

If a perfect recluse within a stone's throw of everything in the Chania district sounds great, these villas cannot be beat. As a travel expert and editor, I cannot recommend these people and their accommodations any more highly. Expect to be so,so pleasantly surprised, even by the village Corgi. :)

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No place any better!!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Wow, what an amazing villa and perfect experience!! The owners, Giorgia and Dionysis, met us at the villa and gave us an awesome tour of the home, in addition to informing us of the past history of the home and the town. They were both so gracious and helpful. The 300 year old villa was immaculate and I immediately felt at ease. Everything we needed was provided and the location was excellent....close proximity to everything, yet a secluded feeling prevailed! Loved the area and everyone we met in the village was so helpful! We were close to some of the world's best beaches, as well as awesome mountains and gorges! My future vacations will be spent exploring Crete from this home base!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was superb, as was the villa itself! So many
Liked least: There was nothing that I did not like!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamilvisi...
Heraklion, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Three weeks in paradise”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5
people found this review helpful

As I type this, on March 29, 2014, I am sitting by the pool, right in front of this superb historic villa, and I feel that I belong here, that this could easily become my home away from home. Everything around is peaceful, serene, and pristine. It may be unusual for tourists to want to visit this part of the island off season, but this is exactly what we hoped to see: to find the locals when they are busy with their normal routine, without being worried about the tourist rush. Laina was the perfect choice to accommodate 9 people (two young children, and 7 adults). It has excellent conditions to be a year-round retreat. During the day, we spend time discovering the area, with a few knowledgeable tips from our hosts, and in the evening we gather all inside, by the cracking fire, and share what we discovered. Laina is the perfect starting point for every major attraction around. Highly recommended as a family destination, and particularly to rekindle romance. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, of course, and our wonderful hosts, who shared so much about the area with us.
Liked least: Nothing I can think of.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joannekev...
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa, well kept, idyllic garden and pool and lovely host”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Villa Laina at the end of April/beginning of May with my parents, siblings and all our partners. We were with a group of 8 in total. There was definitely more than enough space for everyone! We had such an amazing time: the villa was idyllic with its garden full of flowers, stone barbeque, massive balcony, two different corners with seats in the garden downstairs, the pool. The bedrooms were all beautiful and comfortable. The house is full of character and feels very authentic. Georgia, the host, was very helpful and friendly. Noting bad to be said about this - my whole family fully recommends this to everyone who is thinking of visiting Crete!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful garden
Liked least: Pool water was cold - understandable because it was beginning of May
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F
Rouillac, Poitou-Charentes, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing