We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
395
186
31
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
186
31
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews agia marina pool area beach loungers per day garden view road train private beach the maintenance man other resorts excellent beach lovely hotel hand held shower free sun beds food for breakfast half board good points nice holiday
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 629 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

We loved this place from the moment we arrived. All the facilities are really good, nice room with a big balcony, pool was great, food was great, and they have the best location on the Agia Marina beach.
But best of all was the staff, we really enjoyed our time with them with many laughs! The bar manager and his staff at the bar and restaurant are amazing and funny people, and the staff at the reception was wonderful and everyone took so good care of us. It all ended up with many hugs when we had to leave for the airport.
Thank you very much for the stay!
I hope to see you soon!
//Linda & Kristofer from Sweden

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LindaKristofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalthia B, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amalthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Linda & Kristofer thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 days. Very nice ‘garden view’ room, although our view was of the wall of the opposite apartments, comfy beds nice bathroom. Air con was great and quiet. Can’t comment on breakfast as it finishes at 10am a tad early for us on holiday however there’s a great little place R&D where you get a ‘Full Royal English’ for 5.50 Euro includes orange juice and tea/coffee so great value!
The poolside bar and restaurant is nice, good food and very nice staff. The pool is fab wooden Sun beds are extremely uncomfortable which doesn’t make you want to stay for too long. Only moan is the charging for their own Sunbeds on the hotels bit of beach which you wouldn’t expect from a hotel of this Calibre - sitting on their bit of beach would have added a further 100 Euro to our hotel bill. But there are nearby beach bars where the comfy sunbeds are included if you eat/drink. We ate often at Minerva down the road, good food and very reasonable prices and the sunset is free! We visited Elafonisi beach which was very nice although it was Sunday so it was extremely crowded and noisy. If you intend to hire a car beware of rent a car people who tell you the daily price is inclusive of insurance but actually rip you off for stone chips to the paintwork - unavoidable on the crumbling interior roads of Crete. We hired a newish VW Up for 3 days at a cost of 37e per day, the car was returned in immaculate condition but for a stone chip on the front bumper. The business owner ripped us off for a further 20e and told us he was doing us a favour!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalthia B, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amalthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you did enjoyed your stay with us. Concerning the cost of the sunbeds please refer to my previous replies concerning the services which we provide for the fee we charge. Concerning the car rental companies it is common practice for some of them to offer very cheap rates and then they charge you for nothing with huge amounts. This is the reason we, as hotel, co-operate with cirtain company. Not the cheapest but reliable. In any case hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Lovely hotel, rooms very comfortable and staff really friendly. The breakfast choice is very good with plenty of choice. Yes you do have to pay for sun beds on the beach, however there were 6 of us and we managed to get sun beds by the pool every day without a problem and the pool area is literally next to the beach! We had a great holiday and would definitely return.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank DeeH0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalthia B, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amalthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

We reached @ 5pm after changing three flights, upon reaching the hotel , Elena chk us in and explained all the amenities in detail, she was super friendly and she assisted us with all our queries with a smile, was a great pleasure.

Since, we were tired, we decided to eat at the Wave restaurant, normally we do not eat at the restaurants of the hotels as the food in my experience turns to be average, we were pleasantly surprised not only was the food amazing a mix of moussaka, pasta and pizza, the desserts were superb as well. Yanni the F&B manager really took good care for us.

Breakfast was a decent spread Dimitri and his assistant made sure we were well taken care of.

However, this was the only hotel that charged us for the safe (6 Euros per day) on our entire trip of Greece. The hotel also charged for the deck chairs ( 10 Euros a pair) and also for the pool there was a charge of 1 euro. Personally I have not experienced these charges anywhere in the world @ beach resorts if you stay in the hotel - the deck chairs and the towels are always complimentary. These are few minor points to take note, not taking anyway the hotel, its staff and the location

Mukarram

Room Tip: Try and get the sea facing room
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MUKTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalthia B, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amalthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. Small corrections I have to notice: charge for the safe is 2.00 euro per day and not 6.00, sunbeds are charged 10.00 euro per set on the beach which includes a bucket of ice with a bottle of miner water fo each guests, towels, refreshing perfumed napkins once a day, face hydration once a day, sun tan care once a day and fruit skewed three times a week. The charge of 1.00 euro is not for the sunbeds of the pool but for the towel, if someone wishes to rent. Thank you once more for your choosing Amalthia Beach Resort for your stay and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

Design hotel makes it warm and cosy
Rooms are clean, complete, good and provides, no defects
You feel at home, so relaxed
Delicious cuisine at the pool/beach
Location is directly on the beach, super
Half an hour by bus to Ghania, bus is 5 minutes of the hotel
But what we like the best is the super friendly and helpful staff

Room Tip: all rooms are good
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rsterzenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amalthia B, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amalthia Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here. Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews