We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palazzo di Pietro
Nearby Hotels
Kriti Hotel(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$113
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amalthia Beach Resort(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Splanzia(Chania Town)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ionas Boutique Hotel(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Samaria Hotel(Chania Town)
US$185
US$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arkadi Hotel(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belmondo(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Corinna Mare Suites & Studios(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yakinthos Hotel(Agii Apostoli)
US$234
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monte Vardia(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
157
14
3
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
14
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop gardenhuge bowlher momfresh fruitour honeymoonweek visit to greecethe ownerold townroom suitevenetian homebeach towelscretan hospitalityhelpful in every wayten minute walkcomplimentary bottle of winethree nightsyour doorstep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

This is a very special place. Eleutheria and her family have renovated their beautiful ancient Venetian home with elegance and artistic taste. The room we had was delightful and comfortable with a welcome of wine from the family vineyard, raki and a basket of fresh fruit. When we return to Xania we will stay again and again. Wonderful!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Ivan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

My wife and I spent three nights at the Palazzo di Pietro in September 2016. Absolutely, without a doubt, the most enjoyable three nights we experienced during our month in Greece. The location was perfect. Loved the Chania's old town. The history of the building in interesting (800 years old). The owners are very hospitable, friendly, and ready to talk about the history of the city, the best restaurants, and what to see during your visit. If the world was not so big, with so much to see, we would love to go back to Chania for a stay at this hotel every year. If you are searching for a hotel in Chania, quit, and book a room at the Palazzo di Pietro.

One note, you will not be able to park a car closer than maybe 6 or 7 blocks from this hotel. Pack an easy to carry bag with what you need for your stay. Leave the rest of your luggage in your car (if you have one). We parked on along the road near the water and had no trouble with leaving the car in the same spot for three days.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor overlooking the street. We sat on the balcony and watched the people walk by. Perfect.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed three nights and had a wonderful time. They have thought of everything that you may need to make your stay enjoyable. Very helpful in planning where to go and what to do. Very good info about the history of the city.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Eleutheria and her family are wonderful hosts! We were greeted with a thorough explanation of Chania, what to do, where to go, places to eat, etc. Then we were taken to our room which the pictures don't do justice. It's was so adorable! Eleutheria goes way out of her way to make you feel comfortable. There is water and a huge bowl of fresh fruit in the fridge that's all included. She left us little goodies on the bed every night, a bottle of wine, animal towels, and flower petals on the bed.
She also had beach towels, sunscreen, umbrellas, phone chargers, and pretty much anything you may have forgotten or would've had to run out and buy. There's also a little cute rooftop garden for all guests. The next best thing is you are in a prime location in Old Chania. Note that cars aren't allowed in Old Chania so if you rent a car you'll have to park outside the area and walk to the hotel itself. There is free parking west of Old Chania down along the water. We rented a car to go explore the many beaches of Crete and Palazzo di Pietro was our home point. It is a bit of a trip from the airport to Old Chania and there isn't great signage, definitely recommend GPS and prepare your trip ahead of time.
We couldn't have asked for a better host and stay. We will definitely return to this hotel if we get a chance to come back to Crete! Thanks Eleutheria!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank chrispyhug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Full Disclosure: We did not stay here, though my husband and I very much wanted to – the pictures look amazing! We prepaid for our room through booking.com as directed to on Palazzo di Pietro’s website with the understanding that no refunds would be granted. This is a review of Palazzo di Pietro’s customer service and a caveat emptor warning.

My husband and I were planning on traveling from the U.S. to the Greek Islands for our honeymoon from 10/8 – 10/19. However, we woke to devastating news on the morning of the 8th that our international flight, as well as all domestic flights once we arrived to Athens, were canceled due to an impending air traffic controller strike. After a few hours of frantic--and ultimately disappointing--phone calls, we learned there was no indication of how long the strike would last. Therefore, we were forced to cancel our trip. Furthermore, we found out later that day that the strike was averted at the 11th hour, only adding to our anguish.

We e-mailed Palazzo di Pietro and explained our situation to see if we had any recourse. We were not not expecting to get a refund, but perhaps a credit towards a future stay as we explained we plan to reschedule our trip spring 2017. We received a curt reply from Palazzo di Pietro noting that the strike had been called off and that the no refund clause would stand. After a brief e-mail exchange, she made it clear that there was nothing she could do to offer any assistance.

While everything they stated about the strike and contract was true, we were disappointed by her inflexibility and refusal to entertain any alternative solutions. We do understand that there is risk in non-refundable bookings and we rarely leave negative reviews. However, travelers coming from afar should be overly certain in the reliability of their transportation to Crete and Palazzo di Pietro before booking their stay.

Lastly, the two other small business hotels that we had booked also had no refund policies. Both were highly professional, listened and understood that the situation was out of our control and ultimately gave us a full and 75 percent refund, respectively. We will be re-booking with both of them in Spring 2017.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank leahmkaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews