We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful character apartment in excellent...”
other travellers have booked this property
Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Balcony
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Balcony
Balcony
Balcony
Balcony
Balcony
Balcony
Balcony
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Hallways
View of the Acropolis from the western veranda
The western veranda
The kitchen/dining room is located next to the western veranda. Enjoy breakfast and dinner outside!
Bird's eye view of the kitchen/dining room, which leads onto the western veranda.
Another view of the kitchen/dining room
Kitchen/dining room.
The wide and bright corridor that links the living room with the kitchen/dining room
The living room with a special wooden ceiling
Another corner of the living room
Looking through the living room window onto the eastern veranda
The 60sq.m eastern veranda next to the living room
Bedroom 1 with king size bed
Bedroom 1 with closets
Bedroom 2 with extra wide single bed
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Bathroom - the shower can be fixed on the wall
Bathroom
A nice taverna round the corner frequented by many Athenians
Typical Greek products shop just round the corner
Greek taverna and cafe on the little square at two minutes' walk
One of the best bio shops in town and 'Avocado' snack bar on Nikis Street
Full moon view of the Acropolis from our western veranda
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Athens, Attica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Esther D
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful character apartment in excellent location, lovely owners”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This apartment is a gem, and soooo much nicer than a bland hotel room!

- It's in a lovely old building (19th century?)
- It's amazingly spacious, though the living room manages to also feel cozy.
- We loved the wooden floor and the antique pieces of furniture, and the personal touches like the old photos on the wall
- In the twin room, 1 bed is larger and firmer than the other, so you have a choice
- Bathroom is showing its age in places but is huge, and the large bath was bliss :)
- Kitchen-diner is positively cavernous, and has everything you need (eg oven, gas hob, huge fridge-freezer, coffee machine, dishwasher). There was milk, orange juice and chilled water in the fridge, and a packet of melba toast (I think, not an expert!) and small packets of jam - lovely welcoming touches.
- Everything was very clean
- 1 large roof terrace at the front, a smaller one at the back. Both have pots but the smaller one in particular has a wonderful garden feel to it, with oranges and pelargoniums, plus it has a fantastic view of the Acropolis. You can watch it light up in the evening from your outdoor sofa :D
- It's on the top floor (of 4), which gets you away from street-level noise (22 marble steps per floor, if you're interested)
- There is a small lift (it fits inside the square-spiral staircase), which is also antique, though with a newer mechanism. It has inner wooden doors and an outer metal one, just like the ones you see in period dramas on TV :) It's big enough for 2, or luggage
- It's in the Plaka district – one of the nicest and most upmarket areas in Athens (if not THE nicest, I'm not an expert!), full of "pedestrianised" (watch out for scooters!) streets lined with tavernas and shops (check out Google street view to see what it's like)
- It is however not on a pedestrianised street, so you don't have the taverna/shop/busker/tourist noise at night (shops are generally open late, some till midnight, tavernas can be open even later) It's on a narrow back road, <200m from a major artery road yet amazingly quiet at night (only the living room fronts the road anyway). The only traffic I heard in 4 nights was 1 scooter. Lots of church bells, especially on Sunday, but I expect you get that everywhere in the city – there are a lot of churches!
- It's extremely well placed for all the major attractions – all within a short walking distance, eg Temple of Olympeion Zeus, Syndagma Sq (good public transport links there too, eg direct line from metro to airport), national gardens: 0.5km or less, Acropolis, ancient agora, Roman forum, Hadrian's library: ~1km, top of Pnyx/Filopappou hills: just opposite the Acropolis so slightly more than 1km, even Mt Lycabettus is only ~2.5km, and you can walk through the gardens for a good chunk of the route

As well as a huge number of eateries and tourist shops from literally just around the corner, there are also basics like bakery, fishmonger, supermarket, butcher, not far away, plus the swanky shopping street of Ermou (some fab cake shops here!) Our favourite eatery was Ydria, on the corner of Adrianou and Aiolou next to Hadrian's library. Matreshka, round the corner from the apartment on Stadiou street, was good for snacks (croissant, pastries, greek salad etc). Just south of the apartment was a travel shop where a couple of older gentlement took pity on me as I was standing around for ~1 hr waiting for everyone else to arrive, and offered me a seat and some Greek coffee, what hospitality! And just down Kidathineon (first pedestrianised street round the corner) we heard another couple of gentlemen sing some beautiful Greek songs while playing the guitar and what I'm guessing was a bouzouki or mandolin, the best music by far we heard in all our Greek trip.

We dealt with Marika, one of the owners, who we also met briefly in Athens, and her assistant Ruth, who showed us around the apartment. They were both lovely and helpful, eg they allowed us to leave our luggage in the apartment after check-out until the afternoon, while Ruth prepared the apartment for the next guests. This was very much appreciated as it enabled us to visit the Acropolis museum (another must see, the modern architecture is as stunning as the artefacts within) before our evening flight. Communication was quick and helpful :)

And, even though there were only 3 of us and we didn't fill the apartment, it still worked out cheaper than a hotel.

I also recommend Welcome Pickups taxi service to/from the airport. They were brilliant, and even provided bottles of water, maps and bags when we arrived :)

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Perfect location - so convenient for all the sights, great Acropolis view, but still peaceful
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Thank you for your warm review. I am very glad you appreciated everything and had a lovely stay. I look forward to hosting you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marisa W
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“perfect”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed in this gorgeous apartment for a week in April. It is light, airy and spacious; plenty of room for everyone. It is clean and well equipped and has many beautiful objects and pieces of furniture. There are two large terraces, one for sunbathing, one for shade. The view from the plant filled rear terrace is picture-postcard perfect. The location of the apartment couldn't be better, within walking distance of everything you're likely to want to see and need, and an easy stroll from Syntagma metro for trips further afield and for airport links. You won't need a car here! The area of Plaka is vibrant and on your doorstep. however, being 4 floors up with narrow streets means that the penthouse is welcomingly cool & quiet. The apartment block is solid, quiet and traditional. The recently refurbished lift worked faultlessly carrying luggage or a couple of adults with ease. We are also very grateful to our hostess Marica, who couldn't have been more helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: only one bathroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2016
I am very glad you appreciated my apartment and you enjoyed your stay in it. Thank you for the excellent communication and for taking goos care of my property. Come back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tijid
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great View”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is a nicely decorated, roomy apartment with a king bed in one bedroom and two twins in the other. There is also a living room with three sofas, a bathroom, and a well-equipped kitchen. It's on the top floor of a five or six story building, with other apartments, an art studio, a law firm, and a closed restaurant on the lower floors.There is a very small elevator, and my wife and I chose not to squeeze both of us in there at the same time.

The two things we liked best about the apartment were the location and views.

The apartment is in the Plaka neighborhood which has a number of great restaurants, museums, historical sites and shopping. One block away is a natural foods grocery store and vegan restaurant, and two or three blocks further down Nikis St. are several ethnic restaurants: Chinese, Indian, Japanese, Spanish, etc. if you go the other direction on Nikis, you will run into a street made into a pedestrian walkway where the "Greek" restaurants are.

The apartment has two outdoor patios, a large one off of living room overlooking Nikis, and a smaller one off the kitchen with a stunning view of the Acropolis. It was a favorite place to start the day with a cup of coffee.

We took the commuter train from the airport to Syntagma Square,and from there it was a three or four block walk to the apartment. We purchased a three day pass for the public transportation, but never used it except to and from the airport. Everything (Acropolis, Agora, and other ancient ruins) is within walking distance.

One note of caution that doesn't directly tie to the apartment is that there is very little flat terrain in this part of the city, i.e., you will either be walking up or down hill most of the time. Wear good walking shoes.

The owner, Marica, was very helpful in getting us set up. We recommend this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. The only thing I do not really agree with you is that the surrounding area is hilly. If you knew Athens well you would say that its center is rather flat and that is where our flat is. Evidently, if you visit the Acropolis, Philopappou and Lycabettus Hill you will be walking up but otherwise the district of Plaka and Syntagma is very flat. Finally, I think that in the USA buildings, roads, etc. are generally much "bigger" than they are in Europe, Greece and the historical center of a city like Athens. This is also the feeling we got when we first visited the States. Everything looked huge. Therefore, one should bear this in mind when commenting on the size of things. Our elevator is small but can accommodate two people at a time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ET00000
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Roomy apartment in the perfect location”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed three nights at this great apartment with a small group of 5 adults and one toddler. We were shocked at how much larger the apartment was than the photos made it appear. There was enough space for all of us and we even had plenty of room to spare. The view from the veranda was amazing. The old building has a very small elevator we really used for luggage which was just fine for us. We had a car (which I'm sure most would never do but we took a day to visit Delphi) and there were plenty of parking lots within a few blocks, so parking was never an issue. Communicating with the owner before the trip was a breeze! I would stay again in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, spaciousness of apartment, view
Liked least: bathroom and kitchen were a little dated
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2016
I am glad you appreciated the apartment, its location and our communication! It is indeed a very spacious apartment with a stunning view! Like in many cities, traditional buildings did not have elevators when they were initially built. Our building was built in the 1930s and the elevator was added a couple of decades later. Therefore, there was not much room in the stair well for it. The old style wooden cabin can accommodate 2 people at a time. However the mechanism is new and we are having it serviced regularly (on amonthly basis). I don't think this is a problem. After all, you are in the heart of historical Athens and when travelling one must be prepared to experience and enjoy the locals' way of life. I will happily host you and your family again anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsdrm
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great home away from home!”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've picked the top floor terrace apartment for a base of our wedding in Athens. Not only us as a couple but our parents a lot appreciated the flat; being a few steps from Syntagma Square, famous Ermou Street, surely Plaka neighborhood and Acropolis just across the view from the terrace. We'd definitely recommend it again and again because no other place can give this local feeling as much as this one. Thanks for having us and very happy for our choice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The flat has a charm with the furnitures and open space it provides
Liked least: White illumination at the bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
It is very good to know that you enjoyed your stay at my partment on your wedding in Athens. I am very happy you appreciated both the apartment and its location. Hope to host you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$185
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing