We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 795)
Filter reviews
2 795 results
Traveller rating
1 481
1 029
220
48
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 481
1 029
220
48
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews acropolis museum atrium restaurant great location rooftop jacuzzi hot tub acropolis view within walking distance rooms are small very nice hotel an amazing view plaka district yogurt sister hotel metro station few minutes walk quiet street breakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 2 795 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018

This place was simply great. We walked in and were greeted by very friendly staff and that level of service continued our entire stay. The hotel is very clean with a spacious lobby, bar, eating area and breakfast area. You are an easy 5 minute walk to the "tourist row" full of cafes and restaurants so there's always something close. We had the suite with the view and it did not disappoint!!! Definitely worth the small upgrade to have the view (you get a robe and slippers to wear on the balcony as you sip your morning coffee). Breakfast went late in the morning on the weekend which was nice and it was a very extensive breakfast buffet! We didn't ever had to eat lunch it was so yummy and filling. Then we would end the day with an evening soak in the hot tub still enjoying the view. You can't beat it.

A little hint...get to the Acropolis as soon as it opens. It was amazing to see the sun rise up there and it was almost empty the first 30 minutes. Photos of the Parthenon without other tourist is rare!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank per4mance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Owner at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear guest per4mance,
Let me open my thanking note with a wish: may the New Year bring the opportunity of visiting us during the warm months and thus giving you the opportunity of enjoying dinner at our POINTa bar/ restaurant, just under the Acropolis! ... as your day will not end with " an evening soalk in the hot tub" Your first glass of wine is a promise from us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

From our greeting to our farewell, this staff works tirelessly to ensure that all of your needs are being met. The cozy rooms, with or without a view, offer everything we needed. The without a view was great as we had a great street view. Our goal was to tour as many of the central sites as possible in a week while doing day trips to see our history list while enjoying the local sites and tavernas. The Herodion certainly provided the opportunity to do this. As we stayed a week, we asked to upgrade to a room with a view of the Acropolis with a balcony. Not only did they accommodate our request, but they moved us during a day trip. The rooftop view and hot tub are not to be missed.

The amazing breakfasts and friendly greetings got us started each morning. When information was needed about what to see, the front desk was efficient and informative. The location is key to seeing most of the incredible sites and museums along with access to great local food and easy access to the tourist areas of Plaka and Monastiraki.

When the front desk found out we had a long tour day on Christmas Eve and couldn't make the dinner, they arranged another seating for us that fit our schedule. It was an amazing day of travel to Delphi topped off with a five-star gourmet Christmas meal.

We would stay at the Herodion for the location and service.

Room Tip: The view to the Acropolis is amazing but not necessary as you can visit floors 4 & 5 and view it!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Owner at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear guest Mick H, Happy New Year!
Thank you for such a positive feedback. It is excellent news that we surpassed your expectations. What makes me even more proud is that apart from professional service and friendly atmosphere, we all managed to convey to you sides of our culture e.g. personal attention as to offer you the opportunity after a long day to magical Delphi to enjoy an unforgettable Christmas dinner.
Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

... and we didn't even have the best room! We had a little room with no balcony but the service and location and restaurant couldn't have been bettered. The mattress had sunk in the middle so ... they replaced the mattress! Breakfasts were great with sunny, bright, happy waitresses. Reception was very helpful. Lunches in the atrium were excellent but the rooftop restaurant was 5* food with a view of the Acropolis - bliss. The decktop spa with an ordering service to the bar upstairs was a winner. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this as THE place to stay in Athens.

Room Tip: Maybe pay a little extra for a room with a balcony?
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin-Koala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Owner at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear guest Kevin-Koala, Happy New Year!

“The best I've ever stayed at” : your explicit review, coming from an experienced reviewer, is incredibly motivating for me and my team and we are happy that your took the time to write about us. We have put all our creativity, teamwork , ambience-and-gastronomy wise, to match the superb view of our terrace, and it is very rewarding to find that is has touched you. Thank your for staying with us and looking forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Just spent the last four nights at this hotel with my wife and two teenage kids. I am not one for writing reviews usually, but thought I should share a few thoughts. The location of the hotel for visiting the attractions in Athens could not be better. The staff on arrival were most helpful and welcoming. The rooms were smart, modern and spotless. The on site bar and lounge was comfortable, and the restaurant food good. And as for spending time in a hot tub on the roof terrace overlooking a floodlit Acropolis, simply stunning. On the whole a great find.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MMJJ1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Owner at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018


Dear guest MMjj1968,

I personally cannot thank you enough for your praise of Herodion especially as a first time reviewer, to share your memories with the Triopadisor community!!
We are exceptionally happy when we can exceed the expectations of Tripadvisor reviewers and even more happy when our guests express their enthusiasm for the uniqueness of our hotel. It is true that Herodion by nature differs from many of the other 4* hotels in Athens; its inviting size, exquisite location and family run character enables us to provide something very unique among Athens 4* hotels, something that has won us many fans and regular guests over the 41 years of our operation. Thank you and we hope to help you discover even more of Athens when you return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

This is rated as a 4 star but it sadly does not meet normal standards. We booked a double non smoking room. We were given a twin smoking room. It was also by a road (not good for light sleepers). The next day we asked to be changed which they did which gave us a double non smoking. However people smoked in the corridor and on the balcony next to us so it wasn’t really no smoking. Room 14 was the one we were given which is also very noisy with a generator cycling on and off all day and night. The floors are quite thin so you can hear what is going on above you.

Breakfast was disappointing. Far cry from Marriott and Hilton we are used to staying in. Watered down cordial as fruit juice, freshly squeezed orange juice was available if you were lucky. However it was rarely replenished and ran out quickly. Tables were not properly cleaned between people -the staff shake the place mat and replace.

The room was cleaned better some days than others. E.g bin not always emptied.

Front desk were friendly enough.

Strange jacuzzi set up. You get a card from reception which entitles you to 15 minutes in the jacuzzi. You are not allowed an extension. You can get another card 30 minutes after the one you had ends. Crazy!

This hotel could be so much better with some minor changes. For now I would not return. Disappointing stay at Herodion. The saving grace was a good view of the acropolis from the roof but this view you could get in other parts of town without the need to stay here!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank whatd0ikn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Owner at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear whatd0in0w,
Thank you for sharing your insights following your stay with us. It is with deep regret we read about the unsatisfactory experience you had and I hope you can understand that this is not representative at all of the service that we take great pride in delivering to our guests. Quality of service and standard hospitality are, for us, top priority aspects and have gained us many high scores throughout the 42 years of our operation.

According to your review, we would like to inform you that there is a very limited number of smoking rooms in our hotel. After your initial complaints about the smell, although your room was a non-smoking one, our staff immediately transferred you into an other room. Unfortunately, we did not receive any further feedback from you.
We apologize for the noise in your second room. Our garden rooms are very popular as they offer a direct access to a beautiful aged garden with morning light and are very quiet. Thank you for mentioning, even now, as we will investigate and fix any problem detected.

Moreover, our breakfast has been awarded the prize of "Greek Breakfast" by the Hellenic Chamber of Hotels as it offers a wide choice of warm and cold delicacies of pure and unique Greek products and traditional local dishes from regions of our country prepared by our cooks daily. Please, also note that our orange juice is freshly squeezed and due to the great demand, our staff continually refills it. Nevertheless our breakfast team is always happy to bring at your table any refill you might wish for.

The Jacuzzi of which temperature is 36 °C operates according to the company's international safety protocol, due to health reasons, letting you remain submerged in the bubbles for a maximum period of 15 minutes  after which one may turn it on again for an extra period (30 minutes later).
In addition, I need to underline that we, at Herodion, do feel rather special in that we offer high standard accommodation with personalized service. Especially hygiene ISO standards are top priority, which has and still does gain us top scores. We would like to inform you that our rooms are being thoroughly checked three times per day by different professionals of different specialties following all cleaning procedures.

Finally, let us consider the view from our roof garden as "unique" being in a distance of 289m from the Parthenon Temple as well as 85m from the New Acropolis Museum.

We are terribly sorry for the discomfort you encountered and we sincerely look forward to the opportunity to restore your faith in us, when you next return to the Herodion Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews