We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
82
67
40
25
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
67
40
25
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle strip club modern and clean hotel free local and international calls cultural places hotel business superb breakfast shower gel city trip great bed gorgeous hotel main road close to the city center welcome drink underground station quiet room wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Based on the photos alone i thought there would be a view of the Parthenon (not even close) and the rooms looked luxurious (they were not). I had upgraded our room with a "patio" which was really a sun room that leaked (with mold on floor) our shower overflowed and had mold all over the place. The staff was indifferent and callous but for a large city that is usually the case. The pictures also hide the fact that the hotel is surrounded by sex shops on a very busy road. On the plus side, the lobby/bar area is very nice, the hotel is located on the CitySightseeing Tour bus route and there are some good restaurants that are within walking distance. If you are there as a tourist find a hotel by the Plaka area much nicer.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

This hotel is located in the heart of Athens, Omonoia. The underground station is located literally outside the Hotel entrance. The hotel is surrounded by various eateries and cafes. The main market is virtually minutes away and Monastiraki is an enjoyable 12 minute walk. Rooms are medium sized with all amenities. They may specify that there are rooms with balconys but omit to mension that access to the balcony is not possible since balcony doors and all room windows open with a security cable which simply allow for fresh air flow. Seems to be the in thing nowdays. Staff are very friendly and speak fluent English. Outside a little scary at night due to the many immigrants who tend to flood the square doing nothing.

Stayed: April 2018
2  Thank johnpapadopoullos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

ROOM: nice, not very spacious, veranda, clean bed linen and good quality of sleep
BREAKFAST : not something special, just basic for its category
PERSONELL : willing to help, but without experience or proper education
PARKING : narrow, only for few cars
SHUTTLE BUS SERVICE : very convenient, just back Acropolis museum, in the right point to visit ancient city and traditional Plaka, with lots of taverns and souvenir shops
RESERVATION DESK :
1.problems in reservation (booked a room with free parking, sent us to the opposite hotel "athenaeum suites", 5-10 min by car, cross the avenue, went there to find that there wasn't any parking, but just out the hotel in the street!, got back to "athenaeum grand", another 5-10 min by car, they gave us finally a room upgraded, after we lost about an hour and we had arranged appointments!!!)
2. problems in check-out: there was no receipt for us in this hotel but in the opposite!!! they didn't know where we stayed!!! another delay....
3. quarrel in the kitchen and in the breakfast room between personnel, during the breakfast time!

Room Tip: the upper floors offer a better view
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary-panos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

After coming from Santorini's beautiful Fira and Oia, the expectations were either on par or exceeded expectations. Let's start with the positives as its always a good way to open up a review. The foyer is great, nice and open, bright and lots of comfortable couches. Breakfast was good, but would've preferred a slight change in menu or something different everyday, but this wasn't an issue. Free shuttle to the Acropolis and return was good incentive by the hotel.
Now to the negative - needs improvement part of the review. Firstly, the hotel staff were nice and approachable, but when question about whether we charged a holding fee they got very aggressive. I'm sure the host/reception didn't mean it, but just came across as aggressive. We booked and even requested for an Acropolis View Room, but opened up to a potential Acropolis View the other two nights we were staying - this did not happen. Room was clean and pleasant, but we found an open wire sticking out of the bathroom..perhaps for a telephone? On odd occasions, we would hear the shower trickling, but wasn't a big issue. The housekeepers wee friendly and nice, but really needed to get the replacement of amenities more consistent with Shampoo, Conditioner & Shower gel. I received all Shampoo, which was quite frustrating as its clearly labelled. In addition, this hotel is actually sandwiched in between 2 x strip clubs which you would only find in "nightlife areas". I personally would not recommend this to families with young children. Although it didn't bother me, it wouldn't pleasant first impression to families staying at this hotel. Not a big thing, but I could not find the "Fitness Centre" which was located on my floor...or it did not really exist?
Long story short, I think if this hotel improved the simple and small things, it could have a potential. Not a big fan of negative reviews, but the necessary feedback seemed warranted

Room Tip: Booking an Acropolis View will not necessarily guarantee you one.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MisterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

We arrived at 1am to be told we were upgraded ...... yes same old story sister hotel etc ... we went over by taxi only to find the “suite” had no door lock. Plaster dust everywhere, cables hanging ... I refused and complained lots of shaking heads etc... so I called BA air miles who were excellent taken to another hotel for the night .. back to the grand the next day and given the room we had booked .. after that all ok .. The grand is clean and comfortable.. no issues with the clubs or nightlife... the hotel made a suitable gesture of compensation..

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrmingly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews