We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
320
108
19
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
108
19
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chez lapin shutters closed made to order eggs top floor perfect location apartment hotel juliet balcony port houses restaurant staff squeezed orange juice old building stone walls front desk staff small kitchen sitting room a wonderful stay nice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2016

It's a downhill walk (with a rolling bag each) from the Sao Bento metro stop--very easy! During the walk, we got an orientation to this charming town--shopping on the Ruas das Flores, past some important buildings that we later visited, through the downtown. The hard part was finding the exact location on the tiny maze of streets though some locals were only too happy to help. Our room was not a view room as we were there only one night and the price difference was important; but the room was modern, comfortable, and very well-equipped. One of the other writers mentioned no storage for clothes, but our room had a rolling rack with hangers so that is no longer an issue. It would be a great place to stay for some days, complete with kitchenette for simple meals. That said, breakfast was included and was more than adequate (nothing fancy) with a gorgeous river view! We had port aperitifs on the deck the evening before, just before going to dinner--beautiful views of the river, the bridge, and the port companies on the other side; great people-watching at dusk; and great service. Before our departure, we got to meet one of the owners and compliment him on the excellent staff who made sure we had everything we needed. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank drkiki2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto R, Gestor de Front Office at Porto River Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to host you again at Porto River on your next visit to Porto. Best Regards from the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

The high ratings here on TripAdvisor are completely justified. Incredible location and river views, smack in the middle of Ribiera activities and one of Porto's most authentic neighborhoods. The hotel is small, intimate, warm, well appointed and immaculate. Staff could not be more inviting or helpful. As noted in other reviews, getting to Porto River, particularly if you're driving your own car, is a challenge. It's hard to find, the street in front is blocked off during the day and overnight parking is remote. Hotel staff fully understands this and does everything it can to help, but be aware that getting there will pose some challenges initially. That said, once you're settled, it's a perfect jumping off point for Porto. Will visit there again, soon!

Room Tip: There are only 18 rooms in the hotel, each with style and character. The city views are great, the river view is spectacular.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dellis12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto R, Diretor-Geral at Porto River Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to host you again at Porto River on your next visit to Porto. Best Regards from the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

This was a very nice location right on the water and close to everything. We found the apartment to be modern and very clean. The only difficulty was there wasn't storage space for clothing so we found we had to live out of our suitcase. There was a small stove, refrigerator, oven and microwave so you could cook here if you desired to heat leftover food from dinners out. Please note: if you are looking for a quiet place this would not be the hotel for you. There was a great deal of noise from music in the lounge and we could hear people walking overhead on the top floor. I would recommend saying on the third floor if possible. Breakfast was very nice and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor and make sure to choose a river view.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank foodlover2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto R, Diretor-Geral at Porto River Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to host you again at Porto River on your next visit to Porto. Best Regards from the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We booked this after reading good reviews on trip advisor. We were mostly pleased with our stay. The location is fabulous although we found it difficult to find when we first arrived as it is a maze of back streets. It is right down by the river and great for all the attractions. The staff are very friendly and helpful. However we did have a few niggles like shower gel not getting replaced and towels not being changed which we find hard to accept, it being classed as a fout star establishment. This was rectified very quickly though. The breakfast is good and adequate. On the whole the place is lovely and the bar area is in a fabulous setting overlooking the river.

Room Tip: Best to ask for a river view
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank heatherrjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto R, Diretor-Geral at Porto River Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to host you again at Porto River on your next visit to Porto. Best Regards from the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

We booked into the river apartments very last minute for a birthday treat, to which we were greeted with a lovely bottle of champagne when we entered our room. The room was generous in size and had a great bathroom, but it's really the location of the hotel that's the winner. Breakfast was a bit of a let down, with the coffee leaving much to be desired. Having said that, the pastel de nata were mouthfuls of heaven.

Stayed: November 2016
1  Thank hannah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto R, Diretor-Geral at Porto River Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Thank you for your positive feedback, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to host you again at Porto River on your next visit to Porto. Best Regards from the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews