We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Evening of Cooking and Drinking with Friends New and Old”
Review of Workshops Pop Up

Workshops Pop Up
Book In Advance
More Info
US$41,10*
and up
Cook and Taste Porto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a hands-on Portuguese cooking experience with top Chefs or taste the main Portuguese wines in a cozy and cool environment in downtown Porto. The cooking classes and wine tasting take place in a typical 19th century iron warehouse, recently renovated and transformed to concept store with a kitchen. It is located in the center of Porto night life and trendy shopping areas.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We were a group of 8 who booked a cooking class "Cook and Taste of Portugal." We were delightfully joined by four others and had the most unforgettable evening. First we were warmly greeted and explained the course of the evening and those who would be joining us. After some ice breakers we got to business cooking Scrambled Eggs with Sausage, Feijoada (Portuguese Bean Stew), and the classic Pastel de Nata. Orlanda was so fun to work with and the explanations of the Portuguese table and kitchen were a cultural lesson not to be gained anywhere in our travels.

This is perhaps the best memory we have of Porto and the new friends we made breaking bread and drinking wine will be friends for life.

Thanks for a wonderful evening of fun and learning!

Thank RichL06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuno P, Proprietário at Workshops Pop Up, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Hi!

We are very happy you enjoyed the class and that you carry with you a piece of our country with what you learned and the fun you had!

Hope you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

4 - 8 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2016

We found this whilst wandering around the back streets. We liked the range of crafts which were reasonably priced.

1  Thank Caverkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuno P, Proprietário at Workshops Pop Up, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Hi!

We are very glad you found us and enjoyed the store! We hope we can see you again sometime!

Nuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

I have done several workshops with "Workshop Pop Ups". All of them were well prepared, had great cooks as teachers, created a great learing environment. And in the end, there is a tasting of the food prepared. If you are visiting Portugal this could be a great opportunity to learn how to cook portuguese food :-).

Thank Margarida-R-Afonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuno P, Gerente at Workshops Pop Up, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

hi Margarida,

Always a pleasure to have you in our classes!

Thank you for the support!

Nuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We enjoyed the "Taste of Portugal" cooking class in a small group of only 6 students. The atmosphere was great and the enthusiastic chef taught us a lot about the cooking techniques and the ingredients. Great Portuguese wine was included, even an excellent glass of Port wine to accompany the desert. And of course the food tasted delicious. Highly recommended!

Thank rh078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuno P, Proprietário at Workshops Pop Up, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

We loved to have you in our class! We hope you can now practice at home the Portuguese Cuisine!

Nuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2016

This place is a hidden gem. It is close to Liberty Square and yet easy to miss. The store has several little stores or booths inside with beautiful items and I shopped for quite some time before and after our class.

The class was a dream with Rui (chef). He was patient and funny. He had humor and was delightful from beginning to end. Everything we cooked was tasty and made with fresh, local ingredients. I even liked the salted cod once it was cooked. Ending with Port and desert we had an amazing time.

As this was a double birthday event for a friend and me, we were a group of eight in a private class. The owner of the shop went so far as to find a local baker for birthday cakes that another friend of ours bought. They were amazing as well. I would go here again and again to learn more about local and blended cuisine. Highly recommend.

Oh, did I mention it was reasonably priced as well? BONUS!

1  Thank TINA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Workshops Pop Up also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Workshops Pop Up? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing