We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 316)
Filter reviews
1 316 results
Traveller rating
321
636
253
74
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
636
253
74
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews metro station big hotel tour groups staying buffet breakfast was very good city centre recommend this hotel to anyone stayed at this hotel for nights reception area top floor tour buses the river comfortable hotel junior suite short stay port tasting hotel is situated double bed
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1 316 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2018

This was our first visit to Porto and "Vila Galé" was to be our "home" for the next several days prior to departing on the "Camino de Santiago". Outside of the "historic" core it's only a short 30 minute "down hill" walk to the very popular tourist sites. Our room situated on the 17th floor afforded views of "city hall" and in the distance the Atlantic Ocean. Room service kept our room satisfactorily clean which was appointed with many ammenities. If you like using the "room safe", note the "key and lock" must be rented for a couple of €'s per day. Breakfast was included with our room price and an extensive spread was available every morning on the second floor. Reception staff were friendly and "sometimes" helpful.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Diretor-Geral at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear Mr. Brian,

We were very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Vila Galé Porto.

Beside being close to the city center, there is also a subway station 200 meters from the hotrlfrom where you can go anywhere in town and also directly to the airport.

Hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,


José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

I booked this hotel because I could get a reservation anywhere in Porto. It is nothing special, very dated and not close to the historical area at all. Rooms very basic and sheers on the window need to be washed. Would not recommend this hotel at all.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 82brendap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Diretor-Geral at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear Mrs. Brenda,

We regter that your stay the Vila Galé Porto was not up to your expectations.

The hotel is 20 minute walk to the city center and also has a subway station 200 meters away from where you can go to any place in town and directly to the airport.

Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

I booked my reservation from the Vila Gale just outside of Vila Verde. The room was ready even though I arrived early and the staff were friendly and courteous. I was given good instructions on where to go to get the best experience of the city around the bay. I only stayed one night, and found it to be acceptable. Breakfast was quite good and more than I expected from what others have said.

Room tip: Try to avoid rooms near the elevators.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

The stay was just OK.
You cannot expect high-end amenities in this outdated hotel - that is the truth.
The rooms are fine, double individual beds.
The cleanliness was also very basic but seemed fine.
The service was good.
Locationwise, it is a bit far from downtown (a good 20 min walk).

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank W1753SUdaniele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Diretor-Geral at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Mr. Daniel,

We regret that your stay at the Vila Galé Porto was not completely up to your expectations.

Also there is a subway station about 200 meters from the hotel from where you can go to any place in town and also directly to the airport.

Hope to welcome you again soon.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We were early to arrive after leaving Salamanca, but even though our scheduled room was not available yet, hotel staff found a room that was ready f allowed us to check in early.
Location was good if you like to walk
Parking is available, some free (if you are lucky).

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jerome D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHotels, Diretor-Geral at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Mr. Jerome,

We were very proud to read that your stay at the Vila Galé Porto exceeded your expectations specially on what our Team is concerned.

There is also a subway station about 200 meters from the hotel from where you can go to any place in town or directly to the airport.

Hope to welcome you again soon.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews