We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern spacious apartment in heart of the old town”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of CASA DA MARIA II

Rua da Rainha D. Maria II
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rua da Rainha D. Maria II
Rua da Rainha D. Maria II living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Rua da Rainha D. Maria II
Rua da Rainha D. Maria II
living room
living room
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
bedroom 1
bedroom 1
bedroom 1
bathroom 1
bathroom 1
bedroom 2
bedroom 2
bathroom 2
view
view
night view
night view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Guimaraes, Braga District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
joerussin
Glendale, California
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Modern spacious apartment in heart of the old town”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

There is a lot to like about Casa Da Maria, starting with its location inside the old walls. Most sights are in walking distance. A large plaza with numerous cafes and restaurants is 2 minutes away. The apartment is HUGE and modern--maybe too modern with a glass shower but no soap shelf!) The second bedroom is one flight up within the apartment. And remember that this unit is two flights up from the street. TV gets a good selection of channels, you can use the phone for local calls, wi fi works well and the kitchen is reasonably equipped if you plan to bring in food. The tough part for us was parking, which is very restricted and hard to access behind the walls. The owner told me he is working on a solution. If you go--with a car--be sure to get exact directions on what to do with your car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: parking hassles
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRLCH
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Gorgeous apartment in the heart of the old city! Fantastic location and very well appointed apartment! As we were only one couple we used the double bedroom at the back of the main floor. Saturday night in Guimaraes is lively, but the back bedroom was quiet. We arrived by car and parked a short distance away as advised by owner. This was very convenient, and we did not even try to drive into the old town for drop off and collection of our luggage. We would definitely stay here agiain! Fantastic northern Portugal holiday destination!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!! Clean, modern and tasteful apartment.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdchin
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like a Dream!”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Clean, cozy, spacious, central, and modern. I can't say enough about Casa Da Maria. I was planning on my next visit even as I was leaving the keys behind and closing the door behind me. Next time, it will be a huge family vacation, because the space would be perfect for it. We travel a lot, and this was one of our favorite lodging and city too, because the price is right and you get so much for it. I highly recommend the Casa. Vitorio, the owner, seems like a really nice guy also, though we never met.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emeliza
2 reviews
“perfect, perfect, perfect”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

look no further in guimaraes!! ideal location in exquisite historic center. super spacious, bright, and spotless! bottle of locsl wine awaited us. vitorio & catarina were responsive and friendly throughout process of reserving, arrivsl, etc. (eg, sent links re: travel and restaurants). 10 out of 10, in every respect. would love to go back !!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon F
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern comfort”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Casa Da Maria II is situated in the heart of Guimaraes, a beautiful old town. From the apartment you can happily pass the time viewing the comings and goings on the square below. The apartment is beautifully and tastefully modernised and makes a very comfortable base for exploration of the area. The owner answered all our questions very promptly by e mail before we arrived and we had phone numbers on which to contact him during our stay, should the need have arisen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Kitchen could be a bit better equipped.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing