We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touring Madeira go by Taxi”

Welcome Madeira by Taxi
Ranked #109 of 137 Tours in Funchal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Taxi service operating on the island of Madeira: We do airport transfers, tours and taxi services. Dispose of our services, we are here to help you! Book your trips ... do not miss the opportunity to know our beautiful island !!!
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We hired Joao door number 1030 near the Hotel Entol Lido, on two at least occasions for around 3 Hrs each we found him very friendly lots of local knowledge more of a tour guide tbh, we booked trips from Joao one to the highest cliff in Europe its claimed the Sky Walk and including the fishing village that Churchill stayed for around e40 plus tip and again booked for the Nuns Valley with panoramic views not to be missed and down into the village, again around e50 a great driver takes his time never hurry's you allowing you to enjoy your trip tel: 91-9779175 say his Scottish friends sent you !

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

3 - 7 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2016

PLEASE NOTE WOULD NOT HAVE GIVEN A RATING BUT IT WILL NOT WORK WITHOUT GIVING IT AT LEAST ONE GREEN RATING.

Just returned from Madeira. The yellow taxi drivers are some of the most dangerous drivers that we have come across ever.

Taxi 1413 took us to the airport - it spoilt end of our holiday, he was absolutely manic.

During the holiday one taxi driver 1106 took us on a journey we had done before, at the same time and over charged us and sneered at us as he drove away! Goodness knows what that was all about.

We have visited this island many times and have noticed a huge change in the attitude of the taxi drivers.

Very baffling.

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank leejamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We had 3 taxi journeys in Madeira. The first a young man that picked us up talked non-stop all the way to our apartment. We were so tired from traveling and felt sick from windy roads could not even think to say . . . please be quiet. We wanted to look out the window and relax, surely the taxi driver should have realised that we would be tired after our flight . . .
Next time was on our way to Porto Moniz and the lady talked non stop again . . .
Really we like peace, silence and wonder . . .
Non stop for an hour. So bad was it that we canceled on the way back and would rather have a peaceful coach ride back (even though it took about 6 hours to get home) coach or bus only costs 6 euros each and this taxi was 45 euros. That is cheap for a taxi but I could not risk constant draining talking . . I am terminally ill as it is . . . goodness, where is the understanding.
On the way back to the airport from Funchal we booked a taxi with madeira-airport-transfers.com the man was an angel silent, peaceful helpful . . . not this company that I am reviewing. I recommend not the madeira island transfers taxi company

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank Light V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Rent a taxi, go where you want. Taxi driver is a kind of guide, friend, advisor. It is possible to rent a taxi for a whole day, arrange a trip to levada and go back to your place. Prices are moderate, service very convient.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank RobertARz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2015

We used the Yellow Taxis to get out and about during our stay in Maderia. Our hotel reception had explained the meter system, which was immediately used by all but one driver however he did so when reminded to by us. We found the service by all the drivers was very good taking us where requested quickly and efficiently. Most made suggestions of destinations which we were happy to listen too, some of which we undertook the drivers were also knowledgeable guides of the places visited.
We would recommend using the yellow taxis in Maderia if you wish to go directly to your destination or to undertake a specific personalised tour.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Welcome Madeira by Taxi also viewed

 

Been to Welcome Madeira by Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing