We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goya's lost the master touch!”
Review of Restaurante Goya

Restaurante Goya
Reserve with
Restaurante Goya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 709 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, International
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The welcome set it all up.....we provided our name and booking time and were welcomed by "Oh fancy"....table ok and waiter came for order...he seemed to come for all orders then disappeared from then on in. We ordered...in this case from the menu and from then on in it was downhill all the way. The one waitress tried her hardest but the level of service was absolutely dreadful and worse still those who arrived long after us were served before us!. No one asked if things were right which they weren't...the only time we had a chance to make comment was when the bill was presented and we were asked if we had enjoyed the experience. When we replied in the negative we were advised that our poor experience was due to the fact that we had ordered soup!!!!!! I folowed up by directly contacting the restaurant on two occasions(preferring initially a negative report to go to them, and never received a reply) The Goya is a sad sad reflection on what it once was......

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank borden25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana S, General Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
We fisrt would like to thank you for having visited us and for your honest review.
If possible, we would like to know in which day you visited us, for we can analyze what really happened with your table and service.
Please let us know your name on the reservation and which day to the our email: restgoya@gmail.com
We are really sorry about your situation and we would like to change your thoughts of Restaurante Goya in future visit. It's importante for us to correct all these situations and develop and learn with our mistakes.
We will appreciate very much.
Kind regards,
Joana Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 1 845 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Superb service and food at this elegant restaurant in Funchal lido. Highly recommended . Will plan to return on our next holiday in Madeira

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Wasoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana S, General Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for spending yoour time to write us this positive review about us.
Thank you for the words of praise regarding our service and food, and for yout high recommendation.
We're looking forward to see you again in your next holiday to Madeira.
Kind regards,
Joana Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Made my birthday special. Very good food and helpful staff. Toilets were an eye opener. Would love to visit to eat again

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank christinepQ3234AW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana S, General Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Mrs. Christine,
Thank you very much for having visited and chosing us to celebrate this special occasion at Goya.
We are very happy to know that we made you feel special, and we really hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Joana Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent value for money !!
This really is a venue worth a visit -particularly on Diva night -you are treated to a marvellous rendition of latest and standard musical renditions of your favourite tunes -when accompanied with high quality food it can not be beaten - congratulations to all concerned

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana S, General Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Mr. Roger,
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your experience at Restaurante Goya. We are glad to know you have visited on Thursday - Divas Night, and that you have enjoyed it.
Thank you one more time for all your support and the time you spent to write this positive review on TripAdvisor.
Kind regards,
Joana Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to Goya several times over 2-3 years. It has never disappointed. Excellent menu and service. The divas with their arias and west end show music are a special extra. Ensure that you check which evenings they are on.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank 459BrianP459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joana S, General Manager at Restaurante Goya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Mr. Brian,

Thank you very much for being loyal guest for many years, and were very happy to know that we never disappointed you.
It was always pleasant to visited us during the Divas Night Show every Thursday, were glad you have enjoyed it.
Thank you for all your support and we hope to welcome you back very soon at Goya.
Kind regards,
Joana Sousa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Goya also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Goya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing