We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 817)
Filter reviews
2 817 results
Traveller rating
1 351
998
333
102
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 351
998
333
102
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden pool atlantic pool sea view building site lovely hotel tea and coffee time share salt water old town junior suite building work bed and breakfast great facilities half board sea water large hotel pool towels
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 2 817 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from a weeks stay at Pestana Carlton and it was our first visit to Madeira. From arrival to finish we had a wow stay - the staff could not do enough for us and went above and beyond everyday. We only had breakfast in the hotel but all the food at the buffet was perfectly tasty.
Our room 1211 was a junior suite and absolutely beautiful, incredible views, immaculately clean and very spacious. Whilst the below review re the small televisions is quite accurate - it worked and in reality who goes on holiday to watch TV? We spent most of our time overlooking the Atlantic on the balcony which was a much better use of our time! I can watch TV when I’m back home.
The pool on the Garden Level was always busy and beds were reserved A LOT, towels not being removed like the notice had stated and this was rather infuriating seeing lots of empty beds with towels however it’s pretty minor and the only real gripe we had (scraping the bottom of the barrel) we just ventured to the pool which was sea level instead where getting a bed was no problem and the sun seemed a lot hotter!
Can’t complain about the weather - a bit of cloud and sun mostly and at the end of the day the hotels don’t control the weather.
In terms of the local area there was plenty to see and do and lots of lovely nearby restaurants and shops.
Overall it was a fab stay, and we can’t wait to come back! Thank you to the staff for making it so memorable, see you all soon!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank khockham9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear khockham9,
Thank you very much for your amazing contribution on Tripadvisor.
We were delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your fabulous stay with us.
Your kind comments have been really appreciated and give us the feeling of mission accomplished. We sincerely hope that your travelling plans bring you back to Madeira in the near future, so we can have the pleasure of hosting you again and offer more “Memorable Moments”.
With kind regards,
Lisbeth Albuquerque
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Stayed here for10 nights B&B with TUI. On the plus side, the staff were lovely, the food at breakfast was good, the room was comfortable, and the views were pretty impressive (particularly on those few days that the sun shone).
Detracting from the whole holiday though: evening meals in the buffet restaurant were expensive; the pool towels were quite thin, and not very big; despite the warning notices, pool staff didn't remove towels from "reserved" beds [which were of course the best ones]; one of the 2 lifts between the main hotel and the pool was out of order for at least a week, leading to long waits; once the initial tea/coffee/milk in the room is used up, each subsequent replenishment costs 4 EUR [so we brought our own and bought cartons of milk from the nearby supermarket]; the heated pool was pretty cold.
I realise those quibbles are mainly minor but, taken together, I think they confirm that the Carlton is definitely no longer 5 star - and, for me, it's only the staff who keep it at 4 rather than 3.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ChertseyMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear ChertseyMary,
Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor about your stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
Our aim is to ensure memorable holiday to all our guests. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed a lovely stay, but also understood that we have not completely fulfilled your expectations. We apologize sincerely and hope to have another opportunity to host you in the near future.
All your comments will be taken in consideration, in order to make improvements and please allow us to referr regarding the lift, that sadly it needs a new piece which does not exist in Madeira and had to be requested to Portugal, the mainland. Madeira is really a very beautiful and precious island, but also very limited in some cases.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Lisbeth Albuquerque
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

OLD HOTEL REQUIRING IMMEDIATE RENOVATION,
if I say it's 3 stars I will offend good 3 * hotels
Broken pool tables - risk of an accident. Sun loungers covered with sheet metal, cracked tiles (DANGER), falling plasters, flaky paint.
Old 17 inch TVs -
Unsightly bedding - YELLOW OF OLD
bad smell in the whole hotel
after 18:00 the access to the sea is closed
monotonous meals - cured meat from the lower price range, not much vegetables

Room Tip: Never again, it's FAILURE
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank p0rter10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear p0rter10,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and or guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal and it is with sincere sadness that we have read your comments. We never had the intention to provoke any kind of dissatisfaction and good notice of each of your comments has been taken so that we can improve and avoid such comments in the future.
We would like to take this opportunity to share and inform that we have new deck chairs by the pool and we are also substituting the televisions gradually in the hotel.
We would like very much to have the opportunity to humbly welcome you again in the future and correcting your opinion about us.
With kind regards,
Lisbeth Albuquerque
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Stayed with friends at Pestana Carlton in Funchal. The hotel is very close to the airport bus stop and the hotel right next to the sea. We were happy to be upgraded to sea facing rooms for free. Staff were courteous and rooms were really fits. They have a large breakfast buffet and 4 swimming pools so there's lots of choice. They have a late checkout fee but it was not very high (€25). A pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank AH_explorer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear AH_explorer9,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that, as a whole you have enjoyed your holidays and thank you for sharing your opinion with us and everybody who reads this website.
With the best regards and on behalf of all the team we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Lisbeth Albuquerque
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Pestana Carlton ocean resort for our special wedding anniversary. At first impression the hotel was beautiful. Our agent had requested a sea view but this did not come about, but we were given a pool room which was lovely. The cleaning of the rooms wasn’t good!! By the end of the week there was an accumulation of cups and saucers we had used, glasses we had used, all that was done was bed made, towels changed. No cleaning!!! Our 45th wedding anniversary was on the 23rd June and our travel agent had specifically written in capital letters a bottle of wine and flowers to be delivered to our room. None appeared, when my husband enquired the reception said ‘didn’t know about it’ we will sent a bottle to your room. The hotel did know because when we booked in the paper work we gave them stated this. It put a downer on what was a very special day!!! Then to cap it all we went to ‘The Pub’ for our last year dinner on Sunday evening, my husband ordered fish and chips I ordered a steak very well done, which made my husband asked three times to make sure this was done. The steak came out and to be quite frank it nearly walked out, we sent it back, the same steak came out after 20mins and blood was running from it, my husband took it back, chef apologised after 20mins it came out a different steak and blood was running out of it into the vegetables after which I nearly was sick. My husband made a complaint which in all fairness the manager apologised and agreed it wasn’t good enough, and said he wouldn’t charge us! What an awful end to what was anticipated to be our paradise 45th wedding anniversary. Sorry Pestana you really need to get it sorted, in our opinion this is not a 5 star hotel, more like a 3 star. It has been noted in the red book.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 18rias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Gestor at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Mrs. Stocks,
Following our conversation upon check-out, we deeply apologize for all the situations that have occured during your stay. They do not reflect our daily operation and services. Throughout our conversation, I felt that nothing that I could say could erase the episodes described.
Therefore, we sincerely hope that you give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Kind regards,
Sara Veríssimo - Unit Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews