We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (917)
Filter reviews
917 results
Traveller rating
332
433
124
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
433
124
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view lovely hotel spa pool show cooking lido area plenty of choice shower curtain kettle and cups old town funchal centre breakfast and dinner road noise barking dogs the half board option reid's hotel twin room buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 917 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We were with a group and we liked most aspects of this hotel. Plus points were the indoor swimming pool, the sauna, the friendly staff, the good food with much variety and the excellent location . The problems we had were with the room which was rather small and pokey. There was a small balcony and we could just see the sea. There was a bad smell from the bathroom which we reported but it did not improve. We asked for air freshener which did not arrive. Apart from that the hotel is fine.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank HilaryW971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We spent a week there March 2018 with Riviera. Food was very good (buffet style) and dining room large and airy with excellent views over the bay. Rooms spacious and spotlessly clean. All staff were helpful, well turned-out and efficient. No complaints whatsoever. A really relaxing and enjoyable break.

Room Tip: Our room looked west but rooms facing south and east overlook the town and bay area.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Barrie and Deir... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Food was very good although dining room was a bit crowded at breakfast, 2 sittings at dinner alleviated this problem, also good to have allocated table for dinner. Room at front with sea view, lovely and spacious, but could be noisy at late evening with traffic, especially very noisy motor cycles.. Cleaning very good and thorough.

Room Tip: See above noise comment at front of hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
2  Thank dmoircarnoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

I stayed here for a week with a group from the UK. good points about the hotel All staff were friendly and very helpful. the bathroom was large and very clean, Room median size for 1 with large firm good bed, all surfaces were clean except the floor with was very dusty. A/C in room quiet, A/C outside very nosey.Road a back of the hotel was all so very nosey 7.30am to 10.45 pm. bar service very good with a very happy barman.On the downside, a service room next to my room (No 337second floor) nosey at times, also marked as fire escape on escape plan but the door marked NOENTRY.Food could have been better with more imagination, not a 4*hotel.

Room Tip: front facing sea to get morning sun
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjdownes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Third visit 6 weeks this time, great. The hotel in my opinion is the cleanest I have been in the food was good the rooms are comfortable the cleaning room staff are excellent and that goes for all the staff, the food was very good the comments I heard was of the same opinion. On. reading some of the negative comments it is pathetic blaming the hotel because someone banged the door, the person from Plymouth takes the biscuit, can't even take his own luggage to his room get a life, to sum up great hotel good food great staff to all the moaners there is an old saying don't tell us tell the cook, if you have a problem stop moaning tell the the management happy holidays.
Cptn Peter Rtrd.
Fareham.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank funchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews