We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Place Great Location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Local swimming pool, Reid's Hotel + access to the sea
View/outlook from top terrace
Mountain view from top terrace
Golden Shower plant on afternoon terrace
Corner of patio garden
Main bedroom
Sitting room(upper level)
Lovely view from nearby
Santa Catarina Park nearby
Funchal Flower festival
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
1966Darre...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place Great Location.”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a great place to stay great location. Great views from the middle and top level. Very clean plenty off room. Great gardens.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Dear Darren,

Thank you for doing us a nice review.

Best wishes.

Yours sincerely,

Richard T S Harris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgethe...
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Character, Comfort and Great Hospitality”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Quinta Elena for a week in May and were not disappointed. The place has great character and, unlike some "character" places we have been in was also modern and comfortable. We were met at the airport (part of the rental!) and shown round the [place straight away. The back yard is adorable and clearly they are very keen gardeners (cuttings supplied!). It is within 10-15 minutes walk of the very centre of Funchal but there are many excellent restaurants a patisserie with cakes to die for just round the corner.
All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we wish we had booked two weeks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Dear George,

Many thanks for your nice review. I am sure it will help us to get more bookings. Richard T S Harris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LordBelve...
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No plastic windows here”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Spacious old house furnished with antique furniture. 2 balconies to sit out on, as well as a private walled garden. Well equipped, although the provision of bins to enable the recycling of rubbish would be a useful and environmentally positive addition. Comfy beds! The house was well run by the housekeeper, Emilia. Only a 10 minute walk from the town centre, (15 minutes coming back!), with good access to buses, and yet quietly situated. Not often that we'd consider renting a property twice, but we would do with this one.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilL1960
St Neots, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely property on a lovely Island”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My extended family and I (5 of us) stayed at Quinta Elena in August 2014 and I can thoroughly recommend the property. It was well equipped, well maintained, spacious, and well located being just 10-15 minutes walk from the centre of Funchal. Richard and Elaine, the owners, recommended Manuel, a local taxi driver (they sent details with the booking) and we made good use of him hiring him for two full and one half days - if you have not been to Madeira before, the roads can be sinuous and challenging and making use of Manuel meant I could relax instead of driving; also it meant we visited places we would not have otherwise. Although the local swimming pool they recommended did not honour the discount we still made use of it, and the discounted price was still available after 5PM each day which left (in August 2014) up to 2 hours of pool time. All in all very pleased with our stay and hope to visit the island again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Lovely property, well located
Liked least: Swimming discount at local pool not honoured - but was available anyhow after 5PM
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gingermop
Liverpool, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious, lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great week in Funchal at Quinta Elena. It's a lovely house with plenty of space for four adults; all the rooms are a good size. There are good outdoor areas with the garden and terraces (the upper one has lovely views towards the mountains with sunrises). It's very comfortable with everything you need for a restful break. The location is good with a short walk into Funchal centre (tho back up a faily steep hill!). We were picked up from the airport by the redoubtable Manuel and also went out with him for a couple of day trips which were great. In all, a great base for a Funchal holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The outdoor space
Liked least: Found it difficult to get shower temp right
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing