We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 747)
Filter reviews
1 747 results
Traveller rating
1 498
172
57
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 498
172
57
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa cipriani afternoon tea on the terrace charming room cocktail bar best hotels in the world dinner dance free soft drinks winston churchill deluxe room tennis courts dress code the general manager luxury hotel breakfast room sea level michelin star sea water
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 1 747 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

I spent 8 days from December 18th and this the second Christmas I have had at the Belmont . The food was perfect from breakfast to dinner in the evening. The Staff are perfect in a way that other Hotels could learn much. Courtesy is number One from the top throughout the Hotel. This is not a Hotel it is a Palace. Thank you I have booked for next year.

Room tip: All rooms are quality
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank altaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear altaurus,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for sharing your feedback!

We have all been flattered by your kind words. It is indeed a great pleasure to receive these words of vote, which without any doubt are the spring that pushes us all to do our utmost to please our valuable customers.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back here to the Belmond Reid’s Palace, in a not too far future.

Wishing you all the best, we remain, with our kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Reid's is if anything better than ever, difficult as that may be to credit. The epitome of an old fashioned Grand Hotel. Comfortable rooms, excellent dining, immaculate service, helpful concierges. We will return.

Room tip: Most rooms have a sea view
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank andblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear andblake,

Thank you very much for visiting us and for your nice comments, we are glad to read that we have been able to meet your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here to the Belmond Reid's Palace in the near future.

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Wonderful lunch by the pool at Reids with a trio of classical musicians playing throughout. Buffet lunch with lobster, foie gras, scallops, lots of salads and also delicious puddings. A swim in the pool before lunch was essential as the weather was like summer. Staff as usual very friendly and helpful, gave us a fabulous table.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AdventureWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018


Dear Adventure Walker,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments.

We are pleased to learn, that you had an enjoyable experience with us, we thank you for visiting us and for sharing your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

We popped into Reid’s for a drink on New Year’s Eve on the way down to the centre of Funchal. I The concierge couldn’t have been more welcoming and the waiting staff and reception were delightful. We enjoyed a lovely peaceful gin and tonic on the terrace overlooking the ocean in this gem of a hotel, before joining the other 200 000 people for a unique fireworks display. Thank you for making our New Year’s Eve celebrations even more special.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank 232PaulL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018


Dear Paul L,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments.

We are pleased to learn, that you had an enjoyable experience with us, we thank you for visiting us and for sharing your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

We stayed over Christmas and had a wonderful experience. Everything ran to plan, the staff, the facilities and the general ambience was exceptional. Our room was located in the old original part of the hotel having delightful views over the gardens and the sea. We were fortunate that the weather was almost perfect for the five days of our stay and we were able to swim in the pools and eat our breakfast beside the pools in shirtsleeves.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciriaco C, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear Mike G,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments.

I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable experience with us. On behalf of the Belmond Reid's Palace team, I would like to extend our appreciation for visiting us and for sharing your experience.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews