We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Reid's Palace
Nearby Hotels
US$226
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$284
US$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria(Funchal)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$173
US$142
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
US$182
US$125
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
US$134
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
US$146
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Duas Torres(Funchal)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$161
US$153
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1 614)
Filter reviews
1 614 results
Traveller rating
1 380
162
55
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 380
162
55
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla ciprianiafternoon tea on the terracechampagne buffetcharming roomcocktail barbest hotels in the worlddinner dancefree soft drinksjacket and tiewinston churchilldeluxe roomcliff toptennis courtsdress codebreakfast roomluxury hotelthe general manager
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 1 614 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

I spent 8 days from December 18th and this the second Christmas I have had at the Belmont . The food was perfect from breakfast to dinner in the evening. The Staff are perfect in a way that other Hotels could learn much. Courtesy is number One from the top throughout the Hotel. This is not a Hotel it is a Palace. Thank you I have booked for next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are quality
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank altaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear altaurus,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for sharing your feedback!

We have all been flattered by your kind words. It is indeed a great pleasure to receive these words of vote, which without any doubt are the spring that pushes us all to do our utmost to please our valuable customers.

We all hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back here to the Belmond Reid’s Palace, in a not too far future.

Wishing you all the best, we remain, with our kindest regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Reid's is if anything better than ever, difficult as that may be to credit. The epitome of an old fashioned Grand Hotel. Comfortable rooms, excellent dining, immaculate service, helpful concierges. We will return.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank andblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear andblake,

Thank you very much for visiting us and for your nice comments, we are glad to read that we have been able to meet your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here to the Belmond Reid's Palace in the near future.

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Wonderful lunch by the pool at Reids with a trio of classical musicians playing throughout. Buffet lunch with lobster, foie gras, scallops, lots of salads and also delicious puddings. A swim in the pool before lunch was essential as the weather was like summer. Staff as usual very friendly and helpful, gave us a fabulous table.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank AdventureWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Dear Adventure Walker,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments.

We are pleased to learn, that you had an enjoyable experience with us, we thank you for visiting us and for sharing your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

We popped into Reid’s for a drink on New Year’s Eve on the way down to the centre of Funchal. I The concierge couldn’t have been more welcoming and the waiting staff and reception were delightful. We enjoyed a lovely peaceful gin and tonic on the terrace overlooking the ocean in this gem of a hotel, before joining the other 200 000 people for a unique fireworks display. Thank you for making our New Year’s Eve celebrations even more special.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Dear Paul L,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments.

We are pleased to learn, that you had an enjoyable experience with us, we thank you for visiting us and for sharing your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

We stayed over Christmas and had a wonderful experience. Everything ran to plan, the staff, the facilities and the general ambience was exceptional. Our room was located in the old original part of the hotel having delightful views over the gardens and the sea. We were fortunate that the weather was almost perfect for the five days of our stay and we were able to swim in the pools and eat our breakfast beside the pools in shirtsleeves.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews