We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 716)
Filter reviews
1 716 results
Traveller rating
1 470
170
56
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 470
170
56
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa cipriani afternoon tea on the terrace charming room champagne buffet cocktail bar best hotels in the world dinner dance free soft drinks winston churchill deluxe room tennis courts dress code the general manager luxury hotel breakfast room sea level sea water
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 1 716 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Reid's is if anything better than ever, difficult as that may be to credit. The epitome of an old fashioned Grand Hotel. Comfortable rooms, excellent dining, immaculate service, helpful concierges. We will return.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank andblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear andblake,

Thank you very much for visiting us and for your nice comments, we are glad to read that we have been able to meet your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here to the Belmond Reid's Palace in the near future.

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Wonderful lunch by the pool at Reids with a trio of classical musicians playing throughout. Buffet lunch with lobster, foie gras, scallops, lots of salads and also delicious puddings. A swim in the pool before lunch was essential as the weather was like summer. Staff as usual very friendly and helpful, gave us a fabulous table.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank AdventureWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018


Dear Adventure Walker,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments.

We are pleased to learn, that you had an enjoyable experience with us, we thank you for visiting us and for sharing your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

We popped into Reid’s for a drink on New Year’s Eve on the way down to the centre of Funchal. I The concierge couldn’t have been more welcoming and the waiting staff and reception were delightful. We enjoyed a lovely peaceful gin and tonic on the terrace overlooking the ocean in this gem of a hotel, before joining the other 200 000 people for a unique fireworks display. Thank you for making our New Year’s Eve celebrations even more special.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiriacoCampus, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018


Dear Paul L,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments.

We are pleased to learn, that you had an enjoyable experience with us, we thank you for visiting us and for sharing your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Belmond Reid's Palace.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

We stayed over Christmas and had a wonderful experience. Everything ran to plan, the staff, the facilities and the general ambience was exceptional. Our room was located in the old original part of the hotel having delightful views over the gardens and the sea. We were fortunate that the weather was almost perfect for the five days of our stay and we were able to swim in the pools and eat our breakfast beside the pools in shirtsleeves.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciriaco C, General Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mike G,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments.

I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable experience with us. On behalf of the Belmond Reid's Palace team, I would like to extend our appreciation for visiting us and for sharing your experience.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Best regards,

Ciriaco Campus
General Manager
Belmond Reid’s Palace
Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Last visited 35 years ago and always my ambition to return.....and so pleased I made it. Reid’s is that fabulous combination of understated elegance that is a rarity nowadays. From being met at the airport by hotel limo (optional extra) to seamless check-in to a wonderful Classic Room with large balcony overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and Funchal port, the service and standards were fabulous.
The gardens are wonderful, as are the beautifully kept sun loungers around the two main pools with call button service. There is also an exhilarating (cold) sea pool and steps directly into the Atlantic allowing you to swim safely which was great even in November.
Lingering over the delicious assortment of breakfast options was a real treat to start the day. And my favourite evening haunt was the cocktail bar with amazing views and live music.
The afternoon tea is still just as amazing and to sit on that balcony again was a dream come true.
The staff were all friendly, courteous and helpful. I will definitely be returning. Not cheap but pure indulgence.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank suekirk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews