We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and substance”
Review of A Morgadinha

A Morgadinha
Reserve with
A Morgadinha is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #230 of 721 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We were staying at the Quintinha Sao Joao, so it made sense to try out the A Morgadinha restaurant for an evening meal as we had breakfast there each morning.
As it turns out we ate in 3 times during our week long stay.
Friday evening was ‘Masterchef’. A lot of fun, choosing different courses from the 4 menus prepared by the competing house chefs, who incidentally were all young ladies. Rating each course afterwards for presentation and taste made us feel a bit like John and Gregg.
Saturday evening was another special evening, set in the gardens, with food cooked outside, and a help yourself to as much as you like approach. All drinks were included in the 30 Euro per person price. A nice touch was the arrival of a traditional singing dancing troupe in national dress. Guests were soon encouraged to join in with their version of one or two ceilidh dances, and a Madeiran style conga.
We visited the restaurant once more - this time on our final evening. Hard working Rui and his amazing team were once again on duty serving, smiling and making everyone feel special.
We tried the Goan curries, as this is the heritage of the owners we understood. They were very very good. Quite different from a takeaway back home, and probably much more authentic.
A scrumptious dessert finished the evening - and our holiday -in style.
Thank you Rui, chefs, serving staff and everyone connected with this amazing place.

Thank JustaPassinThru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at A Morgadinha, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear worldnotmyhome,

This is a really lovely review and thank you for sharing your thoughts on our restaurant "A Morgadinha" with TripAdvisor.

You have captured the essence and variety we try to bring to our customers and we are delighted that you have sampled and enjoyed everything. Thank you too for your kind comments regarding the team (which I will pass on!) - it has been our pleasure to serve you

We look forward immensely to welcoming you back to more gastronomic journeys at the restaurant "A Morgadinha" in the future.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager (Quintinha de São João)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2018

The atmosphere at A Morgadinha is set by its lovely surroundings, the lush and beautifully maintained gardens of the hotel, Quintinha Sao Joao. Here the welcome is always warm and service offered by the maitre'd, Rui and his excellent team, is friendly and prompt but never rushed.

The menu is varied and we particularly enjoy the mix of the traditional and the innovative: fillet mignon with red wine mash and vegetables; fillet of lamb with rosti; salt cod with chickpea pure and asparagus and a zingy quinoa salad with lemon vinaigrette. Starters and deserts reflect the same theme. Presentation is stylish but not fussy. As regular guests at A Morgadinha, we always appreciate the way the abundance and quality of local produce is showcased, creating an abiding sense of the lovely island of Madeira, traditional and modern. Lovely.

We can particularly recommend Masterchef evening. Held weekly, it involves four competing chefs preparing four different tasting menus. Great fun and interesting combinations of flavours and styles. The Goan dishes on the daily a la carte menu are also well worth considering and reflect the influence of Portugal's colonial past. If you need more details, you will find that Rosie Borges, of Guest Relations at the Quintinha Sao Joao, is always delighted to help.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philippa070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at A Morgadinha, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Philippa070,

Reading your description of the various dishes we have on offer makes even our mouths water! Thank you very much indeed for your excellent review of our restaurant “A Morgadinha” and thank you for your preference. I will have great pleasure in passing on your comments to our staff.

Fresh local produce is “a must” and tradition is of the utmost importance to us. Our “Masterchef” evening is our idea of a little bit of fun with the chefs all competing for the title each week, and our Goan menu reflects our heritage.

We are always at your service and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Madeira.

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager (Quintinha de São Joao and Restaurant A Morgadinha)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We ate had this restaurant twice. They do a fixed price deal for any 3 courses from menu plus wine with each course. This is common at good restaurants in Funchal and very good value. One night was master chief night with 4 chef's competing with different menus. Good idea but food not has special as we expected. We perhaps were expecting too much considering everything else about the hotel. Still an enjoyable meal.

Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at A Morgadinha, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear David B,

Thank you for taking the time and going to the trouble of sharing your review of our Restaurant “A Morgadinha” with TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and had fun with our Masterchef night.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to the Quintinha.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The new menu is more limited in choice of meat and fish but has a lot more vegetarian/vegan .The Goan curries are excellent and the meat dishes very tasty but the fish was not for us.
The service was excellent.The staff are just perfection
We love the fact that they are so willing to cater to your every need.

Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at A Morgadinha, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Mrs. Smith,

Thank you for submitting a review on your recent experience of our Restaurant A Morgadinha and thank you for your encouraging comments.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our new menu but sorry you were not so impressed by the fish dishes. We have tried our best to cater for all tastes so are pleased that you were especially impressed by our curries and meat selection.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the end of the year.

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We ate in this restaurant for seven nights as we were stating at the hotel. The food is excellent and we really enjoyed the Al La Carte Menu. The Lamb Fillet and Fillet Mignon were excellent and the Chocolate Fondant was so good I had it three times.

Thank CJHolliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at A Morgadinha, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear Mr and Mrs Holliday,

We are most grateful for your review of our restaurant “A Morgadinha” and are delighted that you enjoyed the à la carte menu and found the food to be “excellent”.

I am overjoyed at the fact you chose the chocolate fondant and have to agree you’re your decision and comments 100%!

We hope that you will return to the Quintinha de São João and we will have the chocolate fondant (and other delicious things) waiting for you at our restaurant “A Morgadinha”!

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Morgadinha also viewed

 

Been to A Morgadinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing