We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food”

MadMarket Restaurante
Ranked #3 of 787 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$29
Description: Located in the interior of Monumental Experience shopping center, MadMarket Restaurant grants its guests an authentic traditional experience. Madeirean exquisite food and delicacies are carefully prepared by the kitchen staff and served with love and care in a way only Madeireans can provide. The Restaurant is opened all day, serving lunch, afternoon snacks and dinner. Reservations for the restaurant are recommended. We also have vegetarian and gluten-free dishes.
Restaurant details
Description: Located in the interior of Monumental Experience shopping center, MadMarket Restaurant grants its guests an authentic traditional experience. Madeirean exquisite food and delicacies are carefully prepared by the kitchen staff and served with love and care in a way only Madeireans can provide. The Restaurant is opened all day, serving lunch, afternoon snacks and dinner. Reservations for the restaurant are recommended. We also have vegetarian and gluten-free dishes.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The best food we had in Madeira. The service was excellent. We had clams with coriander and garlic, grilled tuna and grilled squids. For dessert, we had the wallnut salted caramel cake. I would totally recommnend this experience!

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank Nomad02257874877
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadMarket - Marketing, Marketing at MadMarket Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review! We truly appreciate the support. We are so happy and grateful for your amazing review. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon! We are delighted to know you consider that MadMarket Restaurant served you the best food you had in Madeira! Many thanks for the recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 103 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice location hidden inside a Shopping Center. Good variety of dishes and a well sorted wine „shop“ as well as other Portuguese products for sale. We chose the recommendation from our friendly waiter Marco, octopus and tuna, which was absolutely delicious. We would highly recommend visiting MadMarket, as it has been one of the best restaurants we tried in Madeira.

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank SherlockHase
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadMarket - Marketing, Marketing at MadMarket Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review! We truly appreciate the support. We are so happy and grateful for your amazing review. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon! We are really happy to know you enjoyed our traditional madeiran food! Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2021

We had a verry nice dinner there with octopus and chikken. Wouw wouw wouw its so verry good. Exelent service from Marco and the rest of the team. Amazing

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank Robbies1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadMarket - Marketing, Marketing at MadMarket Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your rating. We appreciate the time you took to share your opinion about our space, our food, our plating and our atmosphere. Thank you for your recommendation! We recently reopened, updating our restaurant to the "new normal", with different procedures. But we are glad to serve the best typical flavors of Portugal (from North to South and Islands) to those who visit us, with freshly prepared dishes with meat, fish and fresh national and regional products. Thank you very much for the review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2021 via mobile

Marco and Filipa made us so welcome. The food is exceptional and the service is beyond any expectations.
We started with a cheese and sausage board and mussels. Delicious.
We then had scabbard fish and tuna in pink peppercorns, all beautifully cooked and the flavours were incredible.
Couldn’t resist desserts too, gorgeous. A very different venue but absolutely worth the visit. We highly recommend MadMarket

Date of visit: September 2021
2  Thank HayesBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadMarket - Marketing, Marketing at MadMarket Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review and recommendation. We truly appreciate the support. We are so happy and grateful for your amazing review regarding our food and desserts. We try to prepare our food with the freshest possible ingredients to provide a special culinary experience and a way to discover the true typical Portuguese cuisine. Thank you for your high recommendation and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2021 via mobile

Fabulous meal! Great dinner, ordered multiple dishes and ate family style.
Don’t miss the grilled black scabbard fish.
Wine and cocktails were great
Big shoutout to server - Marco and beverage - Filipa

Highly recommended for a casual atmosphere with good food and drink.

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank mehaul11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadMarket - Marketing, Marketing at MadMarket Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review and recommendation. We truly appreciate the support. We are so happy and grateful for your amazing review regarding our food and the service from our staff. We try to prepare our food with the freshest possible ingredients to provide a special culinary experience and a way to discover the true typical Portuguese cuisine. Thank you for your high recommendation and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MadMarket Restaurante also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to MadMarket Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.