We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Lisboa Plaza(Lisbon)
US$143
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$139
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$601
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$267/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$197
US$185
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 46% below average rates

The price you found is 46% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$342/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$144
US$124
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$135
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
568
21
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
568
21
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall poolfreshly baked cakesquiet streetsunny gardencharming b blibrary roomwonderful hostscomplimentary portsmall hotelhonor barbed and breakfasta wonderful place to stayperfect locationhonesty barport winecommon areasperfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We spent a couple of days in this marvellous little but very comfortable hotel and enjoyed every second. It is located in a quite side street but only few walking minutes to places, restaurant and sightseeing areas.
The hotel is an old renovated house, but keeping the charming and quiet character of it, which makes the special atmosphere which we liked so much.
The room was very charming and cozy, modernly furnished and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Same for the bathroom. The room also had a safe, air-conditioning, flat screen TV etc. Everything was alway perfectly clean.
From the arrival to departure the very kind and helpful owners made everything to make us feel comfortable. They were always available to give us hints and recommendations about sightseeing, public transport, restaurants, and organising taxis, and many more. A special thanks to Sara for all the help she gave and patience she had !
The breakfast was always excellent, with home-made cakes, fresh juices and all you need to enjoy. Any time during the day one could enjoy the home-made pies and cakes, and even a glass of port wine for free. Very convenient was the honesty bar where we able to purchase drinks whenever we wanted.
A small pool was also available outside in the small garden area, which was a real quiet point to relax.
All hotel staff was very nice and helpful.
I can only highly recommend this hotel. It will with no doubt be our choice for the next stay in Lisbon !

Room Tip: Best view from room on top floor with terrace
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Uli_F457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Uli_F457,
we are thrilled to read that you had an amazing time in our House and that you had enjoyed all the aspects of your experience, especially the service of our staff, the central and quiet location, the decoratiuon and the atmopshere of our old house.
We have been delighted to have you here and we hope to see you again, onde day.
Please accept the best Regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

A fantastic find. Central and great value. However more than that is the professional but family feel. Thank you to All those who made our stay so relaxing. Nothing is too much trouble. Please go and enjoy this experience.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Ideas4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Ideas4me,
thank you so much for such a great review!
We are very pleased to know that you had an excellent time at Casa do Barão and that you have took advatage of our central location and that you have enjoyed the service of our team.
We look forward to host you again in the future and, until then, we send you our kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and I travelled through Europe for 6 weeks from June to July. This was the best place we stayed. The staff are incredibly, kind and helpful. Sara and Roberto were our main points of contact. They were knowledgeable about Lisbon the extended areas and took an genuine interest in our plans.

Breakfast was included in our stay and a large variety of good quality food was provided. There was cereal, fresh croissant and bread, fruits, meats, quiche, coffee, juices and more. There were also complimentary freshly baked cakes available, which were a lovely treat when returning from our wonderings in the afternoon. There was a selection of drinks available to purchase (e.g coke, beer, wine). These were very reasonably priced and appeared to be there for the convenience of the guests rather than to turn a profit.

The house keeping staff need to be commended for their attention to detail. Everything was impeccably clean and everything was always topped up and available at breakfast and throughout he day.

We stayed to celebrate our honeymoon and received a bottle of complimentary wine in our room. A kind and appreciated gesture.

The location was fantastic with all areas of Lisbon easily accessible. We wished we had stayed longer than 4 nights. Thanks you to all the staff for making our stay magic.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sarahalyce88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear sarahalyce88,
we are really happy to read this wonderful comment!
All of us are trilled to know that you had a great stay in our house and that you have enjoyed our staff with their tips to enjoy Lisbon, our homemade breakfast and the central location of the house, in the real old center of Lisboa.
Thank you for choosing us and see you soon at Casa do Barão!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

I booked Casa do Barao for my solo travels through Portugal after seeing it on the travel blog It’s Beautiful Here - and it did not disappoint! I stayed for 5 nights in Room 13 which was HUGE (loved that (supersized bathroom vanity) with a lovely little balcony overlooking the street where the afternoon sun would stream through - perfect for nap time on that comfy bed before hitting the town again at night. There were also plenty of mirrors and great light to get ready by. Sara and Roberto were so welcoming and made me feel right at home. The continental breakfast served in the sunny dining room and beautiful gardens was fresh and plentiful and there were delicious baked cakes and brownies available all day/night (the smell of these baking each evening was mouth watering and added to the special, homely feel of the place). I spent a couple of afternoons sunning myself by the gorgeous pool but when I did get out their location in Chiado is terrific; within walking distance of everything I wanted to see and do. I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Kate A,
first, let us thank you for writing and sharing this lovely review here on Tripadvisor.com!
We are really happy to read that you felt home: we really love when our guests have this feeling! It is also great reading that you enjoyed your room, our homemade breakfast and the service of our staff.
We have been delighted to have you here with us and we really hope to have the opportunity to meet you again in the future.
Until then, please accept the best regards from all our Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We stayed again in the Casa do Barao because it is simply wonderful. The whole house is nicely decorated, with a little garden and pool in the back. The rooms are also very individually decorated. The owners have a good state and are very dedicated to the whole hotel. Everyone is extremely friendly and if you have a wish they are pleased to help you. The hotel not only offers bed and breakfast, you can have cakes in the afternoon or enjoy a glas of Portwine or Muscatel for free. The location is super and can reach every corner within walking distance. Only 5 Min. from Chiado you have shopping, eating and amusements places around. It is really a great hotel and we will stay there again when we come back.

Room Tip: If you mind steps you should take the lower rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efliegner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear efliegner,
we would like to thank you for sharing this lovely review on Tripadvisor.com. It's great to know that you had a lovely time here with us and that you have appreciated our old house and its decoration, the service of our team and the central location, perfect to walk around the city center.
We have been glad to have you again with us and we look forward for the next time.
Best Regards from all the Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews