We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience....food, conversation with owner & other patrons”

Restaurante Sabor Lisboa
Ranked #723 of 5 127 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 June 2018

What a neat place to stumble upon...we got there early (~7:30p) on a Saturday night, so had a chance to talk a lot with the owner. The paella for two was enjoyed, and so were the steaks. As the evening wore on and more people came in, the layout of the restaurant, as well as the owner, made it easy to chat up with others....was an enjoyable night

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pmmnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

We stopped by this place last night and the service was great. The owner came by and chatted us up and the wait staff was professional and friendly. The food was delicious. We had garlic cheese bread, the four cheese tenderloin and red wine. We typically skip dessert when we go out, but the main course was so good we opted for chocolate cake as our dessert. We both enjoyed the cake very much. The pricing was beyond fair.

We will be going here again the next time we are in Lisbon

Thank calidreamin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Located in a very known street, the place offers normal prices for a good Portuguese dish (normal prices i.e, acceptable for locals).

I went on a Saturday, only 2 tables were free but service was not that long and waiter (owner) is friendly and recommends dishes and wines that usually are a good choice.
We had: Bacalhau especial à casa (with slice of apple and shrimps) and a beef with goat cheese.
Drinks: green wine (it was ok, maybe they have more, check it)

Dessert: doce da casa and chocolate mousse (a bit dry)

Overall, good portions, very tasty and for me (a PT) it was nice to try a different cod dish. The only "bad" thing, our food had too much olive oil (I love it but even for me could come with a bit less) - not all portuguese food should be soaked in olive oil, garlic, sauces, etc.

I recommend it for sure!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rutem90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabor L, Gerente at Restaurante Sabor Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018
Google Translation

ola muito obrigada
e volte sempre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

Nice unpretentious restaurant popular with locals and tourists alike.

Owner attends tables himself and is v helpful.

Offers wine specials and other recommendations.

Meal for two with bottle of wine and two brandies 44 euro.

good value and nice atmosphere.

Thank SingBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabor L, Gerente at Restaurante Sabor Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

thank you very much for your coment
we hope to have you here again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Owner tries to be nice but he has little understanding of english or special dietary requirements for that matter. Lots of salt and oil and cheese in the food, garlic at go-go even when asked not to put any in the food, i.e. a very heavy meal. Fish seemed fresh but vegetables and mushrooms were disappointing, and again all far too greasy. Unfortunately not the best culinary experience. PS This place is a Trip Advisor recommended restaurant (certificate of excellence). It makes me wonder how accurate Trip Advisor reviews actually are?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabor L, Gerente at Restaurante Sabor Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018
Google Translation

ola muito obrigado.
lamentamos que tenha tido uma experiencia negativa. Desde ja pedimos desculpa pelo sucedido e esperamos que a proxima visita seja bastante mais poisitiva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Sabor Lisboa also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante Sabor Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing