We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good location for a base in Lisbon”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Decoration detail
Decoration detail
Decoration detail
Decoration detail
Decoration detail
Decoration detail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Smithend
Tewkesbury
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good location for a base in Lisbon”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Good location with easy access to the historic centre, metro, buses and trains. Funicular tram passes the end of street, but more of a touristy curiosity than a daily transport. Joana helpful and with good coms. Kitchen set up with everything you need to self cater. Distant views across rooftops to Cristo Rei and 25 de Abril bridge (Salazar Bridge).
Beds comfortable, with fast wifi and cable TV.
Though on the face of it a taxi is the sensible choice from the airport, if you get a driver who doesn’t know the roads around the apartment he may refuse to drive down them (narrow one way single lane) and the tube to Cais do Sodré is preferable (and much cheaper). All the tube stations en route from the airport have lifts and you are then either faced with a 5 minute walk up to the apartment or a much shorter and cheaper taxi journey.

Downsides are few but beware the capacity of the hot water cylinder if a number of guests want to take showers one after another (and make sure the cylinder isn’t on the eco (cold!) setting). The apartment is on the third floor and there is no lift, so keep that in mind when you are packing your suitcase. For the same reason it isn’t suitable for mobility impaired guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Hot water capicity
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thanks a lot for your review. It was very helpful !
It allows reinforce the following aspects
Two things I always tell to my guests:
? They can take subway instead of taxi
? I send a zone map to give to the t�xi driver and I ask them to find a t�xi driver with GPS.
Every cylinders are limitaded and depends how long does it take a shower!
At the property detail I inform that is not suitable for restricted mobility.
Finally I want to tell you that it was a pleasure to have you has my guests and you will be always welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
722margar...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient flat”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
4
people found this review helpful

The apartment was comfortable and had everything we needed. Joana, the owner, kept in touch and supplied lots of information. Location was central and within walking distance of just about everything! Great view at night across to Cristo Rei.
Word of warning to thos who may have reduced mobility - strrest are steep and can have lots of traffic blockages, walking is easier! The apartment has a number of steep stairs to door.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Thanks a lot for your review.
The apartment is on the 3rd floor without elevator as is stated on the website
Lisbon is known for its 7 hills, so it's natural the steep streets and in fact the center of the city has some traffic.
I agree that to meet Lisbon should walk and not drive!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighC60
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect - better than home from home”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful apartment and
represents excellent value for money. It is just as described and very well equipped. We all agreed that the beds are the most comfortable we have ever slept onincluding our own!
Joana is a lovely host. She is helpful and quick to respond to any queries. I get quite anxious about travelling so her support was greatly appreciated.
I definitely plan to return to Lisbon. We stayed during festival week which was fun and exciting but I think gives quite a different perspective to this beautiful city.
A few tips. If you have used underground transport before, you will find the metro straightforward and easy. I recommend buying a Viva Viagem card and top it up daily with a Bilhete 1 dia pass. I would recommend this rather than a taxi from the airport. (The taxis are cheap but if the traffic is busy it can be a hot and frustrating journey). I recommend getting off at Cais do Sodre rather than the seemingly closer Baixa/Chiado Metro stop. There's fewer stairs and it's an easier walk to the apartment. There is also a good supermarket at the station.
We found another good supermarket from the top of the funicular track and to the right (Calcada do Combro).
There is a lovely bar in the park between the apartment and the Cais do Sodre station. We also had drinks at the famous A Brasiliera but found it expensive (by Lisbon standards) and unfriendly. You should definitely try Ginjinha when you visit - it s delicious and very potent!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
You were a wonderful guests!
It was a pleaser to be helpful and I really appreciate your tips
you are always wecome im my apartment
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joannelg0...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location and lovely apartment”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Joana met us at the apartment, showed us around and provided maps and information on the sights around Lisbon. The apartment is lovely and light and perfectly located for walking to all city sights. In a lively part of the city with bars and restaurants around the corner, we loved the bar/view at Santa Catarina. Thank you Joana xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
You were a wonderful guests!
It is a pleasure to please you and I'm very glad you enjoyed the stay.
In fact the apartment is nearby everything and it stays very quiet street.
You are always welcome
Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldona U
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have been better!”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Arriving unsure of what to expect we were so pleasantly surprised to find ourselves in this this hip part of town. At first glance it was hard to tell how close the apartment is to everything. Once we got a lay of the land it was so easy to get around to see interesting places and to eat amazing food within walking distance.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Thanks a lot for your review.
In fact the apartment is in a picturesque street in the heart of Lisbon.
I am very glad you have enjoyed the stay
you are always welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing