We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent light airy appartment in lisbon's old...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of CASA ALTA

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
lemongraa...
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent light airy appartment in lisbon's old town”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Comfortable light airy apartment with balcony and views over lisbon's old town. Really well equipped with lovely owners who have thought of everything. Great base for exploring the city on foot..5 mins walk away is top pizzeria in bocca al lupo and the great gatsby-esque foxtrot bar.. definitely worth a visit. For exploring belem, beachfront and beyond would recommend bike hire from rcicla for eur 5.00 a day. Had an amazing week here :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal for a city-break”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A well-equipped apartment in the Bairro Alto of Lisbon with all of the fixtures and fittings required for a far longer stay in the city. Customer service was excellent, particularly with small items of food left for breakfast by the owners. Balcony was large enough to sit outside for meals and apartment was on the whole spacious and pleasant.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect location to relax and explore Lisbon”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This small but very well-equipped flat is in the heart of old Lisbon and is ideal to both experience local life and to,explore the city. Paula and Carlos are terrific hosts who can't do,enough for,you including bread, milk, fruit and yogurt awaiting as well as other goodies. Away from most other tourists, but close to the stations, the sights and the 28 tram. Full marks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
We always try to welcome our guests the best we can. Your review show us that we must keep to do it and even try to improve it. Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haub
Bilthoven
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, complete, cosy apartment on a great location !”
Reviewed 20 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The apartments is extraordinary clean. There is a separate bedroom with a good and comfortable double bed. The living has a couch/bed which we did not use. There is a table with four chairs so I think two grown ups and one or two children should be OK.
The apartment is on the fourth floor so not suited for people who do not want to climb stairs. There are very high ceilings and windows so there is plenty of light. The furnishing is modern and cosy. The view gives you the impression of living between the Lisbonese !
The owner (Paula) is a very friendly women and she was very accurate in the appointments for the keys.
We stayed for a week in the apartment and found a complete breakfast including fresh fruit, bread and the local custard specialty waiting for us for the first morning ! That makes you feel welcome ! Coffee, tea, sugar etc.: all present. In the kitchen there is everything you might need to prepare a meal, which we did not.For some it will be a problem that there is no TV, but we did not miss it, on the contrary ! And there is free (fast enough) Wifi to keep sight of the world.
There is plenty of documentation about sights and recommended restaurants nearby, we tried two of them and they were quite OK, and nicely priced.
Location is great, near the famous tram 28, and on walking distance of Bairo Alto. Paula will warn you for the pickpockets on tram 28 which is a serious matter as we almost saw this happening: take care !!

So, we certainly recommend this apartment, it is value for money, with a very hospitable host.
Tip: if you have plenty of time, take the ferry from Sobre to Cacilhas, make a walk there (Tourist Info in the centre will inform you) and enjoy the sight of the city from the other side of the river.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Properheid, vriendelijkheid eigenaresse
Liked least: Bij koude niet zo makkelijk goed warm te krijgen
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
I am truly sorry that I never answer your nice review. Thanks for all the details that can be so useful for future guest. Hope that you can visit Lisbon again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy D
adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place too stay”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in this lovely apartment for a week in July. Located in the historical neighbourhood of lisbon it was a perfect location for us. Very clean, airy and comfortable ,with a balcony to sit outside on and take in local life.
Paula was the perfect host -there to meet us on arrival, a much appreciated welcome pack of goodies, and contactable if we needed her.
Found many bars,restaurants to enjoy meals, fado music and to watch the sunset over the water.
We both would definitely recommend this apartment and when we get back to lisbon will stay there again.
Tracy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness of the apartment
Liked least: Nothing I can really think of
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
How can I apologize this late response to your useful review. I like to be a host specially when my guests help me to improve my way of welcoming them. Tanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing