We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience ”
Review of O Cantinho da Rute

O Cantinho da Rute
Ranked #156 of 5 026 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Neighbourhood: Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Small family tapas bar with just a few authentic homemade dishes prepared in front of the table. Excellent experience for bargain price.

1  Thank croatiantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rute C, Proprietário at O Cantinho da Rute, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018
Google Translation

Obrigado o nosso bem haja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2018

We stopped here for a glass of wine and ended up coming back the next day for lunch because the food looked so good. It did not disappoint. Chorizo grilled on open flame at the table, excellent sardines, delicious cheese, great value wine, topped off with ginjinha, all served by the ultimate host/owner - Val. We loved this small, charming restaurant in Alfama and you will too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rute C, Proprietário at O Cantinho da Rute, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018
Google Translation

O obrigado o nosso bem haja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful show. Having the chorizo cooked in front of you was excellent. The cheese with honey is a must, it was delicious. The Chorizo was very tasty and the wife said the blood sausage was great. House red was excellent and the Ginja in the chocolate cup is the way to go.

Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rute C, Proprietário at O Cantinho da Rute, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018
Google Translation

Obrigado pela simpatia,o nosso bem haja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

We initially happened upon this cute local Tapas Restaurant while on our food tour on Alfama. We loved it the first time as we had the lovely cheese platter with honey and a platter of chorizo, not to mention the wine was flowing. We even had the Ginja in chocolate cups which is not to be missed, although with a 20% alcohol you may want to limit how many you drink! LOL The owner and his wife could not have been kinder. When we found out our flight home to the states was cancelled we had the day to ourselves. So, the first place we thought of was we would head back to Alfama to find O Cantinho Da Rute and so happy we did. We were again greeted by the owner and his wife, we ordered the chorizo which they flame at your table along with the cheese tapas, both dishes served with accompaniments that really brought everything to life. The restaurant is pretty much a local hangout, very small with minimal amounts of tables, you could literally walk by it and not even notice it, it's that small. This place is a diamond in the rough and if you make your way to Alfama and this little gem you will be delighted! The owner even showed us where they are moving to in a month, which is right across the way and the new restaurant looks gorgeous! I highly recommend if you want local, and warm hospitality this is definitely the place to go!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SDPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rute C, Proprietário at O Cantinho da Rute, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018
Google Translation

Estamos muito agradecidos espero quando voltar já tenhamos o nosso novo e humilde espaço para recordar o mais pequeno espaço.Bem haja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

This is a small Tapas restaurant. We ordered cheese and Chorizo. Both INCREDIBLE!! The cheese with honey and the chorizo with blackberry sauce... YUMMS. The Chorizo is cook in fire right in front of you!

And... BEST Ginja in Alfama!!

Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rute C, Proprietário at O Cantinho da Rute, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018
Google Translation

Obrigada bem haja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Cantinho da Rute also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to O Cantinho da Rute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing