We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 141)
Filter reviews
1 141 results
Traveller rating
822
280
30
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
822
280
30
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charming square great location small square santa justa lift pastries welcome drink rossio train station shower head bottled water hotel restaurant walking distance would highly recommend this hotel small hotel quiet at night perfect hotel central location double bed
Filter
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 1 141 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2015

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in mid-May. The location of the hotel in the city is very good. If you can solve the up-hill, down-hill routes of Lisbon you will find yourself close to may points of interest and city transportation.

The hotel is located adjacent to a pretty and pleasant plaza, much used by neighborhood residents. It is not on the plaza but some rooms do overlook it.

The hotel is clean and well-appointed. It is not large with rooms on five floors. We chose a superior room and was assigned 404, a corner room with windows on two sides and beautiful views (castle, plaza, river). It was quite small for the rate we paid: we do not know how it compares to superior rooms on the fifth floor. The bed was big--two single beds pushed together in the European fashion--made up as one bed.

The service of the reception staff was outstanding. We were helped constantly and given lots of useful information. We were able to ask many questions while we enjoyed our complimentary glass of wine at registration.

Breakfast is extensive and of good quality. Our one suggestion is that the hot items would be tastier if they could be kept warmer.

The restaurant with the same name down the street across from the plaza is dependable and reasonable. The old cafe at the far end of the plaza from the hotel should also be considered.

We enjoyed Lisbon and would certainly stay at the Lisboa Carmo again. One word of warning (not about the hotel): Take seriously the admonition to beware of pickpockets. My pocket was picked on our tram trip to Belem.

Room tip: higher floors on the street side have the best views
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmesISU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015

This is a lovely boutique hotel. Spotlessly clean, fabulous big comfortable beds and really helpful staff. Everyone of the staff we met were welcoming and efficient. We talked to Miguel at reception mostly - he was really helpful with everything we asked. Like all the other reviews state, the location can't be bettered. It is so easy to walk to most places, easy to get to the metro/ bus/ train. Lisbon is a hidden gem of Europe.

Room tip: I had a superior double and it was perfectly adequate. A bit short of space around the bed but not a problem.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2015

In the carmo district a very old beautiful part of Lisbon. You can walk everywhere..
Taxi fares. To airport 18 to 20 e. Hotel ordered, from cruise terminal 8e,
5 minutes to on off bus. Get directions from hotel
Super places to eat. Hotel which is charming has breakfast at 14 e but we ate at carmo restaurant 2 blocks away for 6 e and it was even better. Pharmacy close by as is wine and beer stores
A ccross from hotel on the square is the headquarters of the national guard. So very safe.
Get a map from the front desk. I even had them write step by step directions down to get to on and off bus.
Only draw back Check in at 300 so first day we walked around and got lost for 6 hours
Updated bathrooms elevator etc. The technology for the shower was a challenge but only because we are Canadiens. Trick is not to splashed by very cold water before the hot comes in. After 3 nights we almost got it right

Room tip: We had the cheapest room on 3rd floor which had big windows over looking next building. However really quiet .
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingon60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2015

This is a brand new hotel in an ancient building. Our room on the 2nd was tastefully modern, comfortable, quiet and well equipped with stylish furnishings, fancy lighting, comfortable bed and quality linens and an effective AC system .
The restaurant/bar was a pleasure to return to after a day of sightseeing, and the staff both in the restaurant and front desk were exceptionally helpful, friendly and generous - all beyond our expectations. And they directed us to what must be the best Fado experience in Portugal - Casa De Fados - a great night.
For tourists this hotel is in the perfect location. It is across from an historic square with shady trees, open air cafes, street musicians. Up the cobbled streets are restaurants, bistros, bars, nightlife and a subway station. Down-hill it is a easy 10 minute walk to shopping, 2 historic town squares and the starting point for hop-on hop-off bus tours (a must-do in my opinion).

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015

A lovely hotel conveniently situated for everything. Large spotlessly clean rooms, excellent breakfasts and all the staff extremely helpful. As it was my husbands birthday while we were there we had the gift of a bottle of champagne. Just these little touches make it extra special. Plenty of excellent restaurants nearby. Can definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we returned to Lisbon.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Coco255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews