We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
22
5
4
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
5
4
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barplace to stayyogurtfront deskdoormancatalinapropertybalconycityairport
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

I was actually staying across the way from here, we popped in to have a few drinks on the roof top. The views are stunning and the whole place is beautiful.
We ended up eating on the rooftop which was reasonably priced and delicious. The service attentive and so professional you instantly relax and enjoy the beautiful views.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank natalie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verride Palácio S, Gerente at Verride Palacio Santa Catarina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

We are very happy to learn you had a great experience in our Rooftop Bar. We truly appreciated your nice remarks about the attentiveness and professionalism of our staff and it will be shared with the team! Warm regards, Paula Marques - GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

This is a palace worthy of the name I have stated many of the great hotels in the world, ans the room I had was one of the loveliest. Just look at the pictures to see how beautiful the rooms are. They're done in a special style The staff aims to pblease. I would especially commend the service and food I had in the restaurant and Joana at the front desk. The hotel is very new and still needs to work out some kinks, but I highly commend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank WheatStacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verride Palácio S, Gerente at Verride Palacio Santa Catarina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

We are very glad to learn you had an enjoyable stay in our Palácio. Thank you for your kind recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Paula Marques - GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

This is a wonderful elegant hotel,only a year old,very stylish and immaculate.
The staff are fantastic, very helpful, nothing is too much. The rooms are of a very high standard, with fabulous silk sheets! Breakfast was freshly prepared with lots of great options.
The hotel is wonderfully placed for walking around the city.
We had a wonderful stay would highly recommend and definitely return!

Stayed: April 2018
Thank joso0067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verride Palácio S, Gerente at Verride Palacio Santa Catarina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for your great remarks, specially those about our sheets made of Egyptian cotton 800-thread count. We are also happy that you enjoyed our feel-at-home breakfast experience, where everything is tailor made for you and the chefs assist you with your preferred morning treats! We are looking forward to welcome you again sometime soon. Kind regards, Paula Marques - GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

We happened upon this 5 Star hotel located high above the city of Lisbon. The movie Night train to Lisbon was filmed here. The doorman Adelson was one of the nicest kindest most friendly people we met. He welcomed us in, gave us a grand tour. The building was amazing. We walked up the 4story circular staircase gorgeous, the flower arrangements were stunning, apparently created by the manager. We went to the very top outside patio for a panoramic view of the city under a huge flag of Portugal. We sat at the roof top bar and had the best sangria ever, a bottle of prosecco and gourmet popcorn. There is a roof top infinity pool.
We were treated as important guests and will surely return to stay . Can imagine a honeymoon or anniversary celebration in this special hotel . Congratulations to management for hiring such an attentive staff. They clearly feel respected and treat your property as their own.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lyndsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verride Palácio S, Gerente at Verride Palacio Santa Catarina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad you enjoyed the tour and our Rooftop Bar. We are looking forward to welcome you again! Kind regards, Paula Marques - GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

We stayed at the Verride Palacio Santa Caterina for two nights last week. It is still very new, so some allowance has to be made for issues to pop up, but the amount of problems we encountered was like a bad comedy. From check-in, we went down two different corridors to find our rooms (we had booked two) and were then informed that the desk clerk was new, and didn't really know where he was going. When we finally found them, the rooms were quite dark and very hot. The rooms were below ground level- an aspect that was most certainly a surprise to us. We attempted to lower the air temperature, and then left for an extensive day of touring. When we finally returned at around 11 pm, the rooms were even hotter. My husband went to the desk to see what could be done- and was told someone would come within 5 minutes. 30 minutes later my husband returned to the desk to be told the heating system was on, and couldn't be switched to cool. The outside temperature was in the high 70's at that point. My husband inquired as to why no one conveyed that to us, why we had to come inquire again, and he was met with a blank look. We opened our windows and tried to sleep- though the scene outside the hotel (even on a Monday and Tuesday it is incredibly loud- I can't imagine the weekend).
The next morning it was explained that the system would be switched to cool, and all would be fine. When we returned to the room at the end of the day- the temperature in the rooms was hotter than the night before!
The hotel offered to change our rooms, just ours though, not our sons as the hotel was full. I said I would prefer if they could just fix the problem!
Fast forwarding a little bit, they found another room to move my son, and moved us in to a lovely suite filled with Champagne and pastries. As this was close to midnight and we were leaving early the next morning, it was a nice gesture- but didn't accomplish much. As it was, the room they moved my son to was cooler, but had no electricity. They moved him to ANOTHER room (close to midnight now) and the lights worked for about 10 minutes before they cut the power to his room to try and fix the original room.
Long story short, we were happy to check out and put our stay behind us. At the end of the week we spent a night at the Pousada de Lisboa, an established 5 * hotel which was perfect.
A few more notes- there are not enough outlets in the rooms for charging your phones, the light switches are difficult to figure, the counter space in the baths is inadequate, there is only one small trash can in the bath....

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verride Palácio S, Gerente at Verride Palacio Santa Catarina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for commenting in detail your experience with us. Even thought your booking was for a Standard room we upgraded you to a Royal Suite as a compensation and a courtesy. Regretably, we were already expecting this review after being explicitly threanted with such a retaliation if we didn't refund the total amount of your stay; I'm afraid we are unable to respond to such threats. Overall we are sorry to learn your experience with us didn't match your expectations. Best regards, Paula Marques - GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews