We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice restaurant”

La Buvette da Mae d'Agua
Ranked #13 of 5 175 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: US$17 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Lapa
Description: Restaurant mediterranean, french, portuguese cuisine . Inner courtyard with garden.. Vegetarian dishes on the menu. Unfortunately we are not accepting reservations at this time when we can not use our interior patio (cold and rainy). Our interior space is very small, and we only have availability for 14 seats, which creates a great difficulty in managing reservations, because we do not know how long each person stays. I'm sorry, but now we only accept people personally and upon availability. Greetings,
Reviewed 17 June 2018

excellent experience. tables, menu, service. we had to wait a bit till our booked table was prepared. All correct but nothing special.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labuvettelisboa, Gestor at La Buvette da Mae d'Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your comment.
It was a pleasure to have received you
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Was a huge disappointment with this place when we reserved a table for 4 and at the end when we went there they said they made a reservation only for 2 persons and there is no space for 4 people.... we made a long way there and we had to find a new place on the Saturday night...

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Jonas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labuvettelisboa, Proprietário at La Buvette da Mae d'Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Good Morning
Dear Customer,
I apologize for what happened.
I am the manager of the restaurant, and this situation was not immediately known to me.
We never send people away, especially when it's a mistake or error on our part. We always try to find a solution and accommodate people, and apologize to the inconvenience.
I'll check with the staff to find out who handled that.
I'd love to have them back on Monday if they're still in Lisbon. It would be a way of trying to correct such an unpleasant situation.
Again, I apologize for what has happened, because it is our way of working. Our priority is to treat people with respect.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Superlative T/A reviews are sometimes not borne out by reality. That's not the case here. We happened by one afternoon (it was already on our radar) and made a reservation for dinner -- a necessity as the place is quite small.

The waitstaff are knowledgeable and multi-lingual. They were very helpful in explaining the menu and providing wine suggestions. We ordered:

camarões salteados
salada de polvo
peito de pato
lombinho de porco com chouriço

The prawns were delicious and very tender. (We've suffered through a few meals with shrimp so chewy they were like rubber bands!) The octopus was tender and tasty as well.

The meat dishes were of high quality and creatively presented. Portions are generous.

Our waiter recommended the following wines:

Muralhas de Monção Vinho Verde
Coudel Mor Reserva Tinto 2015

The white was good (more of a tune-up wine) and red was excellent. Wine prices are very good.

We really had an excellent meal. No complaints!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarioCavaradossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labuvettelisboa, Gestor at La Buvette da Mae d'Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your comment.
It was a pleasure to have received you
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Food is good but ambient is not first class.There are a lot of similar restaurants around and this one does not make any difference .

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Mladen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labuvettelisboa, Gestor at La Buvette da Mae d'Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your comment.
It was a pleasure to have received you.
As I did not quite understand what you mean by ambient first class, because we have no pretensions to being a first class restaurant.
We are a simple restaurant, small, that makes a food also simple, but with products of first quality and freshness.
So I regret the mistake.
We have photos of the restaurant on our website so it is clear that anyone looking for a more sophisticated place.
Thanks
greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Near our accommodation, we booked a table here for dinner. Our waiter was attentive and he knew a lot about the menu and offered suggestions and recommendations. The wine was nice and we ordered an appetizer but he brought us the wrong one- just a miscommunication. He offered to take it back and bring the right one but we kept it. It was a 3-cheese quiche with salad that was really good, so no problem. We both had steaks cooked exactly as we like. Really really good. I was very happy with this meal. There is also a beautiful outdoor section that was full the whole time we were there. Reserve a table, enjoy the night.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sarahoward2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labuvettelisboa, Gestor at La Buvette da Mae d'Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Thank you very much Sara for your comment.
It was a great pleasure to have you welcomed in our restaurant.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Buvette da Mae d'Agua also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to La Buvette da Mae d'Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing