We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Coimbra(Coimbra)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Casas Da Alta(Coimbra)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Book now, pay at stay
US$73
US$69
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$94
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$112
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$105
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$101
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel D. Luis(Coimbra)
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$298
US$290
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
89
21
1
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
21
1
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely courtyarddrive past the hotelone way streetworth the effortthe riversofa bedgreat showerrooftop barkitchen areabreakfast spreadjoanina librarypastryold buildingrestaurants and shopshill overlookingquiet streetperfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We discovered a terrific surprise hidden on a quiet street. The hotel is exceptionally well designed and managed with exquisite attention to detail. We dined two nights in the restaurant and the food was artfully presented and with superb quality. Our room was cozy and also well designed and comfortable in all ways. The service was at a 4 star rating

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank Marc122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales S, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Sapientia Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for sharing these words with us and for choosing our hotel to stay in Coimbra. We will be here to give you a warm welcome at Sapientia Boutique Hotel for another future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arrival, we were met with the most gracious receptionist aided by two support staff who were delightfully pleasant and most accommodating for our every wish. The hotel is a beautiful renovation of an old facility operated by the Jesuit Order in Coimbra. The location is right in the heart of the University; the river is a 5-10 minute walk (all downhill)! Their breakfast is beautifully presented and offers a full compliment of juices, breads, sweets, eggs and everything else one could hope for at breakfast. Lunch and dinner are served throughout the day. We were fortunate to have been invited by one of the proprietors to attend a special Fado performance that performed at a party the evening of our arrival. The architectural treatment of our “junior suite” is tasteful, modern, pleasing to the eye, and actually could accommodate 4-5 individuals. The restaurant, outside deck and reception room are also replete with the most modern architectural treatments—floor to ceiling glass windows, unique lighting, pleasant colors and load of antiquarium books and other antiques. Dinners were beyond description...genuine Portugese meals and all at a reasonable price. If you are planning a trip to Coimbra, Sapientia is a must. Plus, it is easy to part at or very close to the hotel at no additional charge!

Room Tip: The service, location and value are each exceptional. I couldn’t get the buttons to reflect 5 +
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Chuckg533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales S, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Sapientia Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for sharing your words, that are so important to us! We will be here to welcome you once again when you visit this wonderful city in the future. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed only one night en route from Porto to Lisbon, but what a wonderful choice. We had two large rooms of high quality and had a light lunch on the patio the next day before leaving. Recommended! There is a very short walk to/from the university library and chapel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales S, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Sapientia Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for choosing Sapientia Boutique Hotel to stay in Coimbra and for sharing your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the nearby future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Outstanding boutique hotel in charming University town...super location/short walk from old University plaza; excellent food and service (super friendly and helpful staff); comfy beds and rooms...all in a beautifully renovated and designed (spectacular design) very old building. A gem!!!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SeattleSKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales S, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Sapientia Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for choosing Sapientia Boutique Hotel to stay in Coimbra and for sharing your stay. We truly hope to give you another warm welcome in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Many hotels purport to be boutique but this establishment difinitely is. Has a Wow factor from when you walk in. Attentive staff, amazing rooms, brilliant location in a seductive city, a place for lovers and romantics of all ages. Difficult to fault the hotel, good food, attentive Staff in a location that could not be bettered. Tucked away yet next to all the important sites. Excellent.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank micmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sales S, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Sapientia Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

You made our day with such kind words! We also want to thank you for choosing our hotel to stay. We hope to seeing you again in this wonderful city!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews