We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay at a wonderful place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Angra do Heroismo, Terceira, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

nielsbb
United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at a wonderful place ”
Reviewed 11 September 2020 for a stay in September 2020

As a family of four, we were looking for a place for one week that had a garden , had a good location, and lastly where parents could relaxe once the kids were sleeping.

We found all of this, and more, at Canaria do Mar. like the previous comments , the mix of old house and perfect Restauration, made it a special place. The view onto the ocean- peaceful. We even saw dolphins from the garden!! Angra is only few minutes away and town of Porto Judeu is small but has two very good restaurants and a beautiful lava pool.

Fernando is super friendly and helpful , before and after the trip. Thanks for having us use your house.

Date of stay: September 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2020
Thank you Niels! It was really a pleasure having your beautiful family in Canário do Mar and we are happy to know that you fully appreciated your stay. We really hope you come back again soon. Haja saúde :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarina...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A corner of Paradise”
Reviewed 11 November 2019 for a stay in October 2019

A magical place to enjoy, from the magnificent landscape to the perfect house, full of delicious and unique details. A place to return always

Date of stay: October 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2020
Thank you Catarina for your kind words! It was a pleasure to have you at Canário do Mar. Really hope you can come back again soon :) Haja saúde!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sightseer...
1 review
“Perfect house, beautiful place!”
Reviewed 19 July 2019 for a stay in April 2019

This house is amazing!! It is an old house but they have renovated it so good. The woodwork is perfect. All equipment you need is there. If you are Lucky and you have a day of cold weather you can heat the house with the stove in the kitchen. Also the kitchen is beautifull. I really haven't seen a house that is so perfect rebuilt before! Besides the house itself It is also a beautifull spot with a big garden and your own parking place. The owner is a nice guy who wants you to have a perfect time in his house; and I have to say: It was really great!

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2019
Hendrik, having you and Birgit in Canário do Mar was a pleasure and after reading your words, knowing that you really appreciated how we rebuilt and preserved the history of this place, we feel rewarded. Thank you very much and come back again soon :) Haja saúde!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danijela1...
1 review
“Just amazing!”
Reviewed 10 July 2019 for a stay in June 2019

Canario do Mar is an amazing house with beautiful surrounding. Excellent renovated with everything what you need for comfortable stay. Very clean and cosy. From the terrace it is a wonderful view to the ocean and the Ilheus das Cabras. The location is great for exploring the beautiful island Terceira.
Fernando is a super host. He is available for answering all the questions, you might have. He takes good care of the house and especially his guests. He prepared us everything for the delicious breakfast. Thank you so much!
Definitely highly recommended accommodation!!
Danijela and Janez

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2019
Thank you Danijela & Janez! It was a pleasure having you in Canário do Mar and we are happy to know that you fully appreciated your stay. We really hope you come back again soon. Haja saúde :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaM160590
1 review
“The house is great! *****”
Reviewed 6 July 2019 for a stay in May 2019

It is exactly as it is described. It is located in a nice quiet place directly! at the sea. The view from the terrace is great. We saw, heard and smelled the sea. The view of Ilhéus das Cabras is phenomenal.
The house is very clean. It is cleaned several times a week. The towels and bed linen are with it changed. And the fridge is filled up! We felt very comfortable from the beginning.
Fernando takes care of everything. He was eager to have a good time there. And we had them. Thanks a lot for this. 5 Stars.

Heike und Thomas

Date of stay: May 2019
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2019
Thank you very much Heike & Thomas! It was really a pleasure sharing Canário do Mar with you and knowing you had a good time is a great reward :) Hope to have you back one day soon. Haja saúde!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.