We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolute gem!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Angra do Heroismo, Terceira, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

swissmich...
Neuhausen am Rheinfall, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed 7 January 2019 for a stay in January 2019

A calming and peaceful retreat with beautiful vistas. Has everything you could need for a short or extended stay. We loved the house and appreciated the unique touches. And then of course there is Fernando, the super host.

Pure bliss!

Date of stay: January 2019
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2019
Michele, thank you very much for your kind words! It was great to have you and your husband in Canário do Mar for 10 days and knowing that you really enjoyed your time feels even better :) You started 2019 here but hopefully I won’t have to wait until next year to have you back, so, came back again soon :) Haja saúde!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discover3...
1 review
“Marvellous”
Reviewed 9 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We felt perfectly at ease the moment we entered the place! The house is well equipped to meet all needs for a great stay, it's like home away from home. Fernando, the owner, is a wonderful host providing the guests with any kind of information offering a good insight into life on the Azores and the location is the right place to discover the island. We enjoyed every minute there.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2018
Thank you very much! Is really nice to read your words and knowing that you appreciate all the hard work to rebuild the house and create Canário do Mar. Having you both here was a pleasure and I hope to have you back again soon. Haja saúde :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
je2sica84
Toledo, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home & Amazing Hospitality”
Reviewed 13 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

What a wonderful stay! We called Canário do Mar our home for a week and a half and could not be happier with our decision.

Perhaps what sets Canánio do Mar apart the most is the host, Fernando. He was so responsive throughout our booking process and during our stay. He checked in every few days to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast items were provided and refreshed throughout our stay. He made sure we had things our family would enjoy!

Regarding the house itself, of course, being right on the water, the view can't be beat. The patio was the perfect place to relax and listen to the waves. The remodel is absolutely beautiful and really highlights the historic aspects of the home. With all the available storage space we were really able to settle in and feel at home.

The kitchen is very well stocked with appliances, cookware, and utensils. Having a young son this was important to us. We loved the special touches in the pantry, such as homemade tea and granola!

We are so glad that we chose to stay here during our time on the island and would absolutely stay again!

Date of stay: July 2018
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2018
Thank you very much Jessica!

Having you and your family in Canário do Mar was really a pleasure and an honor.

Knowing that you felt at home, had everything you needed and that you could feel the historic aspects of the house, is like giving meaning to slogan of Canário do Mar - The essence of Azores.

Really hope to have you all back again soon.

Haja saúde :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily A
1 review
“thoughtfully inspired, beautiful ocean retreat!”
Reviewed 19 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

My stay at Fernando's home on Terceira was a wonderful retreat. The house is a dream. I'm huge on the little things and I really appreciate all of the thought, detail and care that is so evident in every part of the home. Fernando was so responsive and helpful with giving me ideas on what to do and see on the island as I was traveling alone. I arrived to the house with fresh bread, fruits, cheeses and Super Bock stocked in the fridge :)! Plus more for breakfast. There were beautiful unexpected views out of every window and I loved walking down the path to the lookout to watch the sunset. Thank you Fernando for sharing your amazing home with me and so many other people! I could truly feel how special it was to you and all of the time you put into creating this experience.

Date of stay: June 2018
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2018
Thank you very much Emily! Sharing Canário do Mar with someone that appreciates all the work done to accomplish this dream is really a great feeling. All the best and hope have you back soon! Haja saúde :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge_que...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2020 for a stay in September 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2020
Olá Jorge! Muito obrigado pelas suas palavras. Foi uma alegria ter partilhado convosco o Canário do Mar e saber que desfrutaram de uma genuína experência da ilha Terceira. Espero sinceramente que possam voltar em breve. Haja saúde!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.