We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice Little Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Lounge Area
Lounge Area
Dining Area, Lounge Area, Door to Garden
Dining Area
Original Wooden Ceilings
Kitchen
Bedroom 1 with en-suite
Bedroom 1
En-suite
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Family Bathroom
Original Fireplace
Hallway to Front Door
Lounge leading to Garden
Garden
Toys
Garden Chairs
Garden Sand Pit
Garden
Garden Chair
Garden Table
Garden Chairs
Garden Chair
Table at bottom of garden overlooking the Ocean
Table at bottom of garden
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean
Route from Airport to Cottage. 18 minutes.
Coordinates
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Juanita G
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of Local Character”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a spacious house with beautiful high ceilings and lots of character. The ocean, cliffside location is a nice one--although the town was not my favorite in Sao Miguel. We did have some small hiccups upon arrival, but our host Edgar was responsive. If you are looking for an older place with character and a local feel, this is a nice choice. Upgrading the windows/doors (flying ants made their way easily through the front window, covering it) and adding a heater/dehumidifier/AC unit would have made our stay a lot more comfortable. The damp feel and musty smell of the house made sleeping difficult for me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the architecture and character of the house
Liked least: the musty smell and the flying ants that covered the front window
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2015
We were very surprised to hear about the dampness and musty smell as this has never happened before and no other guests have ever reported it. In fact the cottage is normally dry and fresh and this is how our other guests have always found it. We performed a thorough investigation and discovered that a contractor had blocked a water drainage pipe and the result was that dampness was penetrating one of the walls. The drainage pipe is now permanently unblocked and the wall is quickly drying out.

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and we're sorry that you encountered this issue. We only wish you had told us during your stay instead of informing us later through a review. If you had just phoned us straight away then we could have investigated and done something immediately to remedy or alleviate the problem.

With regard to the flying ants. We have never experienced this act of nature before and probably never will again. We will look at the door and see what can be done to stop any possible ingress in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave N
Collingwood, Ontario
1 review
“Nice Little Cottage”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Lovely little cottage with everything to make it our home away from home. The only thing we were missing was a nice tall standing lamp so we could read at night. Otherwise, everything was as described. Thank You.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAP55
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cozy Cottage With Spectacular Views”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at this wonderful old stone cottage the last week of September.
Although the cottage has been fully renovated with a modern kitchen and bathrooms, the cottage has kept its heritage charm...
Through the back yard and beyond the stone wall opens up to spectacular views of the ocean crashing against the volcanic cliffs. Charming and peaceful way to begin your day with coffee and toast as you soak up the morning sunshine.
The cottage is on the north coast near Capela and is only a 10-15 minute drive from the airport in Ponta Delgada. We rented a car and used the cottage as our home base and drove all around the Sao Miguel to various points of interest. There are literally hundreds of walking trails throughout the island and one of the nicest along the coast was right out side our back door. Everyone we meet was friendly and helpful. We will definitely book the cottage again when we return to Sao Miguel

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: great location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2014
We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay on Sao Miguel island and at our beautiful cottage. Thank you very much for your splendid review. We would be delighted should you return some day.

John & Tiffany
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henk t
Leusden, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: picknicktafel
Liked least: ongediert
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale R
Thieu
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
Google Translation

Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
Hi Pascale

Thank you very much for your splendid review. Very much appreciated. We would be delighted if you were to stay with us in the future.

Kindest regards
John & Tiff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing