We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$415
US$392
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$362
US$287
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$434
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$342
US$271
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha(Praia da Rocha)(Great Value!)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$280
US$264
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel Made Inn(Portimao)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jupiter Algarve Hotel(Praia da Rocha)
US$245
US$222
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
AtlanticHotels - Studio 17(Portimao)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa(Praia da Rocha)
US$703
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
120
53
11
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
53
11
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolriver viewsister hotelpillow menuroad noiseusb chargingpraia da rochalovely hotelcruise linerssmall pebblesspa area isclean moderncoffee machine in the roomdifferent pillowsservice liftfew teething problemslovely vibe
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Where do I begin? I went to Portimao with a friend for 5 days in April and was blown away by the quality of the service. The rooms were spectacular, the staff polite and eager to help, and the breakfast was 5*. Only let down was the poor admin at the spa, they double booked us which caused us to have to cancel our spa treatment on the last day. Location wise, it's easy to get down to the strip and beach (15 min walk). Also, at reception, you can book day trips/activities directly from vendors and the hotel sorts everything out. Had an amazing cave tour, as well as a day trip to Lagos - both booked via reception. The weather was so-so, we had rainy days but we were relaxing in luxury which more than made up for the poor weather. Jupiter - I salute you!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sommie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have just returned from a week long stay in this hotel and at first sight was very impressed with the customer service and cleanliness of the entire hotel/rooms. We stayed in a Standard Double to the rear of the building on the second floor and could not fault this at all, the room was spotlessly clean on arrival and the view from the balcony looked on to the below terrace of the outdoor eating area (was very quiet at night).

The pool /rooftop area could not be faulted. Always plenty of free sun loungers available and had a very quiet and relaxing atmosphere. We also used the pool area in the spa (there was a discounted price to use this for 90mins) this was a wonderful experience and the staff were extremely polite and helpful. One thing to note is that drinking water is €4 for a large bottle at the bar and we found a small supermarket 3 mins walk away where we bought the same water for 75c a bottle for drinking during the day by the pool.

However with regards to the rooftop bar area, this is were we felt the hotel let itself down greatly. We ate lunch here everyday as the food was very nice and very reasonably priced however we found that the waiting staff were very unhelpful and almost rude at times, some did not attend to tables (not just ourselves) of people waiting to be served for over 20 mins, at one point my partner had to retrieve menus and a Waitress to take our order as they were occupied cleaning empty tables while the outdoor area was full of unattended customers. However, that being said, we did find Antonio and Syclla extremely friendly and helpful.

In regards to breakfast in the morning we could not fault this, there was a huge selection of hot food and fresh fruits and breads, the pancakes were also amazing! We cannot comment on evening meals as we did not eat in the hotel during our stay as we ventured to Praia Da Rocha each evening. A taxi from the Hotel was only €4 each way and dropped you right in the centre of the town were there is a strip with multiple restaurants and bars which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Overall, our experience at this Hotel was very good, we would definitely return here again.(hoping the above issues regarding the rooftop bar may be resolved as this was quite a disappointment to a wonderful Hotel and stay).

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Chloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter H, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Jupiter Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Chloe G,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a detailed review after your week long stay with us. We are really thrilled to hear how impressed you were with the customer service and cleanliness of the entire hotel/rooms.Thank you for sharing this positive feedback with the TripAdvisor community.
Please be ensured, we took good note of your feedback and will review the points you mentioned which can improve our services particularly related to the service at the rooftop bar. We deeply regret having let you down with this less positive experience and thank you for your honest feedback.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and show you how much we have improved our services by providing you with a memorable and completely positive experience.

Our very best regards,
Elsa Azevedo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay. New, clean modern hotel. We had a standard room (I think this worked out better because others having complained about the river view rooms being more noisy just to being next to a main road). The room was cleaned to a high standard every day. The bed was very comfortable, great powerful shower. Was particularly impressed that you can choose your pillow (there is a pillow menu in the services book) with no extra cost. We requested a change of pillows as found the standard ones there not very comfortable. Large TV with good selection of English channels. Only negative about room is that some slippers would be nice. Pool area was lovely - yes others have moaned about the seagulls. I completely agree the seagulls are annoying but what can the hotel do about it?! Agree the pebbles around the sun beds are a little unnecessary and uncomfortable on your feet so may be best getting rid of these.
In terms of location - come out the hotel and walk left into Portimão. We loved it here - full of locals, not too touristy and some lovely restaurants. Make sure you explore it properly, not just the marina! If you come out the hotel and turn right there is Praia de Roche- too touristy and loud for us.
We found the walk ok - id say it’s about 15-20 min walk, some may struggle with this. If you aren’t prepared to walk or pay for taxis this is not the hotel for you.
Gym was great - cardio machines were basic and not the best but good selection of weights, open 24hrs.
Breakfast - amazing. Very good selection. We didn’t eat dinner or lunch at the hotel. We had some drinks by the pool and we didn’t find it to be too expensive (yes it’s much cheaper outside of the hotel but as we are from London still didn’t find it to be anywhere close to London prices)
Supermarket (pingo doce) was 10-15 min walk and they have a great cafe in there which is cheap. We bought water and alcohol from here and kept it in the mini fridge in the room.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay here. All staff were helpful and friendly. I would recommend taking a water taxi from the tivoli marina to ferragudo (nice fishing village). Also recommend visiting nosoloagua beach club.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank RSS94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had booked to stay at this hotel from 19 - 26 June 2018. Unfortunately, I had to cancel my trip as my grandmother was seriously ill, and sadly passed away one day after we were due to fly.

I had contacted both the hotel directly and Booking.com (as this was where I had booked the hotel through), and was asked by the hotel to contact booking.com and vice versa. Eventually Booking.com submitted a request to the hotel to either (a) change dates of the trip (which was our preference) or (b) cancel the booking and kindly request the hotel to waive the cancellation fee given the circumstances.

On receiving this request, the hotel simply sent an email to me (rather than calling as I had done with them) to advise that they were not willing to waive the cancellation fee. I am not disputing that hotels must charge cancellation fees in order to protect their business; however, there are certain circumstances in which hotels should be willing to waive such a fee and I believe this to be one of them.

The handling of the whole situation by the hotel was extremely poor - they did not even attempt to enter into discussions to change the dates of our stay and simply proceeded to deduct the cancellation fee from my account.

Whilst this review is not a reflection of the facilities at the hotel itself, which may well be very nice, it is certainly a reflection on their customer service and the extremely disappointing manner in which they handled a very sensitive situation.

I will certainly never book to stay at this hotel again, and will be taking this matter further by submitting an official complaint.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter H, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Jupiter Marina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Emma M.
First of all, please accept our deepest condolences on the death of your grandmother. We are deeply sorry for the situation reported and that you felt disappointed by the way it was dealt. We aim to provide a high-quality service to all our customers at all times and we truly apologize if, at any moment, we failed to achieve this with you.

After analyzing the situation with our bookings department, we confirm that following your phone call, we have given you the opportunity to make a new reservation for a different date, but it wasn’t possible for you, at that moment, to confirm new dates for your stay. As we have received your reservation through the online partner Booking.com, all terms and conditions must be respected, as stated in the booking confirmation:
• The customer can cancel free of charge up to 14 days before arrival.
• The client must pay the price of the first night if cancel within less than 14 days of the date of arrival.

We hereby inform that it is the hotel policy to confirm any information to customers by e-mail and this is the main reason all the information exchanged was via email rather than by phone.
Plase do not hesitate to contact us directly, should you require any further information regarding this issue.

We truly hope you reconsider rebooking to visit us sometime soon as we would be very pleased to have you here at Jupiter Marina Hotel Couples & Spa.

Our kindest regards,
Elsa Azevedo


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A beautiful hotel. Staff, without exception, all extremely polite, courteous and helpful. Food was wonderful with lots of fresh fruit available each day at breakfast. Salads were amazing! Couldn’t fault anything. I would definitely have no reservations in recommending this hotel. There are regular hotel transfers in to the beach at Praia de Rocha and we walked several times in to Portimão. We used the spa at the hotel and again, the Staff were very personable and helpful.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews