We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
116
180
103
34
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
180
103
34
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas bar lovely corner room nice square bottling plant decoration style restaurant staff main building complex wedding suitcases lagos
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Macdonald Monchique and were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It's up in the mountains - a new area for us - and we were given a fabulous, self contained suite. It was spacious, fully equipped and very clean. The staff were very friendly and the facilities were really good, including a small but fully equipped gym. The fine dining restaurant wasn't open but this just gave us the opportunity to explore the region and check out some very good local restaurants. Would definitely return.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Termal M, Gerente de relações públicas at Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thank you for your review. Your opinion is very important to us!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Friendly staff, room cleaned everyday, and a good breakfast, alternating the hot dishes every other day.
Besides that, i only have negatives things to stay, not a good value for your money, we stayed in the WORST room possible, the first one, 3204. next to the hotel toilets, and in front of the laundry/cleaning and next to the lifts as well, we didn't had a peaceful stay, every minute there was noise, sometimes from the toilets, sometimes from the reception staff laughing at 7 am or talking really loud, or the cleaning ladies having the conversation of their lifes. For that, i cant give more than 2 stars, because we didn't enjoy, and it was impossible to relax. The room it self, was old, i didn't mind being outdated because i think it gives it character to the place, but overall not comfortable, the beds squealed every move you made it would be impossible not to wake up, the room we stayed in the hotel doesn't match the pictures in the website. Maybe if we were given a better room, my review would be different, i see all of these good reviews, and i was very disappointing to see that the hotel didn't meet our expectations. Cant recommend.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mafaldapureza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Termal M, Gerente de relações públicas at Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

We're sorry to hear that the service provided was not to your liking. We will work hard to rectify the situation. Thanks for your comment.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Lovely location in a small valley in the Monchique hills, it's not really a hotel but more a collection of buildings around a courtyard and pool. Unfortunately, post check-in you are left to drag your cases down steep cobbbled streets to reach the building you're in, there are no porters. The rooms we stayed in (apartment for four) was spartan and very cheaply decorated. The pool itself is nice but you have to treck through all sorts of path behind grotty buildings to try and get a towel, and most disappointingly the pool is not fed from the thermal springs. If you want to experience this then you pay extra and have treatments in a separate building (my wife did go for some treatments and she said they were nice). Dinner is not included in the price, but the restaurant serves very average food with poor service. This looks like a luxury destination from the website, but is very much a cheap self-service style accommodation. The only saving grace was the wonderful kids club that kept our children occupied all evening, they loved it.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeyt101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Termal M, Gerente de relações públicas at Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thanks for the stay. Your opinion is very important to us!

Best regards


Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We booked not knowing how everything would be laid out so we were interested to see how that turned out. Its very hilly, a lot of stairs to get to the pool area. You get put randomly in a hotel that you have no pick of, ours ended up being in a basement with a view of a moldy wall, so not great! The food was ok, i wouldn't recommend eating in the resort as you pay for early anything, we got the pasta dish from vegetarian menu and without kidding there was about 15 pieces of penne in the dish, and the service was horrendous :( On the up though, the pool was really nice, it was never that busy and the views and area the resort is in is relaxing and beautiful. If you like to be by a pool and have nice views then visit. But as for food and rooms, go elsewhere.

Room tip: Pool bar, nice views
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Termal M, Gerente de relações públicas at Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thanks for the stay. Your opinion is very important to us!

Best regards,

Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

What an amazing place in the middle of nowhere but you can get taxi or hire a car to explore
Restaurant 1692 food good but service especially breakfast extremely slow at times kept asking for turines to be filled up as staff didn't check no scrambled egg no tomatoes but when asked they did sort it
Worth a visit to Portamao and MONCHIQUE itself
Definitely would return

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Termal M, Gerente de relações públicas at Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for the preference. Your opinion is very important to us. Looking forward to another visit.

Best regards

Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews