We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Montaza

Stunning views from the terraces, garden and pool - all offering total privacy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning views from the terraces, garden and pool - all offering total privacy
View to house from pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Stunning views from the terraces, garden and pool - all offering total privacy
View to house from pool
Large 12 x 5 m pool with plenty of sunbeds (pads not shown)
Sea and town views abound
Chef's family kitchen, superbly equipped - even down to the dedicated wine fridge
Indoor dining
Comfortable loung - ideal for summer lounging or winter relaxing
Master bedroom with private terrace, champagne fridge and ensuite , all with fabulous sea views
Second double bedroom
Twin with private terrace
Twin with private terrace
Master ensuite offering the most amazing views over lagos and the sea
Bathing for two!
One of the many sitting/relaxing areas
Private road up to the villa
Gardens
The local marina
Local beach (Praia Dona Ana)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lagos, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Plumptiou...
Sutton Coldfield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed 6 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at Casa Montaza and certainly won't be our last.
Spectacular views from any of the decks/private patio's, great sized pool with plenty of solid sun loungers.
Inside is spacious, well thought out with lots of little extras to make your stay perfect.
Fantastic kitchen & beautiful lounge/living area.
My husband and I took two of our 'grown up' children and their partners and everyone loved the villa, its location and all it has to offer. We are all used to a high standard of accomodation and Casa Montaza always hits the mark.
It is a lovely 10 minute stroll to the Marina and another 5 mins into the heart of Lagos.
The owner Larry, Lisa and Caroline have always been fantastic and certainly know how to treat clients staying at the villa....a real personal touch and very reassuring.
We would never entertain going anywhere else and will most definitely be back with our family again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euskirchen, Germany
Reviewed 10 December 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very personal service (booking, house maid, owner); clean and tidy; you feel as at home from the first moment
Liked least: really nothing to complain
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kent England
Reviewed 4 December 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, view and the pool.
Liked least: The two days of rain.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very spacious!
Liked least: Rats at the pool!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Dec 2012
I was very sad to hear from this guest that she did not enjoy her stay, as I take total satisfaction of guests at this and my other villas – as evidenced by the other reviews for here and elsewhere – as my absolutely priority.

I was also very surprised that the first I was made aware of her disappointment was sometime after leaving the villa when the guest wrote to me asking for a partial refund, especially as her brother had met the owner subsequently in Lagos and confirmed that they had had a lovely stay at the villa.

Notwithstanding this, it is important to address the issues raised (as I did to a very detailed extent in a large number of emails with the guest concerned).

First, there seems to be a misunderstanding about the electrics . The power did indeed go off in one room (unfortunately sometimes these things happen, which can be a one off problem or more often relates to wrong voltage equipment such as curling tongs being plugged in). The guest contacted the owner, and he was at the villa within 15 minutes to establish the problem. He was in the process of contacting the electrician when the guests told him not to bother as they would manage without. Not wishing to intrude any further on to the guests’ privacy, the owner did as requested and left the repair until the day of departure (which was a five minute job by the electrician).

Re the lights not working, a thorough pre rental check of all items is done before every stay and light bulbs are part of this process as is the check of all patio furniture. In this instance, despite having guests leave in the morning, I did facilitate this guest’s request for an early check in as there were young children in the party. This put a high degree of pressure on the staff (it is a very large villa to get properly clean) and the normal pre rental check was truncated in order that the guest and her family could start their holiday as quickly as possible.

Despite this, if the guest had raised the issue of the light bulbs during her stay this could have been addressed immediately. Equally, the pre rental check did not pick up the broken sunbed and on this occasion, the guest did contact the owner who offered to have it repaired/replaced immediately but the guest told him not to bother as there were plenty of other sunbeds to use. The patio furniture is actually of a very high quality (pure teak and properly maintained each year) so I am not quite sure the basis for the comment about its quality

In terms of the guests’ point about rats, I only wish if this had been the case that the guest had contacted either the owner, or myself or indeed my colleague when these were allegedly seen. Chipmunks abound in the area, as do Portuguese fruit rats which live in palm trees (no relation I would add to ‘dirty’ rats). The villa is set in acres of land (which is how it is able to provide guests with total privacy) and therefore quite possible that either of these did make a visit. However, there has never been a reporting of same before or after this guest’s stay, and I truly regret that the guest did not contact one of the numbers she had for her stay or take photos (so we could at least identify what type of ‘visitor’ purportedly turned up) on her phone. If there was a problem, then of course one would wish to be aware of it /take the necessary action but as there have been no sightings of same before or after this guest’s stay (or during the gardeners’/ pool people’s twice a week visits) there has been limited activity able to be done (and I certainly wouldn’t put rat poison down without evidence of a problem for obvious reasons)

Finally, in relation to the guests’ point about air conditioning and bathrooms.

First, the villa has never been advertised with air conditioning – the villa is constructed in a manner which does not require air conditioning (ie the house is cool in the summer and catches the ocean breezes that occur in the afternoon/evening). However, as a guest convenience, there are two sets of fans in every room – ceiling fans which fit with the authentic design/ambience of the villa and modern oscillating fans. After I received the guests’ comments on these fans I did arrange a visit to the villa before the next guests to check there wasn’t any undue mechanical problem causing the noise and do have to say that the fans were working as they should and with minimal noise (far less than the air conditioning units I have running as I write this whilst I am on holiday in Thailand).

With regards to her point about bathrooms, the guest was a very ‘detailed’ booker and out of the 38 emails I received from her before her stay, at no point did she ask questions/mention the importance of bathroom layout (or air conditioning for that matter) in relation to this villa. If she had raised questions on either of these then they would have been answered as fully as all her other questions/special requests etc were.

Finally, in terms of the comment about TLC and maintenance work required at the villa. The villa is very large, set in extensive grounds and regularly maintained. Indeed, before the main season of 2012 it was completely repainted throughout and additional ‘comfort’ touches added. The gardens are attended to twice a week and the pool likewise so I am not sure of the basis for this comment. A peek at the other trip advisor reviews for this villa will confirm that

At the end of the day, and despite my detailed responses to the guest’s emails when she did contact me with her issues, I am extremely sad that the guest herself (albeit that her family appeared to) did not enjoy her stay. I was equally disappointed that the majority of issues raised were only done so after the stay, and were not brought to the attention of the owner, myself or my colleague during the stay so they could have been addressed without delay.

I am sure that the guest was also disappointed that having contacted me 11 days after her return requesting a refund, this was denied for the reasons outlined in this review and my many emails to her on the subject.

Despite this, I am still sad that after five years of renting this villa, there is now one unhappy guest as we all put so much effort into making guests’ holidays as perfect as they can be. This is evidenced from the Trip Advisor feedback for this and my other villas. Equally, given that the TripAdvisor placing is relatively recent, guest feedback prior to this is available to anyone who requests it. Indeed, in 2013 I have guests who are coming back for the fifth year in a row, which I think is testament to the position, quality and facilities of the villa and the service that guests receive from the owner and myself during their stays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool, big enough to actually swim in, the open log fire, the comfy sofas, lovely gardens
Liked least: black sheets and towels
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing