We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 036)
Filter reviews
1 036 results
Traveller rating
432
385
146
38
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
385
146
38
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moonlight restaurant star hotel lobby bar gin bar nature reserve beautiful hotel adult pools wet room buffet restaurant kids club golf resort old town small train kids pool minute walk from the hotel walk in shower breakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 1 036 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Excellent hotel and would thoroughly recommend. Definitely a 5 star feel about it as excellent food and service. Spa is of a high standard- we had two treatments which gave us free access to the spa. Some reviewers are unhappy paying the 10 euros to use it but we felt it made it more exclusive and had the whole spa to ourselves on 3 occasions.
The hotel is a bit remote and you need to hire a car or spend quite a lot on taxis which aren't cheap (25 euros to Albufeira which is only 10 minutes away) The decor is tasteful but a little dark and sombre but that's probably the only negative.
Very quiet during schools half term(last week of October) as low season and hotel almost empty- this did mean we got fantastic service and were really looked after by staff.
Thoroughly recommend the tuk tuk trip and local riding stables and a visit to Lagos, Alvor and Tavira.
All in all a fantastic holiday staying at a superb 5 star hotel.

Date of stay: October 2015
Thank JoanneC543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Gerente de relações públicas at Salgados Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2015

Dear Ms. Joanne

Thank you so much for your lovely words, we really appreciated that and thank you so much for choosing Salgados Palace, your presence was very important.

The satisfaction of our guests is our priority and reading this comments gives us the necessary motivation to keep up the hard work, always looking for one single objective: great service and high quality to our guests.

Looking forward in having the opportunity of welcoming you once again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Maria Maçães

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Transfer from airport is only 35 minutes. The Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. We went half board-the breakfast had a excellent range of food. Dinner was also very good and a lot of options. I went with my wife and 2 year old son. They both had a great time relaxing by the pool and visiting the lovely beach nearby. The only downside was being 20 minutes away from town centre which costs 15-20 euros there and back.
The hotel has a kids club who catered for my son so well-he hasnt stopped talking about it since we got back.

Room tip: 4th or 5th floor sea view room.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Gerente de relações públicas at Salgados Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2015

Dear Mr. Tony C.,

Thank you very much for share with us your opinion and your experience at Salgados Palace.

We were very pleased with your presence and also very happy to realize that you have enjoyed our services.
What is most important for us is the satisfaction of our guests and we hope to welcome you and provide you an amazing stay once again.

Kind regards,
Maria Maçães

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Again we booked on the Travelzoo deal and wasn't disappointed with the resort or the Riu chain and would use this company again. Although you feel like you have been put in the middle of nowhere when you land and the area around the hotel is built up since the photos were taken so theres no sea view.

When booking I was specific about the room as my sister is disabled and everything I asked for was met. The room was massive and we had a room each which was a big bonus and the hugest balcony you'll ever have. We did struggle to get about because of the walking but weather permitting we chilled out and read which is what we wanted out of this.

The pool is in dark tile which isn't to my sisters taste either but I liked it, although it is difficult to see what you are swimming in!

the food overall was good most days and with two restaurants to choose from you go have a look at both to see what you fancy! As my sister is disabled and its self service, and you are not allowed a bottle of wine on the table, just glasses I was bouncing up and down like a jack rabbit most evenings which wasn't all that relaxing for me.

I think this hotel is missing a trick not offering room service and charging myself, I would have happily paid for a meal to be put in front of me in the room, or a restaurant for that! Staff most days looked bored to tears so more service could be offered to guests in and around the restaurant and pool area.

Staff were lovely in restaurants and female staff on reception. We asked one gentleman to check our flights who told us 'he was busy looking after 400 guests' to look and go online! As we didn't have online or mobile this was a bit tricky. This is one fly in the ointment though and if you have booked here and want a nice base or relaxing few days you wont be sorry you booked.

Room tip: As near the facilities as possible and over a pool but on a sunny side.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathM475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Gerente de relações públicas at Salgados Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2015

Dear Cath,

Thank you for your lovely words.

I believe you were accommodate at Salgados Palm Village and not Salgados Palace. Nevertheless our management team is in charge of both hotels and in their behalf we would like to thank you once again for selecting NAU hotels for your vacations.

Unfortunately our 4start property does not have Room Service available due to the fact that the all-inclusive basis opening schedule being from 7:30 am until mid-night. Notwithstanding your comments will be passed on to our management team.

We truly regret reading your last comment and the disappointment with our services; even more the one about the staff, which normally is our biggest complement.
Certainly will take this opportunity to review some of the procedures in place in order to improve the level of service and satisfaction of our customers.

Hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you once again at Salgados Palm Village.

Kind regards,
Maria Maçães

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

My husband and I have just returned from a week's 'Travel Zoo' deal at this hotel in the Algarve. We've never experienced Portugal before, but were impressed by the friendliness of the locals and the pleasant, coastal scenery that we enjoyed on various excursions.

The hotel served a beautifully cooked array of buffet dishes, which were nicely presented for our half board arrangement. The staff were all very amiable and courteous but we were rather surprised about how austere and sombre the interior colours were - not at all conducive to making you feel in 'holiday mood'!! It was very much styled on American standards, with lighting that switched on as you progressed down corridors, but the overall colours used were dull browns and greens; normally colours I like, but not in these melancholy shades. Similarly the 3 pools have dark green tiles - not very enticing for even the keenest of swimmers, with the water also being unheated.

When we arrived I asked if there was any chance of an upgrade as we were there to coincide with our Pearl wedding anniversary. We were politely told that as no management was available, no changes could be made. With hindsight I wished I'd asked for a room with the late afternoon sun, as we ended up in a room overlooking a palm tree-d area with the morning rays.
But I must say that the room was very spacious and nicely designed ( just a shame about the dismal colours!)

The Nature Reserve and beach, just a flat 10 minute walk away, were both fantastic - along with the 'Os Salgados' bar on the beach, for several liquid lunches!!

We also went on three of the 'Follow Me' tours (arranged through the hotel) ; the first being to Lagos, Sagres and Cape st.Vincent......excellent value for showing the various places of interest at 18 euros each. It was a great shame we didn't get chance to get out of the coach and explore Sagres, a lovely fishing town, but time didn't permit.
The second trip we did was to Silves, the original capital of Portugal. This city didn't hold much allure for us - it had the remnants of a castle but not a lot else that we discovered. The tour then continued to Monchique; the highest point at the tail end of Europe, with it's radio masts. The views were wonderful and far reaching, if a little hazy on this particular day.
The third trip we went on to Loule, an inland market town was a trip not to be missed for any keen market goers.......it had 3 market areas!! The town itself was pleasant to walk around and was well worth the 14 euro pp charge to get there.

Lastly, one thing I would say is to be aware that most bars etc in the touristy areas are starting to close down in the 2nd or so week of October. Not that is was a problem for us,as we found some lovely little wine shops on our travels!!

Room tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pools
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DorsetJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Gerente de relações públicas at Salgados Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2015

Dear Dorset Jayne,

I would like to personally thank you for sharing your experience at Salgados Palace.

Our main goal is to achieve our guest excitations as well as providing them with an excellent customer service and high quality standards.
We were very pleased with your presence and also very happy to realize that you have enjoyed our services.
Please note that your comments will be passed on to our manageres in order to improve our faults.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Maria Maçães

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

I emailed the hotel group before arrival to enquire about the a la carte restaurant as we were celebrating a birthday during our stay, but regrettably they never replied. Not a good start. I also emailed on our return but again no reply to date.
Although comfortable and clean the hotel is a little soulless. Vast reception area. Everything is a shade of brown and would benefit from an injection of colour.
Rooms are a good size. Bed comfortable although the mattress protector was not and would be improved by adding a mattress topper. Sheet kept slipping due to the mattress cover. Tea making facility in the room but not generous with tea bags, milk etc.
We had several issues at the hotel. Firstly after being unable to sleep due to a continuous drone we called reception who changed our room. It seems that the noise is due to air conditioning plant. Then water was not draining properly from the shower. Then television sound was not working. Then there was a bad drain smell in the WC. Then the television kept 'blinking'. Whilst one would not expect so many issues in a 'five star' hotel the staff did respond well and did their best to rectify the faults, although failed in actually quietening the droning noise nor fixing the television blinking.
We were half board with buffet breakfast and buffet dinner. All adequate if not very exciting. One definite plus though was the nespresso coffee machine.
We did not dine in the a la carte restaurant in the end, as on the evenings we were in the adjacent bar there was hardly any people there and so very little atmosphere.
We used the spa once. NB entry is e10 a day each but swim hat is compulsory and if you do not have one you will need to buy one at an extra cost.
Also note that you need a taxi to and from town at a cost of between e10 to e16 each way.

Room tip: We had a resort view room, but pool / golf view would probably have been better.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Gerente de relações públicas at Salgados Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your review with us.

After carefully analyzing your feedback we would truly like to apologize for the lack of personal service and customer care that we drive to give all our guests.
Your comments will be passed on to our team of managers in order to understand and improve our faults.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Maria Maçães

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews