We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice house, great location, excellent weather!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Windmill Hill

Windmill and pool at Windmill Hill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Windmill and pool at Windmill Hill
Lounge with doors opening onto groundfloor terrace overlooking pool Lounge with stairs up to bathroom, bedroom and both upstairs balaconies
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Windmill and pool at Windmill Hill
Lounge with doors opening onto groundfloor terrace overlooking pool
Lounge with stairs up to bathroom, bedroom and both upstairs balaconies
Lounge
New kitchen from dining area
New kitchen
Dining area
Front south facing balcony with sea view
Top balcony off main bedroom
Double bedroom
Bedroom and top balcony (which overlooks landscaped gardens, pool and windmill
Groundfloor terrace and balcony off bedroom.
Groundfloor terrace.
Bathroom.
Bathroom.
On-site cafe.
Windmill and cafe.
On-site tennis court.
Albufeira Maina from top of hill.
View over Albufeira.
Old Town Beach, Albufeira
View over Albufeira from swimming pool area.
Old Town Beach, Albufeira
Old Town Square, Albufeira.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Albufeira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
John R
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice house, great location, excellent weather!”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed in this apartment/townhouse for just over three weeks during March. Overall, we were very pleased, although being just about the only residents did make us feel like we had our very own resort and swimming pool! Windmill Hill is an excellent location just above the Old Town and the views from the front, south-facing, terrace are wonderful. It was nice to have our breakfast looking out on to the beach and the Atlantic Ocean.

We did not get to use the two north-facing patios/terraces because, whilst the weather was generally excellent (high 70s most days) it was never so blisteringly hot that you would need the shade. I guess if you visit in the high season you might appreciate the shade....

The kitchen was rather dated but I understand, from the owners, that it is now being completely replaced. Having said that, it is so cheap to eat out in Albufeira, why bother cooking? The bathroom/shower room was excellent, having recently been updated.

The property was professionally cleaned by a lady called Louise on each of the Sundays we were staying. There is free wifi but it only worked, on my ipad, on one side of the house, for some reason?

One word of warning - Windmill Hill is, as the name suggests, at the top of quite a steep hill. Anyone with motability issues might find it a bit of a struggle. Got me a lot fitter, though!

We will definitely return to the house at some point in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The south-facing sun terrace
Liked least: The kitchen(see above)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean B
Girvan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't go here if you like a clean apartment”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

very disappointed with the apartment.There was coffee or cola spilt down the wall in the bedroom,light switches dirty,no toilet paper provided (guest after us would have had toilet paper as we bought it) 2 bath and 2 hand towels not enough for a week,front sun terrace is patio furniture graveyard,downstairs toilet door has no handle on it, chip left on kitchen table ,tablecloth got greasy marks on it,boat ornament in bathroom cobwebbed to the windowsill and various other places in apartment had cobwebs (we had to clean them up as well as the light switches) what finished me off was the cockroach that ran up my back while in bed you do get this in hot country's and is not the owners fault but I do not like cockroaches or spiders so had to book in to a hotel for 3 nights.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Review on our apartment. We were obviously upset to hear from you, on your return to England, that you had not had a happy stay at our Windmill Hill Apartment, and we sent you a goodwill refund of £100.00 (posted on 10.07.14). We thanked you for bringing the issues to our attention, and explained that, according to our keyholder, it would appear that at a large part of the problem was caused due to your insistence in accessing the apartment significantly earlier than the stated time of 3pm - this arrival time is so that the cleaners have sufficient time to clean to our expected standards between guests. Although the arrival and departure times are to be found in our booking contract, we have since incorporated these into our email correspondence as well. We passed on your comments to our keyholder, and their response to us was:

‘Due to the timings of arrival and departure the cleaners were there waiting at 11am to get in when your guests arrived at the same time. As mentioned before they were unhappy about not being able to get in straight away and told the cleaners that they would leave their luggage and be back in 30 minutes and they wanted them gone by then. The cleaners told them that would not be possible, the guests then told them they had 45 minutes max.

Due to this there would have been certain things overlooked/missed from the clean as they were not going to argue with the guests. However they are insistent that many of the items detailed below are completely untrue. They specifically remember using the shower to hose down the cobwebs first over that ornament in the window over the bath, and they also stated that since they have been cleaning the apartment they have never seen a cockroach, one of them is petrified of them and would not even go in the apartment to clean it if they saw any.

If cockroaches and ants were in the apartment midway through their stay it would be more likely they were attracted to food etc. that the guests had, and they certainly were not there when the cleaners went in to clean after them.

I am sorry to say I believe that this complaint is completely over the top and unjustified - there are no grounds for complaint about the clean given their demands on the day. At no time did they ever contact David during their stay to raise any of their issues, and I find it extremely hard to believe that anybody would pay out of their own pocket to go to alternative accommodation without first contacting the Management/Key holder or Owner.’

We had not received any negative comments from guests who stayed before you, and we sent you the comments we received from the guests who stayed immediately after you, who have subsequently also provided a Review:

'Dear Rob Got back yesterday from windmill hill after a fantastic two weeks. Just wanted to let you know the apartment was just perfect, it had everything we needed. We just loved the location of your apartment having stayed in two other ones in windmill hill. It was looking out on pool and grass area with two balconies and patio just lovely. We would be interested in staying in your apartment again next summer so we will be in touch early in the new year. Thank you for everything, Orla’
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuam, Ireland
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
n.ireland
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kim964
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Firstly watch out for the apartment description it says the bedroom has a double AND single bed, it doesn't! We booked for a girlie short break and were very pleased with the complex and area, excellent location to see the best of Albufeira area.
However the apartment is a little tired, it needs TLC. Many lights don't work, cupboards are broken, handles missing, feels like it needs a deep clean. Terrible drains smell almost every day, seemed to come from the downstairs toilet which we didn't use as it is broken and has a door that doesn't close from the inside! (We initially thought it was a cupboard!)
We intended to cook every night, but the BBQ was dirty with nothing to clean it with and the kitchen didn't feel clean enough to use so we ended up spending more than we hoped as we ate out every day.
Also you need to ask for spare bedding if you are using the sofa beds, and don't forget to ask for pillows!! None of this is available to you it's all locked away.
Basically it's a great location, lovely complex, nice apartment that just needs some attention.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our apartment. Before addressing your points, I would just like to clarify that the apartment description does not say that the bedroom has a double and a single bed, and never has - I think that you might have confused it with our other apartment at Parque da Corcovada.
Regarding the bedding for the sofa beds, I am afraid that our key holder was not expecting anyone to be using the sofa beds; on your booking form it said that there were two people, and I assumed that the apartment was being booked for a couple, and that therefore only the double bed in the bedroom would be needed. I shall amend the booking form to ask which beds guests will require in future - this would also have highlighted the fact that there is no single bed.
I am disappointed that the apartment was not as clean as you would have liked, and will raise this with our cleaner. A previous guest had mentioned that the patio and balcony floors had been dirty when they arrived, and I organised for the cleaners to go back and clean these, but we have not had any guest mention that the inside of the apartment was dirty before.
Finally, regarding the broken handles, toilet etc, it sounds as if the apartment has unfortunately had some rough treatment during the season, as this was not the case at the start of the season. The previous guests mentioned the loose handles, but you are the first to mention that the downstairs toilet was broken. I do not know why such issues had not been addressed by our cleaners and key holder, as I had asked them to organise a workman to sort out the handles etc, but again will pass your comments on and get the work done (and to ensure that there is a handle on the inside of the downstairs toilet – not an issue that anyone else has mentioned (perhaps they all used the toilet in the bathroom(?).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing