We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect food, wonderful view, excellent service”

The Market Restaurant
Reserve with
The Market Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 891 Restaurants in Albufeira
Price range: US$13 - US$47
Description: The best of the Market,everyday,with art,commitment and generosity! Restaurant well focused on the best the products have to offer. With a concept of sharing,in a young and relaxed environment. Allowing for an experience of the best recepies with ethnic influences, from North to South of the Country. Supported by an original and distinctive cocktail list and an exclusive wine cellar, the menus tell stories in a playful, interative and challenging way, modernizing the traditional. This is 'The Market' way!
Restaurant details
Description: The best of the Market,everyday,with art,commitment and generosity! Restaurant well focused on the best the products have to offer. With a concept of sharing,in a young and relaxed environment. Allowing for an experience of the best recepies with ethnic influences, from North to South of the Country. Supported by an original and distinctive cocktail list and an exclusive wine cellar, the menus tell stories in a playful, interative and challenging way, modernizing the traditional. This is 'The Market' way!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Can’t recommend this place enough - gorgeous view, the service was honestly the best service we’ve ever had (all very friendly and excellent) and the food was divine. The suckling pig croquettes we’re delicious, not to mention the fantastic bread basket with their homemade butter. As a main, I had the tuna loin with risotto and grilled asparagus - both the tuna and risotto were cooked to perfection. I have never had them so perfect before! My partner had the pork ribs and absolutely loved it. Great value for money - don’t miss this! Thanks for the wonderful experience! We will be back, our new favourite place!

Thank amknl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We dined at the market on our final night in Albufeira and we were sorry we hadn’t tried it sooner! Attention to detail was second to none, starter, mains and desserts were delicious! We were served by Bruno who was very knowledgeable and attentive! We would definitely recommend this restaurant if you like good fresh food and cocktails!

Thank Sile D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful place, staff couldn’t have been any more helpful if they’d tried! My friends and family had been secretly liaising with the owner for my surprise night here and they didn’t disappoint! I was made to feel so special! The service was excellent as was the food, we could not fault it! They sang happy birthday to me and even provided us the toast so cheers to them and thank you!

Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jorgemateus, Proprietário at The Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Julie

It is with great pleasure that we receive your comments, we work every day to offer to our guests what we do best. We hope to see you soon for a new expirience.

Best Regards

Jorge Mateus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was recommended this restaurant and wasn’t disappointed the food was out of this world and Jorge the owner was very helpful. The staff were all friendly, I would definitely recommend this restaurant

Thank Carlaweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jorgemateus, Proprietário at The Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Carla

It is with great pleasure that we receive your comments, we work every day to offer to our guests what we do best. We hope to see you soon for a new expirience.

Best Regards

Jorge Mateus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had already decided to go and The doorman was friendly when we showed up. Once we sat our waiter asked if we wanted any of their special cocktails which he said all were amazing! We (2 guys) ordered one of the vodka drinks and we were told “no, you should have a different one, one of these are better for men”. He tried to reinforce this a few times before apologizing if he offended and took the order. From then on we had a different waiter. The food (a salad for one and the risotto for the other) was very tasty. We were told by the door man not to fill up on the bread and noticed other tables getting bread and olives but they didn’t bring us any. We asked and they tried to apologize again for forgetting.

In the end the food was actually really good but they are really trying to be fine dining. Some of the service was great but it’s definitely not without its kinks.

Recommended for good food and drinks but be ready to take your time.

Thank scotterotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jorgemateus, Proprietário at The Market Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Scott

Thanks for your comment that will definitely help us to improve.

Regards

Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Market Restaurant also viewed

 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to The Market Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing