We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$174
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$174
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/03
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$155
View deal
Hotels.comUS$174
PricelineUS$174
eDreamsUS$174
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 282)
Filter reviews
2 282 results
Traveller rating
2 104
160
15
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2 104
160
15
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas french toast pancakes granola restaurant recommendations premium room welcome drink dinner reservations small hotel underground garage inside the city walls stayed longer breakfast was amazing lounge area bread boutique hotel old city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2 282 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2020 via mobile

Very nice atmosphere in an authentic guesthouse/ hotel. Lobby and lounge area invite to rest and chill. A patio for coffee, breakfast and drinks in the evening. Super welcoming attentive staff. Spacious room with all you need.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank InesL605
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2020 via mobile

One of the best hotel we stayed in Europe, where the words “boutique hotel” are really adequate. Everything you can read on their website is true. The staff is amazingly friendly, kind and helpful; the common spaces and the rooms extremely well conceived, rich in nice and artistic details. We felt “cuddled” with many little details: the welcome drink, the daily free bottle of water in the room, the personalized map of the city, the suggestions about the restaurants and the experiences. But don’t expect anything formal: the atmosphere is always relaxed and smiling. Even having dinner in the courtyard - with restaurante Terza Feira, an hotel partner - was a superb yet unpretentious and unexpensive experience (incredible value for money!). Thanks to Sira and all her colleagues for providing such a beautiful stay. And, of course, the hotel is perfect to explore Evora (by foot) and the wonderful Alentejo.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank vandelvira
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 July 2020

Wonderful hotel, friendly and very helpful staff, couldn’t have had a nicer stay. We were given a room upgrade which was very welcome. Great breakfast to see us on our way. An all too short visit but we will be back.

Date of stay: July 2020
1  Thank 282WendyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2020

We simply loved this cosy little hotel....such an authentic family feel...cannot speak highly enough of the rooms, the service and the breakfast was the best i have ever had anywhere ...at one stage I apologised because we seemed unable to finish all the food they put on the table....the servers just kept it coming, with smiles and such tender care ....thank you so much...we do hope to visit again ...places like this make Portugal absolutely magic

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winogabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2020

Our foremost guideline in rating a hotel is value received for money spent, and on that basis, Albergaria do Calvário is exceptional by any standard. You should get an immediate sense of that when you visit their website, and it translates precisely into the level of attention you receive once there.

It starts from the moment the host sits down with you, offers a glass a wine, and then takes the time to fully explain attraction and restaurant options. While we are pretty good at trip planning and independent travel, we found their recommendations to be very helpful, specific restaurant descriptions in particular.

But it goes beyond a few spoken recommendations; the Albergaria has handouts printed to help you make decisions and to navigate your way around. If you are interested in one of the attractions that make for a day trip, they don’t just tell you about it, they have a sheet printed about it. Do you want to know more about Évora’s history? The hotel arranges a very interesting walking tour with an archaeologist.

The hotel itself is all would expect in this price range – and more. Rooms are spacious, clean and quiet. The breakfast was an excellent combination of buffet and special orders for eggs and the like (pre-COVID: I do not sure how that is being handled now.) For one of our dinners, we relaxed in their lounge area with a charcuterie board and bottle of local wine, all quite nice. You can comfortably walk from here to anywhere within the old city.

Évora is an ideal base to explore this region, and the Albergaria do Calvário is an ideal place from which to do so. I cannot recommend it strongly enough.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews