We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An imposing Manor House perfect for our...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oakerthorpe Manor

The stunning Manor building from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning Manor building from the garden
The lounge is large and airy - with bells to order your tea! The games room with pool table and quiz machine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
52 reviews
The stunning Manor building from the garden
The lounge is large and airy - with bells to order your tea!
The games room with pool table and quiz machine
The gold room has a bath with a view over the garden
The dining room can comfortably seat 24 people
The Well Equipped Kitchen has the Original Servant Bells
The first floor bathroom - contemporary and luxurious style
The garden bedroom on the first floor has views over the garden
The Master bedroom luxurious and spacious
The drawing room is large and opens directly onto the lawn
The hallway and stairway showing the original carved staircase
The Manor is full of original features
The master bedroom en-suite has matching sinks
The master bedroom en-suite has Victorian bath and large shower
The master bedroom in red and gold - luxurious and spacious
The master suite has stunning views of the grounds
The dining room is a great space for a celebration!
The bedrooms are large, light and airy
The games room has oak panelling for a club room feel
The entrance door has the original Victorian door bell and glass
The Manor House from the grounds - large and imposing
The drive down to the Manor from the gates
The Manor and lawn from the grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
South Wingfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennie B
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An imposing Manor House perfect for our requirements!”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have just returned from a two night stay at Oakerthorpe Manor where we were celebrating my Mum's 70th Birthday with all 17 members of our family, ranging from age 2 to 73! We held a Murder Mystery evening in the large dining room on one of the nights which was great and the games room was a hit with the teenagers and adults alike!

The Manor was perfect for our requirements due to it's size, kitchen facilities and bedroom arrangements, although as mentioned on their website, one of the bedrooms does have very limited headroom. There is a main railway track close by and the trains run through the night, so remember your ear plugs if you're a light sleeper!

Like previous reviews have mentioned the property could benefit from some tlc in places, so if you're looking for 5* luxury this wouldn't be the place for you. However, if like ourselves you're not there to inspect the paintwork but are looking for an imposing house to accommodate a large party at a reasonable price, then I would definitely recommend Oakerthorpe Manor.

We were made to feel very welcome and we all had a splendid weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Dear Jennie,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, your feedback is important to us. As you can imagine, The Manor was built in 1840 and does have its problems from time to time. nut we try our best to keep on top of things.
We are glad you had a lovely weekend and hope you mum had the best 70th with all her family around.
We would love to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma K
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Full of character but in need of some work!”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here for a hen do and the house made a perfect venue for our eerie murder mystery evening! It fit 16 of us comfortably and we had a lot of fun exploring all the rooms of the house. The large dining room makes for a great dinner party and we also had the associated caterers in for dinner and they were wonderful!

The house is very old and is just in need of a bit of work to help restore it to its former glory. We happened to stay on one of the wettest June weekends and there were a couple of leaks that are in serious need of repair. With a bit of love and work this house would be a wonderful venue.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
Good evening Emma,
Our manor is the perfect place for a murder mystery weekend with the house being so old. as you can imagine with the house being so big it is a little hard to keep on top off, however we try our best to keep it looking the best we can. we are glad you had a lovely hen weekend, we hope to see you again next year! reunion!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan K
1 review
“Lovely old house needing some tlc”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here for two nights last week It is a lovely big old house but unfortunately does need a lot of work to make it worth booking again. There is wall paper hanging off the ceiling in the stair well, the shower cubicle upstairs leaks into the kitchen, the grouting round the shower is very poorly done. there is a serious lack of mirrors in the bedrooms. The carpets and furniture looks 'tired'. We had problems with the door locks which resulted in a call out. There was plenty of pots and glasses in the kitchen The cooking facilities were good as was the fridge/freezer etc. The house was clean as were the towels and bedding. There were rats in the garden but that's to be expected due to the location it is in. The garden was fine. All this said it was a good weekend.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Lots of rooms
Liked least: State of repair
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Dear Susan.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, your feedback is important to us.
As you can imagine, The Manor was built in 1840 and does have its problems from time to time. I shall address your concerns as best as possible. We re-decorate once per year throughout the whole house - sometimes guests are a little more hard on the interior than in other years.
We try and keep the kitchen fully stocked with enough crockery for the amount of guest the house can cater for.
All this said we are glad you had a lovely weekend and would love to see you in the future.
Kind regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liju P
Lewisham
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Royalty”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A very good place for a short stay. We were a party of 15 including children. The rooms are very well organised. It sleeps 18. Good for a small office get together or extended family meet.
Everyone had fun. age range 2 years to 55 years.
It was three families who had just taken a short break. It was worth every penny. The welcome and hospitality were great.
The service was wonderful as well. We had a problem with the hob and were told help would arrive within 1&1/2 hours. Can you beat it. All checked , changed and left within that time.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped indoor activities.
Liked least: Outdoor gaden/[lay area.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Dear Liju,
Thank you for your review. your feedback in important to us.
we are delighted you have a wonderful time at the Manor and we are glad to hear out service is on point. we strive to get any problems you may have resolved as quickly as possible to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
We would love to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Manor House, lovely stay”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic property. Perfect for our large family, meeting up centrally from all over the country as a birthday surprise. Of course a property of such an age has some decor issues but then it is still beautiful and charming. So many original features, but central heating ensured it was always warm in the rooms. The large dining area was perfect for our family and with a number of sitting rooms and of course games room, it meant we were never too crowded. Plenty of bathrooms and stunning main bedrooms. Good facilities and very clean.

I believe the setting would make a fantastic Murder Mystery location for groups, with the rooms it has. Make use of the amazing open fires, they made it even more like staying in our very own mini stately home.

I would also recommend the service and communication from the owners, unlike a few minority reports we've read, nothing was too much trouble. They were easy to communicate with and helped with questions we had, even agreeing an early entrance to the house.

Please treat this beautiful building with respect, there aren't many properties for rent for this price and you will have a very relaxing and pleasant stay in a fantastic party of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Original features, open fire and incredible dining room.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Dear Micheal,
Thank you so much for you feed back, it is very important to us. we are delighted to read such lovely words. as you can imagine, being such and old build it isn't easy to keep on top of the decor, but we try our best. We are so glad you had a brilliant time and we would love to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing