We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oakerthorpe Manor

The stunning Manor building from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning Manor building from the garden
The lounge is large and airy - with bells to order your tea! The games room with pool table and quiz machine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
The stunning Manor building from the garden
The lounge is large and airy - with bells to order your tea!
The games room with pool table and quiz machine
The gold room has a bath with a view over the garden
The dining room can comfortably seat 24 people
The Well Equipped Kitchen has the Original Servant Bells
The first floor bathroom - contemporary and luxurious style
The garden bedroom on the first floor has views over the garden
The Master bedroom luxurious and spacious
The drawing room is large and opens directly onto the lawn
The hallway and stairway showing the original carved staircase
The Manor is full of original features
The master bedroom en-suite has matching sinks
The master bedroom en-suite has Victorian bath and large shower
The master bedroom in red and gold - luxurious and spacious
The master suite has stunning views of the grounds
The dining room is a great space for a celebration!
The bedrooms are large, light and airy
The games room has oak panelling for a club room feel
The entrance door has the original Victorian door bell and glass
The Manor House from the grounds - large and imposing
The drive down to the Manor from the gates
The Manor and lawn from the grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
South Wingfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WendellDu...
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderful stay in the manor with 15 friends, beautiful house and a great place to have a get together. No issues at all and a beautiful location, could not fault either the management who kindly showed us round or the wonderful welcome basket of wine and goodies that were left for us. Great value stay and would 100% come back

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
Good evening,
we are so glad you had a lovely stay at the Manor. it is a brilliant location for a group of people. We like to leave everyone a welcome for our guest to make them feel at home. we would love for you to visit again soon.
Kind regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkin G
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great manor and great stay”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Owners were absolutely fantastic. The property was great especially with kids as the space available in the manor is enormous. In the winter it could potentially get cold but with the fireplaces on the ground floor, this should be sufficient. Plus bearing in mind that the manor was built in 1800s, this is completely understandable. Heating was great in the bedrooms and our stay was extremely comfortable. Owners were great. Apart from one slight issue, which was immediately resolved by the owners. Highly recommend it and would stay again. We are already planning on coming back again in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property and the secluded location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
Hello, Ilkin,
we are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the manor. We are glad you found your stay comfortable, we also strive to solve any issues as quickly and fairly as possible. We look forward to seeing you again in the summer.
Kind regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam F
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Freindly and great value”
Reviewed 22 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the manor - we were very kindly welcomed and shown around the place. We had one small issue on the first night which was quickly resolved by them - great space, great for a group of people and would certainly recommend based on how great value the place was due to the size and views.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
Good evening Adam,
we are so glad you have had a lovely stay at the Manor. We do try to solve any issues straight away so that we can make your stay pleasurable. we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley K
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Owners will ruin your stay, book elsewhere!”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with a group of friends in August. We are a group of professionals between the ages of 27 and 30 and go away every year to a holiday home in the UK for a long weekend. The downstairs had some lovely and impressive rooms and the kitchen was well equipped, but the dishwasher was close to being unusable. Unfortunately apart from these and the main bedroom and the bathrooms which were quite nice this is where the positives end. A lot of the bedrooms and ceiling and walls around the place were in poor condition and the building is definitely in need of a lot of renovation. I stayed on the top floor and my room was basic, the floors creaked, there was one socket, no lamp by the bed or in the room and no long mirrors in the whole property. I had to dry and straighten my hair in other peoples rooms and charge my phone the opposite side from my bed. My biggest complaint about this place and what sadly put a damper on our holiday was the owners refused to give us £60 of our deposit back. They accused us of breaking a pool cue and putting a hole in the ceiling that they then changed to saying was the wall. The pool cue was broken when we arrived and the hole in the wall was revealed when the two single beds in one of the rooms was put together to make a double bed and was already there before our arrival. We all took the time to make sure we left the place in the condition we had found it and are honest people who would have admitted and been accepting of paying had we broken anything. The instructions that are left in the house are very blunt and not written in a friendly or welcoming manner either. It is horrible being accused of something that we have not done and I would strongly advise anyone who is considering staying here to reconsider.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and dining room
Liked least: The owners accusing us of something we didn't do
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Just to be clear to anyone reading, you were in the group with the last reviewers. Your room was the one where the hole was made in the ceiling, which had to be re-plastered. This was nowhere near the beds. The housekeeper makes an inventory before and after each visit. If there is any doubt about damages caused, I pay for them to be repaired myself. There was absolutely no doubt that the gaping hole was made by your party, in your room, in fact.

It is so hurtful that you have described the house as being in such bad repair - but I imagine that's your aim, sadly.

The dishwasher, American fridge, TV, DVD, hob and ovens are all new this year. You made no calls regarding any problems during your stay. It is horrible to have people say that they are honest and then go all out to deny damage they have caused. I have never done this before, but I shall be posting pictures of the damage on Tripadvisor. Your friend who left the last review also denied that anyone had shown them the house or carried out an inventory check. As you wouldn't have been able to get in or out of the grounds shows that this is also not true.

The house was built in 1840 and does have creaky floorboards!! In years of renting out the house, we have never had a request for a cheval mirror, but it is certainly something I shall consider. Had you called us, we could have had one brought over to you. I'm sorry that you had to get in and out of bed to charge your phone. Again, it is something I will consider in the future.

There is a copy of the booking contract in the house. This isn’t instructions or a welcome pack, but a contract – it has to be in blunt language, to be clear and unambiguous. I’m sorry that you didn’t like that – you will have had a copy of it already, but perhaps we should make a brochure, or welcome information pack too. I shall consider it for guests arriving this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander...
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing depository issues.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are considering taking the owners to the small claims court as they have retained some of our deposit for damage which was not sustained during our stay.
Despite regular communication about the disagreement the owners refused to engage with us to resolve the situation. We recommend to any future guests to heavily document all existing damage to avoid a repeat of this unfortunate and unfair occurrence.
We have been enjoying weekends away for many years at various rental properties and have never had a situation such as this before.
We are left feeling disappointed, with a sour taste in the mouth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Damage and deposit issue.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2014
This group made a hole in the wall and broke a pool cue for which a charge of £60 was made. The lead guest told me that no one had shown her guests the house, which is untrue. All guests are greeted and shown the house by the head housekeeper. The damage was caused during their stay, of which there is no doubt and can be attested by the housekeeping team. The wall necessitated plastering and I did not charge her for re-papering the room. This lady then proceeded to barrage with emails, informing me that there was a solicitor in her party, so I had better not withold any sum for the damage caused. It is very sad when guests are not able to take responsibility for their damages. Luckily it doesn't happen often, unhappily, those who behave in this manner are quick to review on Tripadvisor. The pictures and the staff statements prove absolutely that the damages were caused by this group. We would be more than happy to meet any action in the small claims court, but will not be intimidated by guests in this way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing