We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for large get together”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oakerthorpe Manor

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
South Wingfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Jon K
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for large get together”
Reviewed 19 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We went as a group of 18 for a long weekend and had a fantastic time. We were given an extremely warm welcome and owners were more than happy to answer any questions/queries we had. The house is ideally located off the M1 in a lovely rural setting. The property was in excellent order with a well equipped kitchen and comfortable bedrooms. We went as group reunion with partners and children and loved it from the word go. Plenty of room in the living room area for everyone to relax together and the open fire added to the experience. There is a large dining table which also allows for everybody to socialise together. Plenty of mod-cons; TV, DVD, Stereos, Pool table, WiFi to keep everyone going. Would definitely recommend and we'll all be coming back next year. Many thanks Jon

Date of stay: April 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern amenities and space
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Dear Jon,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, your feedback is important to us. We try and keep everything fully equipped to make our guests stay as easy as possible.
We are glad you had a lovely weekend and hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexsFami...
Bishops Stortford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Picturesque, Spacious and Welcoming”
Reviewed 5 February 2012 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We chose the House as a venue to meet with a large group of friends and their children. It was perfect with beautiful spacious rooms, Much bigger than we anticipated. It was the perfect choice for a large group of adults and kids of all ages to meet up, and also excellent value too! It worked brilliantly. It was memorable as it was something different. The well equipped kitchen was big enough for all the cooking that went on to feed everyone during the evenings. The owners were very obliging, and flexible about our requirements, which was very helpful. We got all the kids together and they slept in one of the huge reception rooms with blankets and sleeping bags and they had a fantastic time. The huge gardens are magical with secret footpaths and delightful quiet overgrown areas. The kids and the adults had a great time hiding and playing and having a picnics in the beautiful gardens. The location is close enough (10-15 mins) to the M1 to make it easy to access, but still in the Peak District. A great house and a brilliant weekend, thank you so very much, we really enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: June 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious feel and the lovely 'Old Charm' of the house and gardens
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Dear Alex,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is important to us. We use your feedback to help us to maintain and exceed a high standard of guest services.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Date of stay: December 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Period fetaures with modern fittings
Liked least: Temperature. It took some time to warm up.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Dear Paul,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We strive to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and are here to help in any way, Its was our pleasure to help book your activities and we are glad you had a fun Christmas period.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KellyS84
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Catch Up With Friends”
Reviewed 26 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and a group of friends first came to Oakerthorpe in 2009, we are a group of old school friends that thought a big weekend away together would be a great way to catch up. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we decided to come back again in 2011.
Diane made booking the property very easy, we kept regular contact and the whole booking experience was a breeze!
The house itself is a great place for large groups to stay, the house is big enough for everyone to have their own space and not be overcrowded but at the same time its homely and cosy. The bedrooms had all been decorated and freshened up since the first time we came, and we were really impressed with the work that had been done on the house so far. The welcome pack with wine and nibbles was very gratefully received and it wasn't long before we got the open fire burning. The new central heating system kept the house nice and warm and when it did turn cold the fire helped to take the chill off.
The local area is lovely for walking, and I would strongly recommend the local pub 'The Butchers Arms' for Sunday lunch. 17 of us piling in to this little pub could have been a disaster but it was great food and great service, give it a try!
I would recommed the house for family gatherings and friends meeting up, it really is a stunning property with real character and both times we have stayed there we've thoroughly enjoyed it. I have no doubt that we will be back again in the not too distant future!

Date of stay: December 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Dear Kelly,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad you had a brilliant weekend and got to have a good catch up!
we like to keep on top of the decorating to make our guests feel at home.
We hope to see you in the future.
Kind regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elspeth G
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous place for a large get together, unpretentious yet grand!”
Reviewed 3 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

I booked this place for my 40th Birthday and celebrated with a group of friends and family at Oakerthorpe. I wanted somewhere which was bit grander than a holiday cottage and big enough for 18 people, and also affordable! It worked brilliantly, with two large reception rooms that we used in the main - the dining room and the lounge. The kitchen was big enough for all the cooking that went on to feed everyone on both evenings. Everyone loved it, especially as it was a bit different to a normal Birthday party. The owners were very obliging, and happy to be flexible about changing requirements, which was very helpful. The location is close enough (10-15 mins) to the M1 to make it easy to access, but still in the Peak District. The only thing I could possibly criticise was that there were no cleaning products in the kitchen, and perhaps a few more logs on the first evening would have been handy in late November. A great house and a brilliant weekend, thank you!

Date of stay: November 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2014
Dear Guest

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we try so hard to give you the best possible experience here, and your kind words are very comforting, knowing that we have given you complete satisfaction during your stay, please do come back and visit us again soon. We are sorry about the logs though and I assure you that on your next visit that the logs are readyly available to you.

Regards

Daniel Fox
Oakerthorpe Manor
01623 45 25 25
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.