We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to stay in Ypres”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of De Historie

front double bed room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front double bed room
the cosy sittingroom to relax after a great day out
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
front double bed room
the cosy sittingroom to relax after a great day out
like it says  Tea time!
kitchen and dining area with everything you need to make a lovely meal
a feature in the second double bedroom
we wish you a good night sleep in the attic double bed room
The view from our frontdoor
Books,games and information are availlable in the frontroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Martin G
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Ypres”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about this house was perfect and exactly as described in the listing. The house is conveniently located a short walk from the Cloth Hall and the town square. It is fully equipped with modern appliances and a full kitchen and tastefully decorated with antiques. It was perfect in every detail. I highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Stairs are a little steep, but hardly a concern
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara J
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely accomodation within a few minutes of ypres centre”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The house was a typical Ypres town house full of intriguing ornaments, pictures and furniture. It was very well equipped. lots of crockery and utensils so you didn't have to wash up after every meal and a dishwasher if you did let the washing up pile up. Heidi was unable to meet us on our arrival but we received a generous welcome by her stand ins. The house was great for our extended family; daughter and grand children and the closeness to Ypres town centre and its World War 1 sites was just ideal for us and we were able to drive to others places with ease.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plentiful supply of kitchen supplies
Liked least: the stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location in Ypers and great house!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The house is in the perfect location and within a short walk of the Flanders Field Museum, Cathedral, restaurants, and shops. The house is fabulously decorated with antiques (I am so jealous!) and supplied with everything you would need to cook. Jurgen and Heidi were very helpful and gracious hosts. Would definitely recommend if coming to Ypers. Would just say that the stairs are very steep and narrow as this is an older house (but completely redone) so caution to those who have mobility problems; our little children and parents did well though!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Getaway4a...
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great property which gave us everything we needed”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

A party of four adults, we were thrilled with the position of the house, very central and within very easy walking distance to absolutely everything! Decorated in a quirky style it was ideal for our stay. Our only negative comment would be that with a full complement of guests (6) the bathroom and toilet facility may be stretched, without careful planning! Jurgen was welcoming and there were thoughtful touches which made us feel at home. We would thoroughly recommend the property, so much so that when we return to Ypres we would return to De Historie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position and facilities of the house and the welcome we received
Liked least: No dislikes
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming house in a lovely town”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We had an enjoyable stay in this tastefully decorated and conveniently located house.
The house is almost literally a stone's throw from the centre of Ypres. You can walk to the Menin Gate, Flanders Fields Museum, Ramparts and Ypres Reservoir Cemetaries and St George's Church.
A washing machine would be a nice addition.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing