We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Cornwall Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Holmen entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holmen entrance
Holmen from the road Holmen living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Holmen entrance
Holmen from the road
Holmen living room
Holmen living room / lounge
Holmen living room - sofa bed
Holmen living room
Holmen bedroom
Holmen dining area
Holmen kitchen
Holmen dining area and kitchen
Holmen kitchen and living area - through doorway
Holmen bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mawnan Smith, Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IaninNott...
Notts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Cornwall Holiday”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly the village of Mawnan Smith, we loved this village with all the facilities you need to hand with a spar shop, mobile fish and chips and Pizza once a week and a brilliant holiday local in the form of the thatched Red Lion (good food, dog friendly and great staff). There are numerous walks from the cottage which include a selection of beaches. The locals are very welcoming too. The cottage is a great base for exploring Cornwall with plenty to do if you don't wish to travel far. Trebah Gardens is a must and you can re-visit as many times as you like for a week. The beach at Trebah is dog friendly and as the weather was good we returned for the beach. The ferry to St Mawes is also a must do from the excellent Falmouth. From the photo the cottage looks small but don't be fooled as all the rooms are a good size and it feels spacious. Everything spick and span on arrival. As the weather was very good we used the small seating area outside, a shame the neighbours had their windows open and the TV blasting out very loud, who wants to hear screaming and shouting on EastEnders whilst on holiday! Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this cottage, this village and the area to vacation. We only saw rain on our day of departure so were fortunate in that respect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
I am so glad you had a good time and the weather was kind, Trebah is lovely we go often out of season and it is still beautiful.
We would like to welcome you back and thank you for leaving everything clean on your departure Regards Kari Power
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westiejac...
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very cosy and pet friendly”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Holman is perfect, Trebah is a few minutes away and a lovely place to visit for the day. Beaches at Falmouth close by and excellent restaurants, what more could you want.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
We are glad you had a good time and hope to see you again! Kind Regards Kari and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good sized property in an ideal location for the SW coastal path.”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

For me, as a walker, it was in an ideal spot. I prefer quietist locations like this rather than the hustle & bustle of Falmouth. However, Falmouth with a ferry to St. Mawes and Place where the coastal path continues east of The Fal River is only 4 miles away and easily accessed by car, bus ..or on foot. It also has a Lidl and Sainsbury's for all your grocery needs. 20 mins walk down the road SW of the Mawnan Smith is Helford Passage where you catch a ferry to continue the SW coastal path west.
The property itself was spacious and had everything as advertised, being 2 mins from the Red Lion pub, outside which is the bus stop giving access to Falmouth in one direction and Helston in the other both of which places give additional access further afield. I always buy a weekly bus pass (£26), which apart from additional ferry fares and a train journey back from St Austell, got me out every day to different sections of the coastal path. I managed the full stretch between Mevagissey and Porthleven in the 6 full days that I was there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thank you John you review gives lots of useful information for people who are walkers.Regards Kari Power
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 May 2017
Thank you we look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
louisebat...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great, quiet place to stay for a good break”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Close to famous gardens in the area, plentiful walks, and within easy strike of beaches. Shops, pub and doctors surgery a close walk away. Accommodation ideal for any length of stay, with washing machine and all kitchen appliances that you would expect at home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing