We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Trecombe Lakes

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mawnan Smith, Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KMacP77
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is simply brilliant! So much so we have already booked for next year.

The pods are cleverly designed and maintained to a very high standard. Proper, comfy beds with bedding. A great, clean bathroom and a little kitchen area complete with everything you could need. The owners really have thought of everything.

Its the fun of camping without any of the hassle.

The children loved sitting round the fire pit roasting marshmallows. The play area was a hit and we loved barbecuing on the decking.

The pods are in a great location. 10 mins from Maenporth beach which was a fab place. Parking on the beach, good beach shop for the obligatory ice creams, plenty of rock-pools and the water provides a large shallow bay for the children to use their boogie boards to their hearts content. There's another 2 beaches close by, as well as Trebah Gardens and much more.

The Pandora Inn is a short drive and a must on your list. Beautifully located, yummy food but best of all you can go crabbing from the jetty. You can't fail to catch lots of crabs. It was the highlight of the holiday for the children. You can buy all the crabbing gear from behind the bar.

Trecombe Lakes is a fab little find, you won't be disappointed!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Thank you for a wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back next year, Regards Selina and Jason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui W
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truly magical!”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The pods are perfect! Such character, good size and the grounds are beautifully kept. The staff are so friendly and can't do enough for you. They even went out of their way to print me bus times. I'm delighted with this holiday, it really is a well needed break from reality. I promise you won't regret coming here. My kids and I think it's the best holiday EVER! Superb

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Hello Jacqui, thank you for your wonderful comments and its a joy to have you all staying with us and enjoying it so much, Regards Selina and Jason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fadza01
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This place is perfect!”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stumbled across Trecombe Lakes when looking through booking.com for a Cornish holiday. Instantly got excited by the idea of staying in a pod like the ones at Trecombe Lakes. It was a little tricky to find because it's out of town in a remote area, no traffic (aside from the odd tractor) & it's quiet, but once you know where it is you won't miss it again. In fact it's really easy to get to Falmouth or the A39 if you're after exploring further afield.

On arrival we couldn't believe how beautiful the place is. Perfectly manicured & designed. The owners Selina & Jason clearly had a vision for this place, and executed that vision perfectly. We had a 4 year old & a 9 month old with us, and this wasn't a problem (other kids around for my boy to play with). In fact, the place is designed with children in mind. The pods are brand new & really clean, with a very useful kitchenette & fully equipped shower room. All cutlery, utensils, linens, towels & equipment is available. There is a playground which the kids loved, and a communal lodge with TV and DVDs for the kids to chill out, plus a variety of games. The lakes attached are secured with high fencing, and has a row boat & canoe to jump on. My boy loved it, and so did I.

One thing I would suggest is taking a strong fan with you, as the pods are so well built & insulated that it gets very hot inside when it's hot outside. Opening windows is a problem because of the bugs, so fly nets on the windows wouldn't go amiss, but this is a small issue taking into account how incredible this place really is!

We're already planning our trip down next year, having just got home yesterday. Such a wonderful place to stay, clearly the owners have great pride in it, and this is obvious to see within minutes of arriving.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Thank you Fadi for fantastic review, it was great to meet you and the family during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you next year,Regards Selina and Jason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneGlove
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellence”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed three nights with 2 adults and 2 children aged 8 & 6. The quality and cleanliness of the pods was superb with great attention to detail. Orla Kiely duvet sets and comfy beds. Small radiator kept the pod warm throughout the night. The owners do not live on site but bumped into Jason doing some site maintenance who was a very friendly and nice chap, telling us about the lakes etc. Lots to do for kids including good playground and lakes with rope swings etc. The lodge house also had plenty of games and a dvd player, including outdoor games. Went on the rowing boat across the lakes to visit the mother goose. Wifi available but connection quite weak. Small kitchen had everything you need including all utensils and plates pans etc. All washing up stuff also provided. Just need to bring cling film, tin foil, cooking oil and salt/pepper which were not provided. Probably an extra toilet roll aswell would come in handy! Small fridge in room was very handy and also large communal fridge in lodge-house which no one else used so plenty of room. Bathroom and shower were brill, again spotless! Lots to do in area, would recommend going to Helford Passage and the Ferryboat Inn. Overall would fully recommend this place and we'll hopefully be back! Not a bad thing to say about it actually.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Hello Marcus
Great to meet you and the family during your stay and thank you for such a positive review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Regards Jason and Selina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeeDee198...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“They have thought of everything!!”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with our 2 year old and 6 month old baby, as the children are so young we wanted a bit more facilities than camping under canvas.

Booking was easy and the communication was brill. Met the owners on first morning, they are friendly and helpful.

This place is simply brilliant. Every little detail has been considered in the pod, from clever use of storage to having a little wind up torch and a clothes airer.

The place is absolutely pristine, so well cared for and up together. Not a weed to be seen in the paths and all linen etc is just brand new.

We couldn't fault the place, our toddler loved being able to run around and use the park etc.
We had a little go in the canoe too which he's still talking about days later.

We took a travel cot for the baby and anyone doing similar ours fit nicely alongside the double bed. In the communal lodge there was a highchair you could borrow along with a microwave and large fridge for further fridge storage if you need it.

The shower was a little slippery for our toddler but probably just because he's used to something with more grip.

The pods are very warm and we couldn't even hear our own baby crying when we were sat just outside by the fire so no noise problems at all.

Would definitely recommend it and hope to book again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Hello Dee
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are really glad you all enjoyed your stay so much, it makes all the hard work worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards
Selina and Jason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing