We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful quirky cottage in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Quitapenas

Reading next to the fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Reading next to the fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Reading next to the fire
View of the cottage
Backyard and garden
View from the house
House detail
The television room
The garden
Cobblestone road in front of the house
View from a bedroom
Bathroom: bath and seperate shower
Bathroom
Reading room
Veranda
Bedroom
Television room
View from the house
The garden in the winter
Television room
Dining room
Dining room
Kitchen
Surroundings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ghent, East Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Dave P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful quirky cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful quirky cottage in a great location. Very comfortable, nice log fires, great views, scenic walks and many great places easily accessible by car and/or train.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fires
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Thank you so much Dave. We enjoyed you as guests vry much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
944franco
Florence, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great stay in a very special cottage”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A special old cottage on a hill just out of Ronse. Quiet place, beautiful garden, great hospitality.

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2016
Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyDeFon...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay in Belgium”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Helene and her husband were absolutely wonderful throughout our entire week staying at their cottage! They live right next door so if we ever needed anything, we simply had to knock and ask. We were a group of five adults (one couple) and the cottage was accommodating to our needs.

THE COTTAGE
Everyone loved it. It was clean, old fashioned, and had a great view looking down on the town of Ronse. It was on a quiet street close to town, so we were able to walk around and check things out. The amenities were working and we had all we needed. The beds were COMFORTABLE! My husband and I hit our heads a lot on the low doors (we're tall people), so be careful there! It's not a complaint at all, just a heads up (or heads down?).
The yard was beautiful and well kept. Extremely relaxing to have breakfast in. And the sun room was perfect for a home-cooked dinner. The water in the bathroom stayed hot for all five of us to shower. And of course, there was wifi. Always a plus. The cottage was decorated in an adoring fashion and we had fun looking at every little item that helped make it feel so cozy.

LOCATION
You can't get a better spot than this cottage. Not only, like said, does it sit on a hill overlooking the quaint town of Ronse, but we were able to travel from Amsterdam there within a few hours, and throughout the week, easily get to Bruges, Ghent, Brussels, Luxembourg, Germany, and touch down into France. Perfect location.

HOSTS
I didn't know how to work the washing machine, they showed me how. We needed more firewood, they brought more. We forgot to buy pepper at the store, they provided. I don't think we were really demanding, but I always feel bad asking for something. They always took our requests with a smile on their faces. They made us feel welcome, which is so nice when you're travelling to different countries.

They're updating the cottage, so it's going to be even better from here on out.

I can't recommend this cottage enough. If we ever go back to Belgium, this is where we'll stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I can't decide!
Liked least: Honestly, no complaints.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thank you so much Andy! You were wonderful guests, so kind and full of life. Hope to see all of you soon back in Belgium!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen A
Stoke Mandeville, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great for a short break”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a good base for a long weekend break for four of us (two family couples), in easy reach of Ghent. What we found in La Quitapenas was one of the most relaxing places we have stayed in over a number of years. The property is just as described - full of character, but steep stairs and mind your head upstairs - but the description doesn't do justice to the attractions of the immediately surrounding area. Straight out of the front door (with a view across countryside and the town below, particularly attractive at night), and off on an hour's circular ramble through the woods and along country lanes, then back to the warmth of two log burning fires (on which we roasted chestnuts in the old-fashioned way).

The accomodation is clean, comfortable and extensive - we could only imagine how pleasant it would be in the spring or summer, to have breakfast in the conservatory, then snooze in the garden. The bedroom arrangements are 'interesting', but they worked fine for us.

This location is right on the border between Flemish speaking Flanders and French speaking Wallonia, with the influences of both cultures coming together right here - so two experiences for the price of one! The owners live next door, and could not have been more helpful. And yes, it was very handy for Ghent, but for so much more in the immediate area as well - and less than a two hour drive from the Eurotunnel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character property and wonderful location
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2013
Thank you! You were extremely kind guests! Hope to see you back :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique ambience of the property and the lovely garden.
Liked least: I cannot think of any faults!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Aug 2013
We are very happy that you had a great time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$112
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing