We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$85
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$108
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$122
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Onderbergen(Ghent)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Europa Hotel(Ghent)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$99
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
67
21
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
21
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscobblercocktail barhonesty barold post officeincredible hotelduplex roomwash your handsspecial hotelloved this hotelthe entire hotelhistoric buildingstayed longereach morningfront desk staffcomfortable roomsbars and restaurantsbeautiful city
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

If you want to treat yourself to a wonderful base for a trip to Gent then this is the place. Great hotel, extremely comfortable rooms and a warm reception from the staff. Breakfast on the pricey side for what it is with eggs made to order being to only hot option. But nice cheese, ham, bread and pastries nonetheless. Good bar with great cocktails. But what made it for me was the amazing view of St Nicholas from the huge bedroom window. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LVS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1898thepost, Front of House Manager at 1898 The Post, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear LVS64,

We would like to thank you sincerely for your review.

We are very happy to have made your stay enjoyable, our only wish is to make every stay wonderful and comments like yours are very important for us.

We are delighted to read that the 1898 The Post hotel has charmed you with its elegance and comfort as well as its breathtaking view of Saint Nicholas Church.

We are happy to read that our team took good care of you during your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerly,

Emeline-Front of House Manager
1898 The Post-Ghent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Beautifully restored historic building in the heart of Ghent with the atmosphere akin to an old gentlemen’s club in London.

Our room was spacious, well equipped and although you are in the heart of the city, extremely quiet. The overall design gives a feeling of Soho House.

While service was friendly and helpful, we felt it was not completely on par with the expectation for such a hotel. Probably some teething problems since the hotel had just recently opened when we stayed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FergieBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1898thepost, Front of House Manager at 1898 The Post, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Fergie Brussels,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at 1898 The Post on our Tripadvisor page.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the design and decoration of our hotel, and the beauty of this historical building.

We would like to thank you for your remarks concerning the service. We always try to improve the service that we provide to our Guests and will certainly take them into consideration.

We all looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back to 1898 The Post in the future.


Sincerly,


Emeline-Front of House Manager
1898 The Post

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

This is one of the best converted hotels I've ever stayed in. Architecturally, inside and out, it is just beautiful. Traditionally inspired, but quite modern. Our room was double height, with shower and sink above us. The window was the full height of the room, giving us Catherdral views from everywhere. There is nothing "mini" about the mini-bar, but you're better off going down to the Cobbler for a custom made drink. I got the special of the day and it not only tasted good, but almost knocked me off my feet when I stood up. The room was clean and beautiful, the staff friendlly and helpful. For an old Post Office, this building makes on incredible hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1898thepost, Assistant Manager at 1898 The Post, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kevin G,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment.

We are happy to read that you were sensitive to the decoration orchestrated by our designer Geraldine Dohogne.

And delighted to hear that you were charmed by our bar, atmosphere, and the quality of the cocktails we offer that made your experience magical.

We would be very pleased to welcome you soon to discover new creations.

We will be enchanted to thank the entire 1898 The Post team who made your experience memorable.

Sincerly,

Emeline - Front of House Manager

1898 The Post - Ghent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We were lucky enough to stay in Room 39 (junior suite) for 4 nights in April. As you can tell from the other reviews and the fact that the Post is winning awards, this is a special hotel. We arrived on the first day that Ghent had experienced temperatures in the 70s in months. As a result, the surrounding area was dripping with people happily drinking by the river, but the Post was an oasis of calm. Like everyone else, I can’t describe how beautiful the building is and how thoughtfully the hotel is designed considering that they had to deal with a very challenging historic structure. For instance the room has 2 skylights, adding much-needed light to what could be a very dark interior, and one of them has an electric louvred shade. Room 39 is one of the few with bathroom and bed on one level, and everything was gorgeous. From the fresh rose and detailed city guide (gratis) that awaits on your bedside table to the huge marble bathroom with double sinks, ample bathtub and a rainhead shower, everything was impeccable. I can’t say enough about the housekeeping staff; a truly next-level experience with the room promptly and thoroughly cleaned every single day. The front desk staff is also outstanding, always friendly, helpful and never missing a beat. We had breakfast in the hotel each morning and I thought the selection (and location) was wonderful. The (exceedingly) fresh fruit salad with choice berries was tops on my list, but most would be pleased with the made-to-order eggs, fresh bread and pastries etc. I’m sure many people would find us crazy because we felt it was too hot to drink at the time, but we passed through the Honesty Bar every day on our way out to sightsee because we loved that room so much. I can imagine it being a wonderful place to curl up with a drink in cooler weather. And the views from all over the hotel are incredible. Incidentally, although the hotel is in a pedestrian-only area (as several others have stated), our taxi took us just a few steps from the hotel entrance, so we had no problem with luggage. (Licensed taxis are all over the area, as they park near the Post and we frequently avoided them on the plaza etc.) On other days, since we based in Ghent, we then used the tram to get to the train station for day trips. Bus and tram stops are right around the corner from the hotel. We often walked back from the station at the end of the day, and it took us 20-25 minutes. I think I should explicitly state what I and many others have implied, that there are a lot of steps at the Post. Some rooms are bi-level, there is a short flight of steps at the entrance of the hotel to reach the elevator to the lobby, you must use a short flight of steps down (or a very long flight up!) to reach the Honesty Bar (since it’s in a turret) etc. We loved that about the hotel as it makes you feel like you're staying in a castle. Ghent is a beautiful city and, as another reviewer said, I thought this hotel was a steal for the level of service in such a beautiful space. Many thanks to the entire staff at 1898 The Post for all of your outstanding work. This hotel is a treat, especially room 39!

Room Tip: Junior Suite 39 is beautiful
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 8dori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1898thepost, Assistant Manager at 1898 The Post, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 8dori,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

It is a real pleasure to read such a kind review. We are delighted to learn that you had a great stay, thanks to our wonderful team.

We are glad to read that you particularly enjoyed the attention to detail, and the decoration of our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Kind Regards,
Zélie Paulin - Assistant Manager
1898 The Post, Ghent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Stayed here for one night, but was one of the best hotel experiences ever: breathtakingly beautiful antique design, very spacious and with so many awesome details. Fantastic cocktail bar and very good breakfast. And this all with a beautiful view on Ghent right in the middle of the centre!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kristof V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1898thepost, Assistant Manager at 1898 The Post, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Kristof V,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience at 1898 The Post on Tripadvisor.

We are so happy and proud to read that it was your "best hotel experience ever"! It is a real pleasure to read such a kind review.
We are very glad to know that you particularly enjoyed the design and the view of your room, as well as The Cobbler: our cocktail bar.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon,

Kind Regards,

Zélie Paulin - Assistant Manager
1898 The Post, Ghent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews