We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
63
150
117
56
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
150
117
56
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews schuman metro station eu institutions european union nice hotel free wifi rooms are big excellent location air conditioning hotel room city centre breakfast buffet min walk ec commision bathtub bruges
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018

The hotel is located in the heart of the Brussels' EU neighbourhood, in close proximity to the European Commission, the Council, the EEAS etc. Ideal for people travelling to Brussels for EU meetings. I had a top floor room with amazing views of the EU institutions and the city in general. Room quite basic but clean and comfortable. Rooms in need of a facelift but in essence, this does not take away the good-feel factor of the hotel. Worth trying.

Room tip: Go for the top floor with city views.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larnaca-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_Rientjes, Directeur général at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback about your stay, we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at the New hotel Charlemagne. We take note about your remarks. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

I booked this hotel at a last minute discount and naturally was excited about the prospect of staying at a four-star hotel for about €60
a night, however much my instincts told me that there must be something fishy about the whole deal. Once I checked in, it didn't take us one hour
to find out my instincts were fully realised. The room is small, sort of dark, cheaply furnished, fell seriously short from what one expects from a four-star
hotel room. The carpet was strewn with bleach stains, I found woman's hair in the shower screen, something as simple as a pen was nowhere to be found.
I was having a hard time falling asleep on account of the poor (too thin) pair of pillows, so I tried to ring the reception / room service and ask for another pair.
But the intercom simply did not work. Just consider this: a "four-star" hotel room with a disgusting carpet, a dirty shower screen and an intercom that
won't work. These, however, were the lesser of our problems, for the worst was yet to come, namely their staff service. In the following morning I asked at the reception
if I could have an extra pair of pillows and was met as though I had made the most outlandish demand ever. To his credit, the guy at the front desk (a Man called Denis)
was polite and answer me with a "no problem sir" even though his expression said otherwise. Back to the hotel several hours later and to my dismay the
pillows weren't there. SO I went down to the reception and once again asked if I could have them, only this time I was met with a straight and very assertive "NO".
The explanation for that was that the (unkempt) hotel receptionist was the only staff on duty in the whole hotel and that he couldn't leave the reception
unattended "only because a guest wants another pair of pillows". So that is pretty much the synopsis of an overwhelmingly disappointing two night's stay
at the New Hotel Charlemagne in Brussels. Worse than just about every youth hostel I have ever stayed in in my life.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_Rientjes, Directeur général at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Paulo, we are deeply sorry that your experience was under your expectations. We take note of the problems encountered during your stay in order to improve our services and quality. We hope to see you in best conditions. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Like its sister hotel, the NH Berlaymont next door, the Charlemagne is functional. central, clean and reasonably priced for Brussels. Again the bar and restaurant appear obsolete apart from breakfast for the restaurant. But again like its sister hotel, it is perfectly located for EU visits or business and there is no difficulty finding a bar or restaurant nearby to whet the appetite or the belly.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_Rientjes, Directeur général at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Thank you for your feedback about your stay, we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at the Newhotel Charlemagne. We take note about your remarks. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

New Hotel Charlemagne is a good hotel, good location for who intend to visit Brussel. The hotel is very close to European union comission. Check in and Check out were good. Excellent cost benefit, I recommend it

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FGalerani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_Rientjes, Directeur général at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Thank you for your comment. We take note about your remarks. We'll be happy to welcome you for your next trip in Brussels. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

The location of the hotel is great - 250 m from the Schuman metro station, meters from the European Commission building, 15 minutes from the central train station, 20 minutes from the city center... what else could one need.

Quiet area with very moderate traffic (at least in August), clean, spacious and comfortable rooms - but that bathtub glass curtain... really poor design, and no drainage on the floor, so every water there has to be taken care of by housekeeping - and you have practically no chance of taking a shower without getting the floor wet - even with all measures taken! :-)

Wifi authentication is very easy, trouble is the connection is not stable - sometimes very fast, sometimes very slow... then in a few minutes good again. Strange.

Overall the experience is good, and If it wasn't for the bathroom that was turning into a lake every time I decided to take a shower, and the air conditioner that made regular pupping noises while being turned off :-), I would give this hotel at least 4 stars for everything - but these 2 details pretty much spoiled the impression.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank thomasbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans_Rientjes, Directeur général at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Thank you for your feedback about your stay, we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at the Newhotel Charlemagne. We take note about your remarks. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews